A small mod turns your R4 into an M3 Simply!

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Opium, Jan 7, 2007.

Jan 7, 2007
  1. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia








    A small mod turns your R4 into an M3 Simply!

    Hardware virtually identical







    Bridging one point on the circuit board mods your R4 into an M3. This mod can also be performed vice-versa, changing your M3 into an R4. The M3 team have responded saying that the M3 Simply is sold by them and the R4 by their factory.


    [​IMG]


    If you feel like you aren't happy with cart the way it is take a look at the above diagram to see how simple this modification really is. After performing this mod you will be able to install the competing cart's firmware onto your device. There is also a way to turn your cart from Chinese version into English.



    [​IMG] Source
     
  2. azndragonguy115

    Member azndragonguy115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    so i just put the solder on the bridge

    can i undo it?
     
  3. RefiX

    Newcomer RefiX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    France
    Just remove the solder [​IMG]
     
  4. Hypnotoad

    Member Hypnotoad GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Space.
    Country:
    United States
    easiest.mod.ever [​IMG]

    haha
     
  5. wohoo

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hard to believe it's true, but i trust you opium [​IMG] maybe it's time to get a slot 1 device pretty soon.
     
  6. jtroye32

    Member jtroye32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    that pisses me off. they're just releasing modified versions of the same thing for profit!!!
     
  7. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
  8. TheStump

    Member TheStump Got Wood?

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Country:
    Australia
    I wonder if you buy a Chinese R4 now you can just solder that point to turn it into a English R4, then solder the other point to turn that into a M3.


    Chinese R4 = $29.99(USD)
    to
    English R4 = $34.99(USD)
    to
    Chinese M3 slot 1 = $??? expensive
    to
    English M3 slot 1 = $??? even more expensive!

    i think we have found a winner.

    I wonder what the other two area's do then?
     
  9. Tir

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia
    Scandal! Yeah, if you even have the slightest bit of soldering experience I guess it would make sense to just buy the cheapest Chinese version and change it to whatever the hell you want. Pretty sneaky of M3 to think they could get away flogging off the same product twice.
     
  10. tetsuya

    Member tetsuya GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Inside my house
    Country:
    Where do you guys see the r4 for 30$? I bought the 40$ one at gameyeeeah last week. Now I just need a m3.
     
  11. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It's not surprising. A lot of chip makers do this sort of thing. It ends up being cheaper for the company because they only have one production line, all they have to do is apply one bit of solder to turn one product into another.
     
  12. Madrigal

    Member Madrigal GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Victoria, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    So how would I turn the Chinese version to English? I'm in Beijing right now and if it's just as easy, I'll pick up a Chinese M3 Simply while I'm here.
     
  13. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    ^Click on the picture, it will show you how. You have to unsolder a point.
     
  14. Madrigal

    Member Madrigal GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Victoria, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    The pic only says how to turn the English version into Chinese (why you would want to do that, I don't know [​IMG] ). I assume I would do the opposite to turn the Chinese into English (IE: solder that point instead of unsoldering)?
     

Share This Page