Advantages of Modchip?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by G2K, May 11, 2009.

May 11, 2009

Advantages of Modchip? by G2K at 6:40 AM (902 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. G2K
    OP

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    Ive had to repeat my story too many times today. In short- wii is bricked. Need a modchip to fix. Modchip will only be used once. Is there anything that would make me want I keep the modchip? I've heard that some of the games from other regions that don't work in the USB Loader (Pikmin, Pikmin 2) work with a chip. Is this true?
     
  2. Shinigami Kiba

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    It never hurts to have a chip if only for extra security, if it's going to fix your Wii now, chances are with all these hacks and stuff coming out if it bricks again it'll be able to fix it again.
    I don't really know anything about these modchips nowadays, but my Wiikey has proven quite useful on several occasions.
     
  3. dlxowhd

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    i actually took my chip out.
    i had a d2pro for d2e drive and as soon as usb loader came out, i took the chip out.
    i heard modchips can strain the laser or dvd motor parts or something and shorten the lifespan of the drive.
    usb loader is faster and does everything i've ever wanted so i took the chip out.
    d2pro occasionally had timing issue too (after ejecting the disc, it won't accept another disc until turning off and back on).
    i took it out and everything is working fine now.
     
  4. ALLSPARK

    Newcomer ALLSPARK Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    I Have A Solderless Wiikey 2 chip it only for extra security Too But Chips Are Good Backup To Have
     
  5. OuahOuah

    Member OuahOuah GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    948
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    Some backup don't run with a loader (RedSteel or Sam & Max, I think) but they run with modchips...
     
  6. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,383
    Country:
    Sweden
    Its not as easy to block a modchip as a softmod.
     
  7. magic12

    Member magic12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    Croatia
    yes but they run with cioscorp just fine.
     
  8. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well a modchip is a hardware mod and well, when its there youll never ever have to touch it again. Just pop the disc in and enjoy playing like the game was an orginal.
    Well i got a WiiKey in my D2B, and yea i know that USB Loader has made it quite useless but its nice to have it there.
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i have a chip and i use usbL. if a game doesn't work on usbl i burn it and run it from my chip. klonoa didn't work for me on usb but it worked on my wiikey!
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You can get almost everything a chip does with cioscorp and preloader/starfall, only 6x speed a real advantage of modchips.

    Red Steel is running from a loader, the only games i know that don't work from a loader are Sam & Max Season 1 and FarCry. Red Steel needs IOS Version patching to IOS249(for softmodded people) or to IOS36(for hardmodded people). Or it will work from a loader if cioscorp is installed. I know that sounds strage that modchip users need to patch the game, but it's true.

    I'm talking about SoftChip R89 and up and my Gamma mod available here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=153...p;#entry1966841
     

Share This Page