A/V selector

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Magus19, May 28, 2007.

May 28, 2007

A/V selector by Magus19 at 7:28 PM (1,005 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. Magus19
    OP

    Member Magus19 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Canada,Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm looking for an audio video selector to switch consoles on the fly. I have one with 4 outputs but I'm looking for a bigger one with at least 8 outputs but 10 would be best. I don't want to put two togetter because of the loss of quality. I looked everywhere and couldn't find anything so if you have one or saw one only please tell me, Thanks!
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,736
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Multiple devices on one TV I take it (your use of the word output confused me).

    Assuming standard definition and you not being willing to make your own I suggest a scart switching box, this is one of those get what you pay for areas both in terms of quality and features: more expensive have either (limited) auto switching or add another remote to the collection.

    10 outputs places you squarely in professional range with a professional pricetag to boot (an entry level 10 way will run you about 3 times that of a really nice 4 way). I am not familiar with Canadian shops/websites so I do not know how much justice I can do this.

    Here is a 6 input:
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?Module...rce=14&doy=28m5

    If you are willing to up the ante a bit a media "hub" should also work:
    http://www.cybermarket.co.uk/ishop/923/shopscr5966.html

    To be fair though it might just be easier in the long haul to swap by hand and use any video/dvd player/recorder inputs for consoles while saving the TV for the DVD player and stuff like that.
     
  3. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fast, do these A/V switchers have any effect on quality?
     
  4. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    I got some A/V Selector from Blockbuster -- Can't remember who made it, but it's a 6 or 7 system input, and there's been ZERO quality loss [​IMG] It's excellent if you have tons of AV hookups! - Was only $20
     

Share This Page