acekard 2i not working on some lite's but will on others

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by martinezgene, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. martinezgene
    OP

    Member martinezgene GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    chicago
    Country:
    United States
    acekard 2i cards won't work every time they are inserted into some ds lite's, but will work in other dslite's. My son has a new lite and so do I and sometimes you have to reinsert the card or restart the lite many times before it will be recognized and on the first try it will work in my lite. My acekard 2i card will work every time it is tried in his lite. We have had his acekard card since May is this going to happen to all the cards once they get a few months old?
    For the past few months it has worked flawlessly on his lite.
     
  2. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd say that would be a connection problem [​IMG]
     
  3. Agent007

    Member Agent007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    As a suggestion, I would think about taking apart the acekard 2i ( I am not held responsible if you do this) and put a piece of paper right under the the connection pcb and it should connect all the time, as shattered screens says, it is a connection problem.
     
  4. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    I've just received my Acekard 2i from the mail & I have the same problem. [​IMG] I've also noticed the contacts on Ak2i weren't completely clean but a bit dirty/scratched. I've used a soft cloth and now it works a bit better. But man, even my R4 SDHC never had this problem... I'm not really sure if I should replace it or wait if the problem degrades further.
     
  5. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    its a contact issue probably
    try taping your card to make it thincker so that the ds lite can touch the card
     
  6. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    AFAIK, Acekard 2.1 have this issue. you sometimes re-insert it to the DS. My Acekard 2i also needs to be re-instert sometimes as it isnt detected when someone borrowed my DSi. Picky little Acekard 2i
     
  7. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Thanks for the heads up. I've contacted the shop and the guy said their acekards were all from the same package, most likely the same batch, which means a replacement might not do me any good at all. I'm eligible to a full refund in 15 days anyway, so I guess I'm just going to try to fix it if I can.

    Man I hated my R4 SDHC because everyone was calling me a noob but the cart worked fine, now I got this and It's already not working properly. [​IMG]
     
  8. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Life's a bitch, huh?
     
  9. martinezgene
    OP

    Member martinezgene GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    chicago
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for all the replies. I stuck a plastic guitar pick next to the card and it does the trick. I noticed that my acekard 2i that I recently bought seems to be a little thicker than the older card that is giving me the contact problems.
     
  10. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Good news from me too. Cleaning up the contacts seems to have fixed it. I've reinserted the cart at least 10 times and it worked properly every time. I've also tried to purposedly misalign the cart during operation, and open/close my dsl, and it didn't freeze. I have tested Contra 4 & TWEWY for about 2 hours and the games worked without a single hiccup.
     

Share This Page