Hacking About the swapfile...

strata8

Look! A pointless distraction!
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2007
Messages
616
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
over there
Website
Visit site
XP
148
Country
Can M3Sakura use it like an external RAM pack, but in things such as the Opera Browser? If it could... that would just be awesome...

Quick! Someone test it!
 

sjones900

GBAtemp Advanced Member
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
811
Trophies
0
Location
TX
XP
525
Country
United States
when I set my EZ v 3in1 to ram mode m3 sakura on booting it say 16mb ram expansion detected but thats about it
 

strata8

Look! A pointless distraction!
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2007
Messages
616
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
over there
Website
Visit site
XP
148
Country
Actually I meant this file:
swapfile.jpg


I was wondering if the Opera Browser could use it as a substitute to an external RAM pack, like Sakura does.

EDIT: Just tested it, it doesn't work. Maybe they could implement it in a future update?
 

sjones900

GBAtemp Advanced Member
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
811
Trophies
0
Location
TX
XP
525
Country
United States
maybe that would be awsome but when I bought my 3in1 it said double official 32mb ram pack that would mean 64mb but it isn't its 16mb so if this gives more ram then normal then that would be great
 

thedicemaster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
2,432
Trophies
0
XP
303
Country
Netherlands
the swapfile would be impossible to use for opera browser.
a microSD can already barely keep up with the reading/writing of roms.
adding ram reading/writing to that would make it so slow it would instantly freeze.
 

bustyman100

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
60
Trophies
0
XP
45
Country
New Zealand
I think Nintendo should consider releasing some kind of co-processor/ram pack for slot 2, kind of like how some n64 games needed the ram expansion pack for enhanced graphics. Hell, may be they can just use the opera browser ram as an option for improved graphics in new games. 4 MBs ram ain't so flash these days.
 

Originality

Chibi-neko
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,708
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
London, UK
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
1,820
Country
If I remember rightly, some N64 games did need the RAM expansion for graphics, whilst some needed it to work in the first place. However, some games (like SSB) slowed down to crap and occaisionally crashed completely when it was left in. There's probably a similar problem with NDS.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    euamotubaina tempBOT: euamotubaina has left the room.