About GBA Emulation -Don't get mad, hear me out.

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Arneshie, Aug 29, 2010.

Aug 29, 2010
  1. Arneshie
    OP

    Newcomer Arneshie Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello, this is my first post. Anyways, i had an idea.
    Does anyone remember, MEGAMAN ZERO Collection? the NDS game which contained 4 GBA games? Well i was just thinking, it's a port, right? Well why don't we port some of the best GBA Games or something, or create some sort of software to port a GBA game to NDS? Wouldn't that work? Sorry if this is a really bad idea, but dont flame me please!! Im just thinking here [​IMG]

    Thanks for your time! [​IMG]
     
  2. wessel261

    Newcomer wessel261 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Netherlands
    every gba game is compiled differently
    'nuff said
     
  3. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Sorry, but due to internal hardware differences in the DS and GBA, this is impossible.
     
  4. Arneshie
    OP

    Newcomer Arneshie Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh i see, thanks.
    Err to the second person who posted, if the hardware differences are so great, how come Megaman Zero Collection can run? im just asking, cause i already know an EMULATOR wont work, but im talking about porting a game.
     
  5. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    It would be possible...

    But seeing how difficult it is to get a game translated (little code editing then script translation), I don't see a group of people --all of whom have the editing skills needed to port the game-- staying together on the project long enough.
     
  6. Zood!

    Newcomer Zood! Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah right... you go ahead, and if you're half-way done, the rest joins in :wtf:
     
  7. Sülf

    Newcomer Sülf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Germany
    GBA: the cardridge is pluged on the same bus as the ram, it has a high bandwight.
    NDS: the Slot1 cartridge has its own bus, but slower as the ram bus of the GBA. But GBA games needs this fast bus, so you need to put the whole rom in the ram of the NDS, but the ram without expansion isn´t big enough. As for professional ported games from GBA to NDS, they rewrote the access system and the filepointers and compiled it, because of that, simply injecting a other rom wont work, because every rom is different, with different filepointers and so on...

    AFIAK

    someone correct me if i´m wrong [​IMG]
     
  8. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Also in order to " port " a game you need the SOUCE code and only the original developers have it.
    Without the SAUCE, (source code ) no code to work with=no port.
     
  9. link491

    Member link491 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    cant you get the source by unpacking the rom?
     
  10. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Most of the time, the source is encrypted to keep hackers out.
     
  11. Supersonicmonk

    Member Supersonicmonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Cymru
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm pretty sure that a small team could eventually port a GBA game to the DS and do a pretty good job of it but it would take a hell of a long time and no one would want to spend that much effort when other better options exist like slot 2 cards. OK DSi owners will loose out and have to resort to emulation but im sure most people would prefer work going into emulation which could be used for all GBA games instead of porting a single one
     
  12. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Compiling an app and encrypting something are two entirely different things.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No.
     
  14. dan80315

    Member dan80315 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    DSTWO can emulate GBA ROMS can't it? I believe there's also a team making an n64/PS1 emulator as well for said flashcart.
     
  15. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    The DS is completely capable of playing GBA games on it's own. Problem is hardware config. Anything Pre-DSi, you're better off with am Expansion port. DSi, get a Supercard. Other methods require way too much hardware adjusting to be worthwhile.
     
  16. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Capcom made the original MMZ games. They are fully capable of recreating their own game. Which is why MMZC exists.
    And you can't really port a game without having the code (read emphasis in last sentence).
     
  17. Warrior522

    Member Warrior522 "In all things, balance."

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    826
    Country:
    United States
    Link please?
     
  18. Bunie

    Member Bunie #1 Princess

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Pleasureville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    the DS cannot emulate 64. if the card has a rather fast processor built into it, that runs its own process to interpret and convert the 64 rom on-the-fly, fast enough to be playable, a card like that would cost ALOT of money, more than the DSTWO.
     

Share This Page