Acekard 2 vs cyclods

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Unchi-san, May 5, 2008.

May 5, 2008

Acekard 2 vs cyclods by Unchi-san at 4:05 AM (1,870 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Unchi-san
    OP

    Member Unchi-san Unchi on a stick! yay~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    is there any reason (other than the ridiculously cheap 25$ price tag) to prefer a acekard 2 in comparison to a cyclods?
     
  2. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the menu on the AK2 is nicer.

    Otherwise, price is probably the biggest reason to choose the AK2 (or to not choose the CycloDS as the case may be).

    The CycloDS has a few options that the AK2 doesn't have (and the majority of folks don't need) like slow-mo, game state dumps, in-game menu, etc. If those kinds of options are worth the higher price to you, the CycloDS is probably the better choice.

    -Bri
     
  3. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If you're on a low budget, go with Acekard 2.

    But if you want something more expensive, but worth the money, then CycloDS

    If you want something cheap that does as much as a Cyclo, while being not too far away from Acekard 2 (Price), then SCDS1 SDHC.
     
  4. Topfragger

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    i say AK2 because the cyclo is a bit too expensive still.
    even for it's features the price isn't justified.

    i mean look at the Supercard DS one SDHC it has Cyclo DS's features, except multiple skinning, but it has Slowmo RTS and Cheats, and all that crap and is a good 10 AUD cheaper.
     
  5. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    The cyclo is probally $20+ average compared to an AK2 at DX.
    And the AK2 doesn't beat the cyclo other than its GUI and the cheap price.
     
  6. Topfragger

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    the Cyclo is still too expensive for what its worth though,
    i would only recommend it to people who have had a DSTT that broke on them.

    Aidscard 2 or Cocklo DS?
     
  7. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    At $25 for the AK2, the CycloDS is nearly twice the cost by your estimation.

    The average user wants two things from a cart: an elegant and fast menu and that it run games and homebrew.

    For the average user who doesn't care much about slow-motion or saving game states, the CycloDS doesn't really offer that much for the difference in price. For those users who care about bells and whistles more than price or a nicer menu, there's no question that the CycloDS is a better choice.

    -Bri
     
  8. gizmo_gal

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    I am hoping that the Cyclo takes a price cut in the next couple of months.

    I want one and am planning on buying one before the summer but I still feel that I'm paying just a tad too much. But I'd like to be able to have the highest compatibility for games and wifi apps.

    Plus I'm not so great at most games so cheats, saves, slow mo, etc, etc, would be nice to have for win I need help [​IMG]

    But more than anything, I'm cringing to try my hand at some basic homebrew and I think that Cyclo is the best card to go with since its such high compatibility with homebrew.
     
  9. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Compatibility is about the same with most of the slot-1 carts on the market now.
     
  10. juicemousezero

    Newcomer juicemousezero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    I'm glad you said this cause I've been wondering lately if switching to a Cyclo would fix some crashing issues I have with some games on my Acekard, but I'm glad the compatibility is mostly the same cause... I didn't wanna spend the money. heh.
     
  11. flamesmaster

    Member flamesmaster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the cyclods team are great with their updates!
     

Share This Page