Absolutely stuck - Old modded Wii needs updating/unhacking for Zelda

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by McBacon, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. McBacon
    OP

    Newcomer McBacon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys. Wonder if you could help point me in the right direction.

    My Wii is softmodded on 4.2E, and the Homebrew Channel is installed (but nothing else - the SD card I used got corrupted! Yikes!)

    I realise I'm a tad behind the curve, and worry that when Zelda appears on Friday (legit, PAL version) it will not run or, worse, brick my Wii.

    I'm wondering what's the best course of action? Should I update to the latest custom firmware, and how would I go about that?

    Or should I just unhack my Wii (not bothered - only used it for emulation, but can do that elsewhere now). How do I do that?

    Yes, very vague and unhelpful, I realise. It also has a Cyclowiz modchip installed (previous owner's), but I don't think that's doing much these days. I wouldn't worry too much about it.

    Thanks, I appreciate any guidance you can give me.
     
  2. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    You cannot remove any traces of hacking, so, just re-hack it using ModMii, it will update anything your missing, and generates a step by step guide
     
  3. McBacon
    OP

    Newcomer McBacon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks - looking good so far! Quite a long process, so I'll come back to it tonight.
     
  4. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    it's not that long, the whole process should take 20 minutes or less (not including the time it takes to make a nand backup)

    Anyways, good luck!
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. TiMeBoMb4u2

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    +1 for ModMii
     
  6. kylster

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    As XFlak said it's a 20minute process but might take longer since this is your 1st time updating. I know how people have the tendancy to look back and double check themself. After you done it a few times it'll only take about 15 mins. The only time you will need a Custom System Menu if you do not want to bother with having to rely on homebrew apps to update your wii; there are draw backs however these can be overcome by already known apps for windows or on the Wii itself.

    Custom System Menu Pros:
    • Can do an offical update whether disc or Wifi doesnt matter. Your system menu is what detects and deletes hacks so you will continually be safe when updating
    • keeps friends, family, children, or strangers from bricking your Wii if an update does occur
    • You never have to rely on homebrew to update your IOS again
    • No need to enable any more Priiloader hacsk :) some just dont like it albeit I don't know why....
    Custom System Menu Cons:
    • Some cIOS like 249 will STUB when updating. (this can be fixed by changing the version# to 65535 with homebrew like WiiMod3.0 or by ShowMiiWads via PC)
    • Boot2 will update to the latest (this is probably the biggest flaw here but I'm not concerned about it)

    If I left anything out let me know; the easiest and simplest way is still ModMii; I myself wont have time to keep updating the IOS of all the Wii's I've soft-mod and this method better suits them.
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    All those pro's kind of go out the window now that ninty's pretty much stopped putting out updates.
     
  8. Naguz

    Newcomer Naguz Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Norway
    I was really surprised they didn't bake in some new updates or AP measures in Skyward Sowrd. I was sure they were gonna do that. When they didn't use that opportunity to push system updates or AP measures, I guess it's safe to say they are too busy with Wii-U to mess up our old HW.
     
  9. lostdwarf

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I havent updated for a long time either but have no problem running anything so far (apart from my wbfs corruption problem lol),
    4.2 PAL CIOS10, bootmii, HBC, used modmii about 6 months ago to try get wiiplaymotion working but failed.
    would Skyward Sword work for me? in this case would I be better off trying to play from disc or should I give the USB loader a try?

    Also if I like this game I will be purchasing it, will I have any problems playing from original disc?
     
  10. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    if u succeed in using ModMii on your Wii, it should be playable off of the original disc or usb-loader.
     
  11. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,325
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    If you have Priiloader/Bootmii installed, you can tell the Wii to bypass all mandatory disc and online updates, as you will be able to play any new games without forcing you to update to the latest firmware. That's what I did.
     
  12. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    it should be noted that simply blocking update doesn't guarantee all games are playable. The IOS the game requires must also be installed (doesn't need to necesarily be the latest version of that IOS though)
     
  13. TiMeBoMb4u2

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    True... And for first-time WM+ users, you'll need to IOS Reload Block on some games.
     
  14. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    with the latest versions of usb-loaders running v6 d2x cIOSs have block IOS reload set to auto, so no need to even worry about that :D
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. lostdwarf

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry just remembered my wii jargon...

    do I need a different ios for zelda?

    what was the latest one? ios, not cios.
     
  16. Naguz

    Newcomer Naguz Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Norway
    I'd just install the latest HBC, then do an official Wii System Menu, then redo the HackMiiInstaller to reinstall bootmii. Then you can install the latest version of your favourite USB loader, an the latest d2x vrsion availible from the d2x installer you run on the Wii (d2xv7b1 or something). I believe that is close to the best (and easiest, as setting for absolutely most games are autodetected) setup to have currently.
     
  17. kylster

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Didn't Nintendo mention they are going to release a new Wii w/o gamecube support and wouldn't this require a new update?

    Here is the source however I believe it was being discussed on here. Also I would rather not take the chance of someone bricking my Wii cause they feel it needs to be updated LoL
     
  18. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't think that will require an update... GC loading is controlled by the MIOS, so if anything I figure that would be stubbed or something. This is all speculation and I wouldn't be surprised to find myself corrected in later posts :P
     
  19. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    The new model was released a while ago and doesn't use any different software than a regular wii.
     

Share This Page