Acekard 2i Chip And Package Update

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Rydian, Feb 22, 2011.

Feb 22, 2011
  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Acekard 2i Chip And Package Update
    Acekard 2i hardware/packaging changes.
    [​IMG]

    The Acekard 2i now uses a newer, smaller SST chip. This is an official change and the new Acekard 2i revisions should ship soon.

    The standard packaging has gotten an update as well. In addition to minor grammar and cosmetic changes, the back of the package now appears to advertise AKAIO's Anti-Anti-Piracy (AAP) feature.



    [​IMG] Source

    Thanks to Etalon for the news!
     
  2. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
  3. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    wonder if they fixed the crappy build (paper trick)
     
  4. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if performance will improve.

    And I really hope they tested AKAIO on it before claiming how well it works. XD
     
  5. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm not sure it's a good idea to use a BGA memory on a thin PCB ... [​IMG]
     
  6. Cuelhu

    Member Cuelhu КУ!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Fantasy Land
    Country:
    That's what I was hoping for. Even a R4 clone have better build quality... If they fixed, it's instant buy for me.
     
  7. HtheB

    Member HtheB GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    Bize Her Yer Trabzon
    Country:
    Netherlands
    AAP.....

    AAP as seen in Popeye:
    [​IMG]

    Or Dutch Translation:
    Aap = Monkey

    [​IMG]
     
  8. ChrisRX

    Member ChrisRX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not. You should pretty much never use a BGA unless it's on a PCB that can't flex and won't be handled too much. All it takes it for the cart to be removed to accidentally crack a solder joint and potentially break the entire thing.
     
  9. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Does battery life improve by using newer/smaller chip? Not saying that Acekard does a horrible job on battery life.
     
  10. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    LOL. Anti-Anti-Piracy.
     
  11. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Anti-Anti-Piracy isn't used on the box or in AKAIO. It's a user-given term, as I recall.

    The official term is Bypass Antipiracy, and on the box it doesn't directly mention the feature, but it's definitely implied.
     
  12. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Anti-Anti-Piracy is what Normmatt called it once when it first came out, and the users adopted it as the term even though it's not the official one... it's the more well-known one.
     
  13. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,942
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    same here O.o was wanting to get a DSTWO, but everything I'll do i can for sure do on a cheaper card...
     
  14. zhuzhuchina

    Member zhuzhuchina GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Shanghai
    Country:
    China
    why i am afraid for each new aki revision? [​IMG]
     
  15. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    Acekard is taking DSTT's path...

    The acekard will probably be cheaper, but at which cost? (blown fuse anyone?)
     
  16. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    If you want,

    * Real time features
    * GBA/SNES emulations

    Then go with DS2, otherwise AK2i is better because it is cheaper. Since less and less DS games are coming out, almost 100% compatibility is really no longer a reason to go with DS2.

    That said why Acekard team have not work on real time features (very least RTC and RTG)?
     
  17. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    dstt used bga chips and it was not very good, alot of broken cards.

    hopefully this will be better
     
  18. Prof. 9

    Member Prof. 9 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    "Unique" technology, huh.

    So does this make the card better, or is it just cheaper to produce?
     
  19. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Unless they did some strenuous testing on this they're gonna be in for a lot of recalls.
     
  20. ChrisRX

    Member ChrisRX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's just the same chip in a smaller package then no it won't be any more efficient. I can't see the part numbers on the picture but I presume if they're using the same firmware then the chip has to be the same as well, therefore same power usage.
     

Share This Page