1. sadraichu

    OP sadraichu Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hi all, please feel free to shit on me for this. I want to kms about it anyway. I accidentally upgraded to 11.14 before realizing that all the fbi/cia stuff has only been updated to 11.13. Basically, am I doomed? Is there any way to downgrade the firmware? Is there any way to otherwise get cfw? Is my only hope that someone out there finds new 11.14 exploits? I am kicking myself so hard. Thank you.
     
    Thistles likes this.
  2. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,854
    Country:
    Canada
    Right now you are kinda screwed until the devs do what they do best and roll out new updates for luma to cover what nintendo has done. Its just a waiting game at this point.
     
  3. JustinKG

    JustinKG Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Just wait for new luma update. Your 3ds is fine. Be patient
     
    sadraichu likes this.
  4. fmkid

    fmkid Just another GBATemp's random guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,733
    Country:
    Colombia
    Did you have your console already hacked (with B9S + Luma CFW)?

    If yes, just wait for a new Luma release. If not, wait (too) for any confirmation about hacking methods for the new version
     
    Last edited by fmkid, Nov 17, 2020
  5. sadraichu

    OP sadraichu Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Waiting game is totally fine by me. That's all I needed to hear. Thank you v_v

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    No not hacked already. Will be waiting for new methods. Ty :(
     
  6. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Official Succubus™ That’s crazy
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,292
    Country:
    Antarctica
  7. retrospect

    retrospect GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Country:
  8. sadraichu

    OP sadraichu Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for everyone's help!!
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  9. Arioch_ChaosGod

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Brazil
    It worked, thanks a lot
     
    alexander1970 and retrospect like this.
  10. Thistles

    Thistles Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Umm hello.
    I also made the same mistake but with an already hacked system, and I'm new enough to not know how to properly update everything without the Luma updater so could somebody please point me to a guide on how to update everything because I'm currently absolutely clueless.
     
  11. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14,346
    Country:
    United States
    just replace the boot.firm and boot.3dsx (homebrew launcher) with the ones from 10.2.1 luma. it's actually that simple. so far the only thing that doesn't work is ntr cfw.
     
    fmkid and Thistles like this.
  12. Thistles

    Thistles Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Thank you for the quick reply! I wasn't expecting something that fast. I'm really new to this to the point where I only created this account to ask about this so thank you! I will try that right away!
    *Edit it worked thanks again and thanks a million I was really confused and frankly worried for the last week so this is a huge relief for me
     
    Last edited by Thistles, Nov 21, 2020
    godreborn likes this.
  13. zewindsor

    zewindsor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    France
    Hi all,

    My 3DS keeps asking me to do the update to the latest firmware. Since it's quite annoying, I just wanted to be sure to do the rights things :
    - Update Luma to the 10.2.1 version by replacing boot.3dsx and boot.firm on the SD card
    - Boot the 3DS and do the update

    Is that right ?

    Thanks
     
    usernamecharlie likes this.
  14. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8,225
    Country:
    Sweden
    Basically yes.
     
    zewindsor and alexander1970 like this.
  15. casperdewith

    casperdewith Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thank you very much! Just after booting, I did get a screen with Luma configurations. Didn’t change anything and pressed START. It works fine now, I’m grateful!
     
  16. Kallim

    Kallim Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a similar problem.

    I bought an "OLD" 3ds XL for the purposes of hacking. I used the guide at 3DS hacks. But when I booted into "Safe Mode" it updated the software.

    Are there any other working methods I can use?? As Far as I'm aware this unit has never been homebrewed, and is now on the latest software.
     
  17. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,828
    Country:
    United States
    Follow this guide to install CFW to an "old" 3DS on 11.14.
    https://3ds.hacks.guide/installing-boot9strap-(safecerthax)
     
  18. fmkid

    fmkid Just another GBATemp's random guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,733
    Country:
    Colombia
    I assume that you are using the safecerthax method, isn't?

    If yes, it will be better if you use another internet connection on your console (if you can, better create a hotspot using a smartphone with internet mobile connection).
     
  19. Kallim

    Kallim Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I used the safecerthax method. All the files were on the SD card but it downloaded the new version. I also tried the pokemon cross hack but it just launched into the game. I then tried the DSI ware hack, but the screen didn't flash. I'm never hacked a 3DS before but I have other consoles and phones etc. I'm following the guide above. I also tried again following a youtube video.

    At this point I think this is one of 2 unlikely things.

    1/ Its the SD card (unlikely because it's working with the 3DS). The SD Card is a Toshiba 2GB if anyone knows of any issues?
    2/ The 11.14.0-46... maybe the -46 update stops this exploit? Again unlikely because you and another expert directed me to the same guide.

    I'm going to try a different SD Card and connect the 3DS to the internet via phone. Has anyone here successfully and OLD 3DS on 11.14.0-46? Or does anyone have the same issue as me?

    If anything I'd say its the SD Card. It would explain why the CFW failed when I was on a lower firmware?
     
  20. fmkid

    fmkid Just another GBATemp's random guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,733
    Country:
    Colombia
    1. If you suspect about any problem with your SD card, try with this to check for its health. But I don't think that the "problem" has to see with the SD card and its files.
    2. Definitelly no, that doesn't affect at all. A console (OLD model, of course) with that exactly firmware version is absolutely hackeable with safecerthax just right now.
    And, I have an OLD 3DS model (Cosmo Black classic), with the latest firmware version, and I tried with the given DNS and with the safe mode steps to run the exploit and worked for me without problem.

    Then, again, my advice is check for the WiFi connections that you are using (perharps they're using some kind of firewall/proxy/DNS or another internal connection parameter that could interfere directly with this method), or you perharps are overlooking something at the time of setup a network on your console, etc.

    It would be better if you delete all your actual configured connection slots on your console and try with a mere one. And, finally, try with another WiFi network with internet connection (a mobile hotspot is a great option.. I've suggested this to a lot of people and it works)
     
    Last edited by fmkid, Jan 12, 2021
    Kallim likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - accidentally, upgraded,