a good disc size

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by iFish, Jul 12, 2009.

Jul 12, 2009

a good disc size by iFish at 9:35 PM (1,940 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    hey guys i was crious what size of a dvd-r is a good size i have a 4.7 and its not big enough and someone please tell me a good size
     


  2. mousex

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    There are not that many sizes [​IMG] 4,7Gb is right, just enable features like Overburning in Nero or simply use Imgburn.
     
  3. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    4.7 too small? its standard. the only game you willl need dual layered discs are for super smash brothers brawl.
     
  4. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    i tried b urning guitare hero smash hits and itt needs umm let me check 4.37 gb but when i tryied to burn it it says you need like 100 more mb and my dvd-r on the front says 4.7 but on the pc when its empty it says 4.17 free space and 200 and something used when i didnt even load anything on it i even formatted it

    Posts merged

    is there anything bigger in store im going to best buy tommrow to pick up a new wirless router and when there ill pick up a new batch of dics whatt do you guys recomend

    Posts merged


    is there anything bigger in store im going to best buy tommrow to pick up a new wirless router and when there ill pick up a new batch of dics whatt do you guys recomend
     
  5. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    With imageburn, you can just let it ignore it..
     
  6. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    i tried imgburn and it wonmt let me write
     
  7. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    and i dont know how to use img burn i use write to dics then chose the iso i wanted and the write part isnt in color so i cant click it
     
  8. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you said you formatted it that may be the problem try using a brand new dvd-r not a formatted dvd-rw or dvd-r and you shouldn't have a problem

    dvds only come in one size 4.7 gb dual layer dvds come in only one size 9.4 gb or something like that you only need to use regular dvds unless you are going to burn off super smash bros. which is a dual layer dvd
     
  9. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    4.7gb = Single Layer DVD

    8.54gb = Dual Layer DVD

    Most Wii games are Single Layer 4.7gb sized!

    With the exception of the odd couple one that springs to mind is SUPER SMASH BROS BRAWL (due to the amount and size of videos the game contains)

    Although a Single Layer 4.7gb version exists in the backup world with a video removed and relinked to another one to make it fit the standard Single Layer disk [​IMG]

    edit


    did you put a blank dvd in the drive ?? It will remain greyed out or unusable until a disk is inserted [​IMG]
     
  10. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    ok ill tyr that with my other 500 dvd-r of the same kind never touched
     
  11. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    ok now its writing thanks for the advice now im not gonna formate ever again why did that happen
     
  12. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you tried formatting a dvd-r when formatting is for dvd-rw
     
  13. Benjay

    Member Benjay Hardstyle Addict

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Amiens
    Country:
    France
    how is it possible to formate a dvd-r ?? [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  14. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    i have no idea but the pc asked me to and i didnt know it was bad
     
  15. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you cant....
     
  16. mousex

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    Microsoft Windows Vista can... (it's still useless, but it is possible...)
     
  17. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah im on stupid windows vista [​IMG] but now im getting disc erro 324 on the gamme channel
     
  18. Benjay

    Member Benjay Hardstyle Addict

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Amiens
    Country:
    France
    yeah , i was kidding ^^
     
  19. iceache

    Member iceache GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    you need better media
     
  20. Spidy1000

    Member Spidy1000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Use Verbatim DVD-R or +R with bitsetting to DVD-ROM and burn @ 4x to be safe
     

Share This Page