Afraid to use DSOrganise?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by moose3, Mar 28, 2007.

Mar 28, 2007

Afraid to use DSOrganise? by moose3 at 4:32 PM (1,788 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. moose3
    OP

    Member moose3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    NC
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like a new alpha is out, now up to DSOrganise 2.7 alpha 3 on Dragonminded's blog. One of the changes was a fix to a problem where files or directories might be corrupted when created, so now things are probably safe.
     
  2. Szyslak

    Member Szyslak Nudibranch Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the update, but that's probably a little optimistic. DSO has eventually corrupted my card with every version that I've tried (since the colors). Multiple releases, multiple carts. Fantastic App, but it definitely has a penchant for file corruption.

    I'm not saying don't use it (I still do), I'm just saying make sure you back up frequently to avoid frustration.
     
  3. Calculus

    Newcomer Calculus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, It creates this damn folder called 'DSOrganize' and I can't open or modify it at all. It just kept giving a file corruption error, but afterwards I ended up having to Reformat my card, as it wouldn't even delete.
     
  4. yukine

    Member yukine GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    It's a shame, really. I'd love to use their program, but they need to get that corruption thing taken care of first.
     
  5. Carlin

    Newcomer Carlin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    oooo i thogut that prob was onyl with me

    i ended up reformattin my card this morning and it looks good now
     
  6. pitprop

    Newcomer pitprop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm wary of trying it now after it the past two times it corrupted my card.
    One of the times i could net even format my card - i had to let windows do a scandisc on it before i could even reformat ( and i only found this solution by accident when i rebooted the PC with the microSD card plugged in).
     
  7. faceless

    Member faceless pink sugar heart attack

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    i was about to post all about how dsorganize hasn't corrupted any of my cards, then i realized i dont have an r4.
     
  8. FullgoreEXE

    Member FullgoreEXE GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    Canada
    Then you realized, "Oh wait a sec, it doesn't corrupt everyone's cards, so maybe I'm just lucky" [​IMG].
     
  9. moose3
    OP

    Member moose3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    NC
    Country:
    United States
    If you just copied and ran the .nds file then there's your problem.

    As it says on the blog, you need the files from the earlier full update (2.61 off the main DSOrganise page) with the dsorganise folder and all the files inside. You then overwrite the 2.61 ver DSOrganise DS file and the resource0.bin file with the beta versions from the beta3 zip. Then you copy over the DS file and that DSOrganise folder as well (don't forget to patch the exe_stub.bin and dsorganise.nds for DLDI if you need it) onto your microSD cart.
     

Share This Page