Ads that play sound

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by TwinRetro, Jul 29, 2012.

Jul 29, 2012

Ads that play sound by TwinRetro at 4:09 AM (457 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. TwinRetro
    OP

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Recently, I have found that there are ads that display now that have sound/video that play upon the page loading. Is this intentional?

    I really don't mind the ads, normally, but IMO sound/video is obtrusive. The ad in question was one about Verizon. I navigated away from the page before I could think to get a screenshot or anything
     
  2. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,625
    Country:
    United States
    here? on the temp? all i ever get are R4 and recycled controller ads. Ive never seen a video or sound ad.
     
  3. reshx

    Member reshx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    in my apartment
    Country:
    United States
    its very rare , normaly , it lag the net connection or make the flash player gone mad
     
  4. TwinRetro
    OP

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    I have done an extensive virus scan, and scanned for malware. Can't find a thing, so it's not likely on my end.
     
  5. hatredg0d

    Member hatredg0d GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    i used to get weird ones like that, like a video ad that you cant see. mostly ran into these on torrent sites and others of that sort.

    get adblock for chrome, if its what im thinking you wont get it again. its also really nice watching youtube no ads.
     
  6. reshx

    Member reshx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    in my apartment
    Country:
    United States
    nowad works too, but it is in spanish:( .


     
  7. TwinRetro
    OP

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    That's the thing...I don't want to use Adblock, because I actually want to support the site, so I usually click on an ad every once in a while if it interests me.
     
  8. reshx

    Member reshx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    in my apartment
    Country:
    United States
    i only see famous brands ads, so i never click them.
     
  9. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    I think normal adsense ads were enabled recently because our sponsor nds card has had some temporary issues. I don't think we have much control of what exact ads are displayed though so there isn't much we can do about this.
     
  10. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    You could do what I do on HacksDen.com, which is add a few whitelists so certain pages don't get filtered (such as on the home page). That way you can support the site, but not get those annoying flashy ads.
     
  11. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Some of the ads also forcibly navigate the browser to a different page, away from gbatemp.net. When your ads are preventing people from using your site they are doing more harm than good.
     

Share This Page