Acekard RPG in germany?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by g.crow, Jan 22, 2008.

Jan 22, 2008

Acekard RPG in germany? by g.crow at 4:03 PM (2,620 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. g.crow
    OP

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    due to the high DOA rate with the acekard rpg i dont want to import this time.

    greetings, mars77
     


  2. Extreme Coder

    Member Extreme Coder GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    Cairo, Egypt
    Country:
    Egypt
    Who said the AceKard RPG had a high DOA?
     
  3. g.crow
    OP

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    thats what i was reading in the forums here.
    maybe it was cyclods?
     
  4. superrab

    Newcomer superrab Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
  5. Extreme Coder

    Member Extreme Coder GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    Cairo, Egypt
    Country:
    Egypt
    Yup, the CycloDS Evo is the card with high DOA rates.
    You can import the R.P.G. just fine, most members here say www.bamboogaming.com is a good website to order it from.
     
  6. g.crow
    OP

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    will my m3 real saves work?
     
  7. Extreme Coder

    Member Extreme Coder GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    Cairo, Egypt
    Country:
    Egypt
    Well, it depends on what type of saves the M3 Real does, and even then, if it doesn't work, you can always use http://shunyweb.info/ which can convert any type of save into any other type.

    Hope this helped.
     
  8. g.crow
    OP

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    the m3 real saves are 512kb and called *.0

    i ordered from bamboogaming right now, hope im happy with my choice, dont like my m3 real that much.

    thanks for help
     
  9. g.crow
    OP

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    one question remains, i read the review here at gbatemp, it says

    When you turn on your DS with the Acekard R.P.G. inserted, unlike some other flash carts, the main DS menu will not be skipped. The Acekard R.P.G. shows in the main menu like any regular game pak along with its own icon.

    does that mean it ALWAYS goes to the ds menu, even if auto-boot slot1 is on?

    is it true the RPG does NOT support ingame reset? that would really suck [​IMG]
     
  10. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Soft-reset works. Not on 100% of roms, but it works most of the time.
     
  11. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    Don't worry, you will be happy with your RPG. It is a pretty decent cart. Pricey, but decent.
     
  12. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    decent my ass, its a kick ass card, money well spent, f*ck a r4
     
  13. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    Keep in mind, I have gotten a warning through PM for acting too "fanboyish"(I think that's the word I was accused of) of the AK. I am trying to sound as fair and respectable as I can be.
     
  14. TD-Linux

    Newcomer TD-Linux Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Basically, the Acekard boots like a normal cartridge, so autoboot slot-1 etc works normally. The 'insta-boot' cards toggle a special 'demo' bit in the header that tells the BIOS to instantly boot. Why this is done, I'm not sure. I think it's used in the demo cartridges at game stores.

    If you want to skip the health and safety warning, just FlashMe your DS.

    Also, it appears that it might be possible to change the bootloader (and thus the header) to turn autoboot on if you want it. We'll see.
     
  15. pelago

    Member pelago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah thanks TD-Linux, I've always wondered what the mechanism was which allowed some flash carts to skip the health&safety screen without needing FlashMe.
     
  16. Electric_Wizard

    Member Electric_Wizard GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Lewes
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got mine from http://shop.01media.com/
    I think they are based in Poland but It only took about a week to arrive on my door step in the UK. Also, unlike most of the places stocking them they supply a free USB cable for the NAND
     
  17. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    I got mine swell, from that store, but now I think it was a bit overpriced there.
     
  18. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    My RPG from bamboogaming.com came with a usb cable.
     
  19. g.crow
    OP

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    how long did shipping take for bamboogaming?
    i chose express, which usually means 3-5 days from anywhere in the world to anywhere. but it took them 3 days for just leaving customs in shanghai...
     
  20. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    I live near DC and it took exactly 7 days for express. It even came on a sunday.
     

Share This Page