Acer X1130P SVGA Projector

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by Sahduk, Jan 9, 2011.

Jan 9, 2011

Acer X1130P SVGA Projector by Sahduk at 12:14 AM (1,376 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Sahduk
    OP

    Member Sahduk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United States
    Is the projector I bought today. Iv managed to watch a couple of films and pay my ps2.

    I was just wondering how I could connect my ps3 to it.

    Oh yea the projector claims to have 3d, I dont understand how that works oout. Wont I need special glasses or something?
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A quick search says inputs are
    1 x RGB D-Sub 15pin
    1 x Composite
    1 x S-Video
    1 x RS-232

    As the PS3 tends to be about HDMI or component you are stuck with having to buy something like http://www.amazon.com/Wii-PS3-VGA-HDTV-Cab...o/dp/B0015MISAG (the 360 has proper VGA output if you are heading down that path).

    3d seems to be about NVIDIA 3D Vision which means you are going to need one of their setups and sets of glasses. Do note Acer apparently have two versions of the same model- one with 3d and one without so make sure yours is 3d (apparently nothing other than a bit on the box/case). You might be able to use it with some other form of active shutter type 3d but that stands a chance of placing you squarely in hacking country.

    This does not mean you can not double it up (I am guessing you are now telling friends about them) and use polarised images (usually people use two projectors when going for 3d with projectors). You will need special glasses but nothing like the shutter glasses as seen on most other 3d implementations- these things usually look like cheap/novelty shades.
     
  3. Sahduk
    OP

    Member Sahduk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United States
    So im guessing this cable will still give me amazing quality right?
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am fairly comfortable saying the projector side of things will be the limiting factor in the resulting setup.
     
  5. Sahduk
    OP

    Member Sahduk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United States
    But it will be hardl noticeable right?
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am not sure where you are going with all this- the cable might not hold up for a proper full featured TV/monitor but for a projector (probably not onto a nice screen) you will be hard pressed to justifiably call bad quality.

    Playable certainly, certainly better than trying to use a PS3 in SD type cable mode which is about your only option without such a cable. The projector is 800x600 when it comes out of the lens- it can take much more in the way of input but it will downscale it.
     
  7. Sahduk
    OP

    Member Sahduk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United States
    ahh thanks dude, now how would I be able to get the sound to play through my speakers o.0

    I have ones that are connected to a hi-fi and i dont know how to hook it up to my ps3 [​IMG]
     

Share This Page