Acekard 2 + AKAIO, Games not seeing saves...

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Waganga, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. Waganga
    OP

    Waganga Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 27, 2010
    United States
    Hello!

    I'm having an issue that I just cannot seem to get around. I'll try my best to explain it. I am using a DS lite, an Acekard 2 and the akAIO loader with all the most recent updates.

    A few days ago, I started playing Atelier Annie. The game started up and ran with absolutely no issue. Saving was quick and smooth. However, I shut my system off. When I loaded the game back up again, it began by telling me that there were no saves present. In the aiKAO screen, I can see the Atelier Annie .rom and the Atelier Annie .sav, so they are definitely there. But, the game doesn't recognize them!

    This same issue has happened with Ragnarok Online DS and Digimon Worlds.

    I am very confused and cannot figure out how to fix this issue.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Sinistral89

    Sinistral89 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    238
    5
    Sep 12, 2009
    Sweden
    Either you have changed the default settings to use .nds.sav instead of .sav

    Or you maybe changed to another saveslot (press Y on the rom and change saveslot to default).
     
  3. Waganga
    OP

    Waganga Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 27, 2010
    United States
    Save extension setting is set to .sav and saveslot is set to default. Game still does not recognize the save.
     
  4. Hasney

    Hasney GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    128
    2
    Nov 15, 2006
    Buy it in the last couple of month by chance? There's been either a defective batch or clones floating around that have save issues like this.
     
  5. Waganga
    OP

    Waganga Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 27, 2010
    United States
    I did buy it in the past couple months from Realhotstuff.com...

    However, the saving and loading worked perfectly fine before. It simply stopped all of a sudden. If it were defective, or a fake, wouldn't it simply have not worked from the start?
     
  6. EyeZ

    EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,337
    274
    Dec 4, 2009

    .rom? you mean .nds?
     
  7. Waganga
    OP

    Waganga Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 27, 2010
    United States
    ... Oh. Yes, .nds. Lol, stupid typo.
     
  8. Waganga
    OP

    Waganga Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 27, 2010
    United States
    I take it no one has any more advice for me? >:
     
  9. Kronusdark

    Kronusdark Member

    Newcomer
    36
    0
    Jan 2, 2010
    United States
    if you looked in other thread you will see that you are not alone. alot of people who have bought AK2's recently have had problems with save files. It doesnt seem that anyone knows if its just a new version of the hardware that can be fixed in a new firmware update or if its a defect that cannot be fixed. the workaround is to try an older official firmware version. Good Luck!
     
  10. Waganga
    OP

    Waganga Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 27, 2010
    United States
    I am just confused because the problem developed over time and defects usually show up immediately.

    Thus far I have tried:
    -Reinstalling AKAIO 1.5
    -Took it apart to check for signs of being a clone - found none
    -Deleted some games to make a bit more space
    -Tried AKAIO 1.4 with updated loaders
    -Tried most recent official Acekard firmware

    None of these things worked for me. I really, really don't want to have to go spend another $20-$30 on this as money is very right right now.

    Please, can anyone else offer more ideas or advice on this? I am willing to try anything that makes sense.
     
  11. bchan009

    bchan009 Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    I've had this problem with my Acekard 2 as well.

    Use AKAIO v1.2. Any version later than this will cause your saves to not work properly. I'm not sure why it works, but this is the answer to your problem. I myself am using AKAIO 1.2 until I get my Acekard2i in the mail.

    Make sure to use the latest loaders when running AKAIO 1.2. So far I can play and save games just fine with it.