Acekard 2iquestion ( Acekard 2i vs CycloDS)

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by BDaichi, Dec 16, 2009.

Dec 16, 2009
  1. BDaichi
    OP

    Newcomer BDaichi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    So I have one of the real original R4 and it is kinda out dated...and rarely works.
    So I have 3 question
    1. Which is better
    Acekard 2i or CycolDS

    Yes I read the reviews on the site, but since the CycloDS is nearly 3 years old I was gonna go with the newer flashcard the Acekard 2i

    2. Acekard 2i works with DS lite correct?

    3. And are these real Acekard 2i?
    http://www.gameyeeeah.com/acekard-2i-ak2i-...dsi-p-1509.html
    and
    whats the cheapest site to get one?
     
  2. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm first of all. If you have ONLY a DS Lite then you should go with the Acekcard 2.1 not the Acekard2i due to build issues. if you DO have a DSi then you'll HAVE to go with the AK2i in this comparison because Cyclo hasn't released their DSi cart yet.

    1) Assuming you have only a DS Lite since you are considering CycloDS,

    Continuing on, the Acekard 2.1 has AKAIO support. and that's all the difference. AKAIO is amazing and the best firmware out there. Backed up by Normatt, the most dedicated coder in all of the Slot-1 Community, loaders are updated DAILY. This means you don't have to wait weeks for games fixes, just check in the next couple days or most likely, AKAIO loaders already supports the game. Game compatibility is 110%. To tell the truth, AKAIO loaders have so many updates that I forget to update my Acekard. When I do remember, its only a tap away on my DS. AKAIO supports loader update and cheat database updates from GBATemp straight from the DS. The Acekard 2.1 also has an awesome GUI. This means that the skins and appearance are very customizable and sleek.

    The CycloDS on the other hand, is MUCH more expensive and the only reason is most likely RTS and in game text viewing for walkthroughs and such. There more game fixes needed to run on the CycloDS but its main firmware is already pretty good.

    2) Yes.

    3) You can find both at RealHostStuff.com.

    ~ Jon
     
  3. BDaichi
    OP

    Newcomer BDaichi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
  4. Sabri23

    Newcomer Sabri23 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Holland (gld-...)
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Setting up your acekard , that video ? how do you meen ? that video that shows on the link how to setup works for al acekards , the firmware akaio neams , ACEKARD ALL IN ONE , it's support every acekard out there . also the acekard 2.1

    And you ask witch one is better (card)
    I have the Acekard 2i and must say it has a great firmware called Akaio , i love that one , most of the roms are working on it !
    But cyclods also is very good .
    if you have a dsi i should get the ak2i
    if you have a ds lite and planning to buy a dsi in the future get the ak2i
    if you have a ds lite and stuck with that one i should get the cyclods [​IMG]
     
  5. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    +1 for acekard 2

    I'd recommend it if you have little interest in added bells and whistles such as real time saving and so on. Game compatibility is fantastic when using AKAIO.

    Cheapest site I know of for one is dealextreme, at about $11 USD. They are very slow with shipping though.
     
  6. BDaichi
    OP

    Newcomer BDaichi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
  7. BDaichi
    OP

    Newcomer BDaichi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    So ACEKARD 2i is better then ackard2.1?
     
  8. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    The acekard 2i works on the DSi, while the acekard 2.1 won't. Other then that there is no real difference. Both have the same game compatibility and so on.
     
  9. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only in the sense that it will work on a DSi. Apart from that they're the same.
     
  10. BDaichi
    OP

    Newcomer BDaichi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Kk acekard 2i then XD
    Never know, I may get a
    DSi LL in the future so lol
     

Share This Page