1. strata8

    OP strata8 Look! A pointless distraction!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    617
    Country:
    Can M3Sakura use it like an external RAM pack, but in things such as the Opera Browser? If it could... that would just be awesome...

    Quick! Someone test it!
     
  2. sjones900

    sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    811
    Country:
    United States
    when I set my EZ v 3in1 to ram mode m3 sakura on booting it say 16mb ram expansion detected but thats about it
     
  3. strata8

    OP strata8 Look! A pointless distraction!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    617
    Country:
    Actually I meant this file:
    [​IMG]

    I was wondering if the Opera Browser could use it as a substitute to an external RAM pack, like Sakura does.

    EDIT: Just tested it, it doesn't work. Maybe they could implement it in a future update?
     
  4. sjones900

    sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    811
    Country:
    United States
    maybe that would be awsome but when I bought my 3in1 it said double official 32mb ram pack that would mean 64mb but it isn't its 16mb so if this gives more ram then normal then that would be great
     
  5. thedicemaster

    thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,431
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the swapfile would be impossible to use for opera browser.
    a microSD can already barely keep up with the reading/writing of roms.
    adding ram reading/writing to that would make it so slow it would instantly freeze.
     
  6. bustyman100

    bustyman100 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I think Nintendo should consider releasing some kind of co-processor/ram pack for slot 2, kind of like how some n64 games needed the ram expansion pack for enhanced graphics. Hell, may be they can just use the opera browser ram as an option for improved graphics in new games. 4 MBs ram ain't so flash these days.
     
  7. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,707
    Country:
    If I remember rightly, some N64 games did need the RAM expansion for graphics, whilst some needed it to work in the first place. However, some games (like SSB) slowed down to crap and occaisionally crashed completely when it was left in. There's probably a similar problem with NDS.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted