Acekard Official v4.23

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Jul 27, 2010.

Jul 27, 2010

Acekard Official v4.23 by Another World at 8:54 AM (7,075 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    Acekard Official v4.23
    Update
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Team Acekard has updated the official firmware. Please see the release notes for more information.



    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Source
     


  2. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    what's the point with turn off DMA anyway? :/
     
  3. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Wait, that's it? That's kinda pathetic. They could've at least tried to update the compatibility to (almost) match AKAIO's...
     
  4. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    they maybe know they don't have to bother with it since normatt is doing the hard work for them [​IMG]

    maybe only released this so normatt can take it's new function and add it to AKAIO's
     
  5. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, then I want them to embed an mp3 player so Norm can add it into AKAIO [​IMG] But there's a really small chance of that happening...
     
  6. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    akaio had the ability to boot without dma patching for a long time. it was recently removed due to optimizations which made it a useless feature. i'm not 100% sure yet what team acekard is doing but this looks like a quick fix for a dma bug in the official firmware. instead of recoding the problem that occurs when certain roms are AP patched, just provide a way to turn off dma.

    -another world
     
  7. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think I'll stick with AKAIO.
     
  8. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    its really strange as to why they have released this... maybe it was something they were working on without worries and they have completed it at this moment
    maybe normatt or similar could explain if there was some bkg for this ofw
     
  9. tomrev

    Member tomrev GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    United States
    Unless it's useless, it's good news to know that there is the update from official.
     
  10. go2_ars

    Newcomer go2_ars Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Vietnam
    It's totally useless, except for the embed mp3 player
     
  11. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i use akaio 1.7.1 as base and acekard 4.23 as back up
     
  12. kiafazool

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    no reason for the release
    there is no compatibility update and the no dma mode..hardly anyone is going to use it

    or maybe they are just showing people that they are still alive

    they could've added that embed mp3 player yaymii was talking about
    or some helpful features
    real-time save
    real-time guide
    real-time cheat
    that could put acekard2 to the top
    these features will help get ak2 back to the top
    not saying they should make a new flashcart with a built-in cpu and add freecheat and gba emu
    gba emu can be gotten with 3in1's and freecheat doesn't give very good cheat results

    real-time save/guide/cheat is really required for the ak2
     
  13. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    it doesnt get much lazier then this...
     
  14. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Normatt should get paid.
     
  15. N4RU70 FR34K

    Banned N4RU70 FR34K Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Aktsuki Hideout
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone even use this instead of AKAIO because it seems very unlikely if they do [​IMG]
     
  16. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My Acekard died yesterday now i`m using that one of my little bro
    and now i`m gonne buy a Supercard DSTWO [​IMG]
     
  17. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's a shame, these things don't last forever though.
    My old Acekard 2i died, I bought a replacement when I noticed it was starting to freeze more often, and handed it down to my brother, he says it hardly works anymore.
     
  18. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    no thanks.
    AKAIO is still where it's at.
     
  19. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If that's all they did, I really can't see why they bothered.
     
  20. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I guess they wanted to show they're still alive.
     

Share This Page