Action Replay on European Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by accolon, Dec 26, 2006.

Dec 26, 2006

Action Replay on European Wii? by accolon at 7:10 PM (1,086 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. accolon
    OP

    Member accolon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Germany
    Today I tried to run the US version of Resident Evil 4 on my European Wii using Datels Freeloader, but it doesn't work. The Wii refuses to run the Freeloader disc, the same disc works perfectly on my PAL Gamecube.

    So I searched around the web, but I couldn't find a clear answer. According to Datels EU website, "if you have one of the later versions of Action Replay or FreeLoader for GameCube, you can use it on your Nintendo Wii when playing GameCube games."

    According to some other websites both Action Replay and Freeloader run on US Wiis only.

    My version of the Freeloader is already over two years old, so this might be the problem. Since I wanted to solder a GC/SD adapter anyway, buying a new Action Replay might be a solution -- but only if it works with my Wii.

    So, did anybody successfully run his GC Action Replay (and the included Freeloader) on a European Wii?
     
  2. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    My AR doesn't work on my Wii either! [​IMG]
     
  3. djgarf

    Former Staff djgarf I Am A Raver

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    England U.K.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have the latest gc action replay and it dont run on my european wii
    guess nintendo have blocked datel's custom binary loader on euro wii's
     
  4. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    all old version of AR for cube doesn't work on PAL wii consoles the same goes for the free loader datel are working on newer version that works on the wii, i have already ordered mine from datel directly [​IMG] but it won't be released for ages yet [​IMG]
     
  5. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What I've heard is that version 1.4 and up (is there higher??) works, anything else doesn't [​IMG].
     
  6. djgarf

    Former Staff djgarf I Am A Raver

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    England U.K.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that's the version i have and it dont work
     
  7. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that is only for the USA wii consoles not the PAL wii consoles.
     

Share This Page