After the 4.2 Modify, WAD files dont play.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by logan289, Mar 31, 2010.

Mar 31, 2010
  1. logan289
    OP

    Newcomer logan289 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I followed the 4.2 modify guide exactly. I haver all the required files. I also made sure to check to see if I might have been missing IOS53 and IOS55 using SignCheck.

    Unfortunately, WADs will not play. Once starting a VC game, right after selecting the game, the screen goes black. The "Use Classic Controller" screen doesn't even appear and the Wiimote turns off. I am forced to power-off the Wii completely by holding the Power button on the Wii itself and start all over.

    I have tried numerous WADs, made sure they were NTSC-U, and I know they work as they worked before. This isn't the first time I followed that guide. It's original version didn't cause me to run into this problem.

    I have tested both settings of the Priiloader RegionFree option (on/off) and it made no difference either. I have double-checked the guide and made sure I missed no steps. I am completely at a loss here. These VC games just will not play now, even though they did before my Wii's reformat.

    So, what else is there that I could be missing or should try?
     
  2. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    whats "both versions of region free"?
     
  3. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    Possibly preloader hack?
     
  4. logan289
    OP

    Newcomer logan289 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Priiloader. The RegionFree option. I tried it being on and being off. "Version" was the wrong word choice. I meant "setting." I made the appropriate change to the opening post.
     
  5. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    that whats im guessing, either that or he patches his WAD via his PC.
     
  6. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    In that case, you have to have them both on at the same time, if you haven't already done that.
     
  7. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    hmm thats odd, your wii is NTSC and the WADs are too?

    in that case, you shouldnt need any region hacks whatsoever.

    i would use any title deleter to delete the WAD's fully from the wii and try a reinstall with IOS36, 202, or 250.
     
  8. logan289
    OP

    Newcomer logan289 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    The only reason I brought up RegionFree at all was because there was a topic similar to this one (that was closed before it was solved) and several people talked about RegionFree from the Priiloader being a cause of various things, so I thought I'd at least give the information about it.

    When you say "try a reinstall with IOS36, 202, or 250," you mean to have IOS36 as my current set IOS while installing the WADs? If so, then that's already been done as IOS36 v3351 is my current loaded IOS according to MMM.

    So should I use the "Load another IOS" option for 202 and 250 and attempt to re-install the WADs through MMM's WAD manager?

    Sorry if I'm just repeating to clarify, but I want to keep low risk of making mistakes.
     
  9. logan289
    OP

    Newcomer logan289 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I attempted to reinstall one of the WADs while loading IOS202 and 250 in the MMM. Both attempts caused the same issue as before. A blank, black screen.
     
  10. logan289
    OP

    Newcomer logan289 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I asked this same question on WiiHacks and they're completely stumped. I had posted my syscheck and they have no idea what's wrong with my Wii.

    Here's my syscheck:
    And in response, I said no. The wii was modified from a virgin 4.2 and the only hacks in it are the ones in the guide.
     
  11. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Uninstall it and try a WAD from another source...
     
  12. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Those IOS12/13/14 v3351 are interesting. Reinstall them and see if the version numbers fix themselves. There is no v3351 of those IOSes.

    Install an IOS21, since it's missing and quite a few games use it.

    As for your WAD issue, try installing the WADs with a separate wad manager. MMM never works for me. If it doesn't help, delete IOS53, 55, and 56 with AnyTitleDeleter, then reinstall them. I've seen IOS55 go corrupt on me.
     
  13. logan289
    OP

    Newcomer logan289 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I had attempted to install the WAD through Wad Manager 1.4 as well under IOS249. It didn't work.

    Also, while I get to work on installing those other WADs, I have a few questions.

    1) Seems my Wii isn't exactly virgin. I read somewhere that a reformat doesn't make the Wii fully a virgin. Is this true? If so, then that might explain some things as my Wii did get reformatted.

    2) Would downgrading from 4.2 to an earlier version, like 4.1, be another viable option? I read somewhere that downgrading from 4.2 will brick the Wii so I haven't tried it yet.

    3) I have seen guides claim deleting any IOS under 200 will brick the Wii. Wont deleting IOS53/55/56 cause the Wii to get bricked?
     
  14. logan289
    OP

    Newcomer logan289 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. I went to install what you asked me to and it seems, according to MMM, those IOS12/13/14/21 are already installed and updated to their most recent version.

    IOS12 v269
    IOS13 v273
    IOS14 v520
    IOS21 v782

    According to MMM, the IOS files I AM missing are:

    3, 4, 10, 11, 16, 20, 30, 40, 41, 43, 45, 46, 50, 51, 52, 58, 60 (None of these seem to be ones I need according to the descriptions)

    Anyway, I did a syscheck and here's what showed up this time (MMM says IOS21 is installed and yet it does not show up again in syscheck):

    System Menu v481.
    Running under IOS36 (rev 3351).
    Found 46 titles.
    Found 25 IOS on this console.

    IOS (revision) Turcha Bug ES_Identify Flash Access
    IOS12 (rev 269) Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS13 (rev 273) Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS14 (rev 520) Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS15 (rev 257) Enabled Enabled Enabled
    IOS17 (rev 257) Enabled Enabled Enabled
    IOS22 (rev 257) Enabled Enabled Enabled
    IOS28 (rev 1550) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS31 (rev 3349) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS33 (rev 3091) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS34 (rev 3348) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS35 (rev 3349) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS36 (rev 3351) Enabled Enabled Disabled
    IOS37 (rev 3869) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS38 (rev 3867) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS53 (rev 5406) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS55 (rev 5406) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS56 (rev 5405) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS57 (rev 5661) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS61 (rev 5405) Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS70 (rev 6687) Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS202 (rev 4) Enabled Enabled Disabled
    IOS222 (rev 4) Enabled Enabled Disabled
    IOS223 (rev 4) Enabled Enabled Disabled
    IOS249 (rev 14) Disabled Enabled Disabled
    IOS250 (rev 65535) Disabled Enabled Disabled
     
  15. elmariachi

    Member elmariachi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Have you tried wadmanager 1.6 yet ?

    1.4 is quite outdated by now ... I even heard it's not working witch cIOS X rev 19 anymore

    Dunnot know if this solves any of the problems but you might wanna give it a shot.

    ---

    Nevermind I see you're still on Rev14
     
  16. logan289
    OP

    Newcomer logan289 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Should I update to Rev18/19 then?
     
  17. logan289
    OP

    Newcomer logan289 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    UPDATE: This is strange, but I tested 2 Metroid WADs (Metroid and Super Metroid). These both work!

    On the other hand, I tried 3 Zelda WADs. Zelda, Zelda 2, and Link to the Past. None of these worked and either froze on a black screen or resetted to the Wii menu.

    I tried Majora's Mask and it worked, but a different version of the other 3 Zelda games still didn't work.
     

Share This Page