1. BlackBlue

    BlackBlue Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2021
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Germany
    Btw Lakka still works on 12.0.0.
     
  2. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    Germany
    Lakka runs outside from horizon os. So, it doesnt matter
     
    Memoir likes this.
  3. Chocola

    Chocola GBAtemp Meowgular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Just wait for atmosphere support, don't try to downgrade with outdated software if you didn't like brick your Switch
     
  4. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    I just don't know why people connect to the internet on a CFW switch best leave it on airplane mode and not worry. Seems like OP doesn't have dualboot set up where you can upgrade or downgrade your emuMMC at no risk
     
  5. BlackBlue

    BlackBlue Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2021
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Germany
    Of course it matters. I can use Retroarch.
     
  6. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah with lakka. And it does not matter. Lakka runs independently from hos.
     
  7. Chocola

    Chocola GBAtemp Meowgular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Lakka its a independent distribution based on Linux, like Ubuntu for Switch or Android (Switchroot), you can run always these things if you have a method to inject payloads because didn't use the original operating system of the Switch.

    Atmosphere or any other CFW, run over Horizon OS (the original operating system of Switch), this is the reason why you can run Lakka and can't atmosphere for example.
     
    Memoir likes this.
  8. BlackBlue

    BlackBlue Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2021
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Germany
    I didn't write I can use Retroarch with Atmosphere. It matters to me.
     
  9. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    818
    Country:
    Russia
    Why use 90dns when there has been a safe method of blanking prodinfo in atmos since like half a year or more... But yeah, the picture with CJ on the first page perfectly describes this thread.
     
    Last edited by bad361, Apr 7, 2021
  10. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    Germany
    The reason is simple. It avoids system updates. An update can temporarily break your cfw setup. That's why you should use it. But either way, blanking the prodinfo has nothing to do with dns blocker.
     
    Knoedel likes this.
  11. Tac 21

    Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    Canada
    jesus how many people running atmosphere DON'T have a emmuand?
     
  12. Burorī

    OP Burorī GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Belgium
    *slowly raises hand* Screenshot_20210407-193701.jpg
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  13. Tac 21

    Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    Canada
    build one next time-

    they are nice to have for things like these
     
    Burorī likes this.
  14. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    Germany
    But in case of the switch it doesn't matter whether they use an emummc or not. I don't know why, but the people think, they miss something when they don't update their consoles. Read a lot of threads or watch a lot of videos. And in such threads, where know-nothing adorn themselves with lack of knowledge. And in such threads trash is babbled that CFW-xy works with the latest firmware. Although this is not so. People install all kinds of stuff, but have no idea what they are actually doing. That's the problem I think. And through all the reading and watching videos, of course, it unsettles them i would say.
     
  15. Burorī

    OP Burorī GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well... I don't really use CFW for alot other than Homebrew and uhh... "Not very legally obtained games"
     
  16. AsukaL1to

    AsukaL1to Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I'm kinda having the same issue except it got worse.

    I kept getting an error when injecting the payload, it kept saying "unknown pkg1" and "HOS version not supported"
    then it would put me in the hekate menu where all the settings could be changed.

    I asked on this forum what I could do to just boot into the stock switch system. I knew that you could do that by turning off auto RCM mode, but I asked if this would be fine with the errors I got. Someone told me it would be fine so I disabled auto RCM mode and powered off the switch through hekate. Then I tried to power it back on and the switch would not turn on.

    This is where I have been having a problem. After turning off auto RCM and powering off the switch through hekate, I can't seem to turn my switch back on. I tried holding the power button for 20 to 30 seconds and nothing happened, then tried going into rcm mode as I thought I could just reinject the payload through TegraRCM but my switch was never detected. Maybe its bc I am using the tinfoil and joycon method of the rcm mode which is kinda scuffed, but I've been trying to get rcm mode to work. Any help with this is greatly appreciated.

    Any Help with this is greatly appreciated.

    I tried searching around to see what others have done and apparently I should try removing the sd card then try booting it, but I'm not sure if this is safe considering the only way to boot the switch now is through a payload but idk.
    I'm just trying to get it back to the stock switch system while we wait for the new updates on Atmosphere.
     
  17. Burorī

    OP Burorī GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Belgium
    Probably the Joy-Con method
     
  18. AsukaL1to

    AsukaL1to Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that's probs the problem.

    Do you think if I disconnect the battery it'll kind reset everything and allow me to boot into the stock system, or just leave me in the same situation?
     
  19. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    818
    Country:
    Russia
    well, you can also use dns.mitm in atmos to block updates.. i see no reason to use 90dns anymore
     
  20. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    Germany
    Both are technically the same. Doesn't matter if i write 90dns or the feature from atmosphere.
     
    bad361 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Accidentally, clicked, without