Acekard 2 Cheat Functions.

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Topfragger, Jun 12, 2008.

Jun 12, 2008

Acekard 2 Cheat Functions. by Topfragger at 11:27 AM (9,296 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Topfragger
    OP

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    How can anyone make heads or tails or it?

    it sucks! it's not intuitive and the manuals don't say anything....

    i suggest we build a thread for people who need help figuring out the bullshit and chips cheat system.... this one should do.
     


  2. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    ...what?

    What do you not understand?
    Please explain your problems.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  3. Topfragger
    OP

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    Apparently you don't have an AK2 so lemme put it this way.

    the manuals says F all about using cheats, and theres no cheat database inbuilt
    you enable Action replay on the AK2 which doesn't do anything except affect rom compatibility.

    and theres no obvious way to implement or use them.
     
  4. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
     
  5. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    First of all, I'd recommend you use the Bliss menu. It has several enhancements to the cheat system that make it easy to use. Find it here: http://bliss.hanirc.org/ndsl/ak2/ak2_407_bliss_k09p1.rar

    Then grab Narin's excellent cheat database and put "CHEAT.DAT" into the correct folder (replacing the one that's there). Find it in Narin's signature at the bottom of the first post of this thread: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=84991

    Then you need to enable cheats for all games (start -> patches -> Cheat/Action Replay -> enabled), then hilight the game you want (click on the name of the game, not the icon), and turn on the cheats you want for a particular game (start -> properties -> Rom Info -> Cheat Menu -> *).

    It's really not that difficult (and it's pretty much the same for nearly every cart).

    -Bri
     
  6. Topfragger
    OP

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh excellent!

    but why couldn't i find this when i searched GBAtemp and google?
     
  7. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
  8. Topfragger
    OP

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    acekard.com doesn't have anything helpful either and the forum is a cluster mess

    the Kard is good in all aspects except build design quality and cheats.
     
  9. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    But it did have the info you were looking for.
     
  10. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
  11. Topfragger
    OP

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    I prefer the original firmware
     
  12. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    For what reason do you prefer the original menu (other than official a14 has a couple of good things) but bliss might update his menu soon to use the a14 loader. The original firmware doesn't have any advantage over bliss'.
     
  13. Topfragger
    OP

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    the software made by the makers of the card is more likely to have better stability,
    thats why PS1 emulation on PSP is a hack of Sony's emulator and works perfectly.

    also i tried putting the cheats onto the Proper folder on the AK2 called cheats, nothing happened.
    didn't work can't detect cheat file says AK2 when i press Y

    oh wait, i got it, by selecting cheats.xml from Narin and then i have to rebuild the cheat file....for every game oh dear this will be a bit of a pain.
    it would be nice if the AK2 had a cheat database that gets updated in every firmware update.
    that would simplify it and make it more user friendly.

    thanks for letting me know about Narins cheat database Bri.
     
  14. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's not true. Bliss has acces to the sourcecode of the AK2 software, so it doesn't really make any difference.
     
  15. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Well if you listen to Bri and get bliss' firmware it'll build the cheat file the first time you access it.

    Btw, Anyone tried what they changed to the cheat engine in the official a14 update?
     
  16. Topfragger
    OP

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    y'all finished being sniffy?

    I don't think i will have an AK2 for long anyway i'm going to see if i can sell it to my friend, and i'll be getting a SCDSone when i buy a new DS
     
  17. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    You're welcome. But use the Bliss menu along with CHEAT.DAT (remove CHEATS.XML and replace it with CHEAT.DAT) and you won't have to manually rebuild the cheat database at all! You'll just have to change the menu option that specifies which cheat database format you're using from CHEATS.XML to CHEAT.DAT (you only need to do this once). From that point on, you can update the cheat database by just replacing the CHEAT.DAT file with a new one.

    -Bri
     
  18. Topfragger
    OP

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    I really wish dealextreme had direct deposit payments instead of paypal

    i'm not 18 yet, and right now paypal is under fire from the ACCC about ebay and forcing people to use paypal.
     
  19. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    First of all, Off topic much?
    Use your parents credit card or if they don't let you buy a prepaid credit card.
     
  20. Topfragger
    OP

    Member Topfragger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    my thread hence i can go off topic.

    And no i don't trust credit cards because of the fact Xbox live can milk you for all your fucking worth once you give them your credit details.
     

Share This Page