Absolute moron n00b GClauncher/Mios questions....

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by hippyman, Feb 26, 2009.

Feb 26, 2009
  1. hippyman
    OP

    Newcomer hippyman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Howdo lovely GBAtemp type folk smile.gif

    Couple of stone cold absolute no brainer questions regarding the gclauncher & Mios patcher....

    1) Can you uninstall/unpatch the Mios? If so using which app etc?

    2) Would peeps reccomend a wad file launcher or via HBC? If so why?

    Cheers in advance folks smile.gif Thankyouplease!
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    1) To uninstall the cMIOS just install the MIOS of your choice in wad form via WAD Manager. v4 might be a good choice, all gamecube games should work fine with it and action replay should have no problems with it too.
    2) I don't know if there is even a difference. I thought if you launch it via the disc channel it loads the gclauncher inside the MIOS, which should result in exactly the same loading as with the loader directly. I don't think you get the GREAT compatibily increase you get for Wii games with cioscorp if you launch gamecube backups via the disc channel.
     
  3. john25usa

    Newcomer john25usa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Australia
    ive got a n00bish question as well. i know that in CMIOS the "C" is for custom and the "IOS" is for input output system, but what does the "M" stand for?
     
  4. twofive

    Member twofive GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Poland
    IOS stands for Initial Operating System, not Input Output System.
     
  5. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,940
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    No it IS Input/output system, like BIOS = Basic Input/ Output system
     
  6. john25usa

    Newcomer john25usa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Australia
    that doesnt tell me what the "M" in CMIOS stands for
     
  7. BMasterP

    Member BMasterP GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    DOESBURG
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Mintendo [​IMG] they just spelled it wrong
     
  8. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,940
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    MIOS = modular input/output system
    at least I think
     
  9. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    FUN FACT: A modem is called a modem because it MOdulates and DEModulates.
    So Modular Input/Output System might be right.

    Isn't MIOS IOS257 or 254?
     
  10. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah when I was looking at it, its just a basic IOS, I never checked if there was an ID
     
  11. john25usa

    Newcomer john25usa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Australia
    254 is patchmii and 257 is non existant. if you know an bit of programming you would konw that a byte is the numbers 0-255. obviously the ammount of ios slots in the wii is in a byte meaing there is no ios 257. and i suck at explaining things i know
     

Share This Page