Hacking Acekard 2 Loader 4.08

Diffusion

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
700
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
160
Country
United States
QUOTE said:
A brand new engine of saving and reading card for Acekard2. Faster and more stable. Castlevania should be never lag on any TF cards.
Press "a" to use new engine and long press "a" for old engine.
If there's any black or white screen please disable all special functions first.
Merged all main features from bliss's firmware. Thanks to bliss.
*Improved supporting of running GBA games via expansion cards.
*Support mp3, txxt, avi, dsm, ogg, wav and so on direclty. (avi need convert first. txt support mark)
*Support AR code in dat and xml format.
*You can set uniquee settings for every single game.
*Support multi save slot for one game.
*Support automatically run after start up. You can long press b button to enter ak2's menu. Support short cut.
*Support hide files and folders. Support hide extension name.
Fixed save issue of DQ5

Download:
Official Site: http://www.acekard.com/download.php#ak2
GBAtemp: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=3062
 

dewback

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
224
Trophies
0
Age
49
Location
Michigan
XP
126
Country
United States
tinymonkeyt said:
Diffusion said:
Support multi save slot for one game
they have save slots for the acekard 2?


his is a Feature that was in the bliss loader. The Bliss Loader was using the release to load with more options for save slots and turning on pachs per game. This is great because the Bliss loader is a lot better but had to wait for it to be updated.
 

Smiths

AKAIO Person of Interest TAGS ARE THE BEST
Developer
Joined
Feb 24, 2003
Messages
1,423
Trophies
0
Location
The land of Dairy Queen
Website
www.gamergeddon.com
XP
1,614
Country
United States
so basically it's AKAIO-lite...

this is what they made of it.
Let's drink, Normmatt.
I got my 4 AKs out of the code in this. shoulda asked for a replacement DS Lite
frown.gif
 

Bri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
3,413
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
United States
It's not AIO. It's based on Bliss' menu, which uses a lot of the code from the previous version of AIO (I think I said that right).

Smiths, this may actually be a good sign. At least they're incorporating code from the custom firmware. Since you and Normmatt are continuing to develop your code (and Bliss isn't), it seems like they may now be open to adding some of your features to it. Maybe Normmatt's slow-motion code can be added (and then supported by the Acekard team).

It's a little funny that the default skin (black) says "Acekard RPG" on it instead of "Acekard 2" (or just "Acekard").

-Bri
 

Gevexx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
91
Country
Gambia, The
Bri said:
It's not AIO. It's based on Bliss' menu, which uses a lot of the code from the previous version of AIO (I think I said that right).

Smiths, this may actually be a good sign. At least they're incorporating code from the custom firmware. Since you and Normmatt are continuing to develop your code (and Bliss isn't), it seems like they may now be open to adding some of your features to it. Maybe Normmatt's slow-motion code can be added (and then supported by the Acekard team).

It's a little funny that the default skin (black) says "Acekard RPG" on it instead of "Acekard 2" (or just "Acekard").

-Bri

Yeah maybe but i think that the devs are just lazy and wait until smiths code everything so that they can overtake it.
 

IOwnAndPwnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
1,120
Trophies
0
XP
141
Country
Canada
Bri said:
It's not AIO. It's based on Bliss' menu, which uses a lot of the code from the previous version of AIO (I think I said that right).

Smiths, this may actually be a good sign. At least they're incorporating code from the custom firmware. Since you and Normmatt are continuing to develop your code (and Bliss isn't), it seems like they may now be open to adding some of your features to it. Maybe Normmatt's slow-motion code can be added (and then supported by the Acekard team).

It's a little funny that the default skin (black) says "Acekard RPG" on it instead of "Acekard 2" (or just "Acekard").

-Bri

So would you say this is better than AKAIO 1.1r2 ? Or is it the same .. kinda looks like the same.
 

Bri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
3,413
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
United States
Gevexx said:
Yeah maybe but i think that the devs are just lazy and wait until smiths code everything so that they can overtake it.

Maybe, but I don't see that as a problem. I kind of prefer that they concentrate on compatibility updates in the loader. Remember that the Acekard team will also be responsible for supporting all these new features when they update the loader. It was a concern for Smiths and Normmatt that when they implement new features, they had to recode everything every time the Acekard team changed the loader. If the Acekard team incorporates features into the official loader, they take over support in future versions, taking the burden of support off of Smiths and Normmatt, allowing them to concentrate on coding new features (which is probably what they prefer to do anyway).

-Bri
 

Bri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
3,413
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
United States
IOwnAndPwnU said:
Bri said:
It's not AIO. It's based on Bliss' menu, which uses a lot of the code from the previous version of AIO (I think I said that right).

Smiths, this may actually be a good sign. At least they're incorporating code from the custom firmware. Since you and Normmatt are continuing to develop your code (and Bliss isn't), it seems like they may now be open to adding some of your features to it. Maybe Normmatt's slow-motion code can be added (and then supported by the Acekard team).

It's a little funny that the default skin (black) says "Acekard RPG" on it instead of "Acekard 2" (or just "Acekard").

-Bri

So would you say this is better than AKAIO 1.1r2 ? Or is it the same .. kinda looks like the same.

It's probably very similar (maybe identical) to Bliss' latest menu, which is based on some of the same code that AIO is based on (both use code from AIO's predecessor, AKBBS). But AIO has had some new features since Bliss stopped development of his menu, so I'd say AIO is better. AIO is perhaps slightly less stable than the official given that Smiths and Normmatt are constantly adding new features to it.

-Bri
 

Bri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
3,413
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
United States
Smiths said:
Bri said:
Remember that the Acekard team will also be responsible for supporting all these new features when they update the loader.



HAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAAH

oh yeah, that'll be the day.

Now that they've added the new functionality to the official menu, I don't think they have a choice. If a future version of their loader breaks something in the official menu, they'll either have to remove that functionality (which will cause a lot of problems for them) or else fix the menu code accordingly.

-Bri
 

Takoru

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
192
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
256
Country
Egypt
But, why isn't it possible to use it with an AKRPG? I thought it's open source... so it should get such firmwares before the AK2, lol.
 

Normmatt

Former AKAIO Programmer
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
2,159
Trophies
0
Age
31
Website
normmatt.com
XP
1,832
Country
New Zealand
The new loading engine is only for the AK2, the AKRPG and AK+ versions of bliss' merged firmwares won't have any compatibility fixes except for the DQ5 fix i think.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: Have you tried Dragon Ball Fighters? It's surprisingly fun