About to tear my hair out

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mafoose, Jun 5, 2009.

Jun 5, 2009

About to tear my hair out by mafoose at 9:10 PM (2,017 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. mafoose
    OP

    Newcomer mafoose Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Wii that started out as v3.1u, the DVD drive is toast.
    I bannerbombed and got HBC installed.

    Played some snes9x and whatever. That all works.

    Tried installing USB Loader 1.5 with cIOS38 rev13b.
    Everything installed fine.
    BUT No backups boot.

    Followed this:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=144835

    And got sysmenu 4.0u installed. Followed everything to the "T", and everything installed without fuss.
    Reinstalled USB Loader and still nada, except Super Paper Mario gets "Exception (DIS) occurred!".
    Nothing else even tries to boot through USB loader (screen stays black).
    BTW this is with cIOS36 rev10.

    Followed the same tutorial and revert to 3.2u.
    (beforehand I run cIOS Uninstaller, and AnyTitleRemoverMOD to delete IOSs 249 and the USB Loader channels)
    Again, everything installs without a hitch.

    The guide uses IOS36 rev10, so I install the original USB Loader 1.5.
    Still NOTHING BOOTS VIA USB!!!

    Any ideas??
    How do I "start fresh" without internet? If that's not doable, should I just get a wireless router and do update? Will that clear ALL of the cIOSs installed and patched ones as well?
    I'd like to start from the very beginning. I don't mind bannerbombing it again and starting from scratch.
    Is this the only way to go "factory fresh" without a DVD drive?
    Any other ideas I should try before I do this?
    Or should I put the Wii in an SNES case and call it done?
     


  2. Tagg7

    Member Tagg7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    United States
    Just try installing cIOS rev11 and then use USB Loader 1.5 from the HBC (rev13 is unstable imo). When you say nothing boots via USB, what exactly happens when you open USB Loader? Are you using games that are the same region as your system?
     
  3. Heiopeio

    Newcomer Heiopeio Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Germany
    u know that some games will not boot from usb without a working dvd drive?
     
  4. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need to install the usb loader everytime you want to just test it. Try just using the .dol of it from the hbc to test before installing channels and such of it.

    Also getting to a point of "starting fresh" alone will probably just be harder than continuing from where you are now. Updating will not touch any cIOS, only the normal IOS's will be updated and you probably don't want that.

    What wbfs manager are you using to put games on your hard drive?
    And the usb loader you tried sees those games, but just doesn't load them properly?
    And since you say you don't have a router did you install the cios's via a wad installation?
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Stop that updating and downgrading! That's absolutely useless.

    The only factors that matter for usb loading are(in that order):
    - The used port. cIOSrev12 and up require you to use the top port, for all other cIOS it does not matter
    - The installed cIOS. You can only have one installed at the same time.
    - The enclosure
    - The used loader. No need to reinstall 100x times, no real difference if started via channel or from HBC
    - The method how you got the games on the HDD, via wbfs manager or via loader
    - The HDD


    Everything else has 0 influence on the loading, so stop messing with your firmware, especially when you have NO idea what you are doing.
     
  6. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    how about you post what actually happens that the usb backups don't boot..
     
  7. Dinoguy

    Member Dinoguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe its just your drive?
    Some kinds of hds need to be plugged out then in or some other ways to get to work, but if it actually sees them it might be something else maybe the iso?
     
  8. Dinoguy

    Member Dinoguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the doublepost ,but I found your solution!
    I started having the same problem with my maxtor 250 gb drive ever since I installed cios rev10 into my wii and that was yesterday,but with my other cios(I forget which it was but I think it was 9) I could load games fine.Try reinstalling cios rev 9.
    I figure rev10 has less compatibality than rev9.
    Edit:sorry i had it the other way around I installed rev 9 from some other rev that was lower.try that?
     
  9. Eagle687

    Newcomer Eagle687 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    And I keep preaching : Rev9 + UsbLoader GX.

    And I keep considering all following Revs as betas 'til now.
     
  10. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    How many wii's are you basing your bible on ?
     
  11. True Grit

    Newcomer True Grit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Don't forget about game compatability. I wonder what games this dude is using.
     
  12. Eagle687

    Newcomer Eagle687 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    > How many wii's are you basing your bible on ?

    My own [​IMG] No ego here, just an opinion.


    And I don't see many people bugging with Rev9.
     
  13. mafoose
    OP

    Newcomer mafoose Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Super Paper Mario and Puzzle Quest should work.
    Madworld I heard is iffy, and requires newer IOSs (such as IOS38, 53, 55) installed, which are.
     
  14. mafoose
    OP

    Newcomer mafoose Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I am a total n--b at this, but not at the modding scene. I've done (long ago) PSXs, PS2s, Xbox, 360s, DSs, but this is my Wii cherry, and it's been a bitch.
     
  15. Eagle687

    Newcomer Eagle687 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    You seem to know your business. Can you still try with another USB device if possible ?
     
  16. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah, still sounds like your usb device just doesn't fully work @ the wii, it can be quite strange [​IMG] Try another datastick or external usb drive. The fact that you can install them @ pc with wbfs manager doesn't say much..
     
  17. ineedhelpbad

    Newcomer ineedhelpbad Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Chicago IL USA
    Country:
    United States
    As some people who tried to remove their dvd drive to make room for a hard drive found out. USB LOADER NEEDS A DVD DRIVE TO WORK. if your drive is toast (and not just a bad laser or other non essential part ) usb loader will not work no matter what.
     
  18. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well as long as he didn't remove the drive etc I wouldn't necessarily say it was that dramatic.. He's using some 16gb drive, he needs to try some proper usb drive first. (or another datastick..)
     
  19. ineedhelpbad

    Newcomer ineedhelpbad Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Chicago IL USA
    Country:
    United States
    Well he said his drive was toast. So what seems more likely, that both his usb drives fail to load games at all but work fine for other homebrew apps or that his dvd drive is causing the problems. And if i remember correctly just leaving the controller board connected didn't work either you needed the whole dvd drive for usb loader to work. I think it has something to do with the way the cios reroutes dvd read commands.
     
  20. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah, would make sense.. he doesn't reply much tho (only three posts) so would be nice if he could tell us more [​IMG] (what happened to the drive n such)
     

Share This Page