A few questions (I'm new to softmodding)

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by cooliver69, Jan 31, 2012.

Jan 31, 2012
  1. cooliver69
    OP

Newcomer cooliver69 Newbie

United States
    Solved

Last edited by cooliver69, Feb 22, 2016
  2. Foxi4

Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

pip
    Poland
    Softmod your Wii using ModMii to ensure that all your IOS'es are up to date and proper cIOS'es are installed, then install USB Loader GX, WiiFlow or Configurable USB Loader. Neogamma is typically for playing disc backups as far as I know.

3. cooliver69
    OP

United States
    I used letterbomb + hackmii + prii loader to hack my wii. If I try to use modmii will it mess anything up? Do I need to undo what I did first? Is using modmii as safe as using priiloader? Is it easy to brick your wii using modmii?

4. Kittymat

Member Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United Kingdom
    It will mess up nothing. Run the wizard on the PC and call your wii a virgin one. It will download everything you need, inc a guide

5. Taleweaver

Member Taleweaver Storywriter

Belgium
    Why are people still using that program? It hasn't been updated in years!

Here's the thing...over 2 years ago, it became possible to use a normal, FAT32 drive on a wii, which means you won't have to screw around with that WBFS partitioning that windows just loves to erase. Later on, it became possible to use NTFS as well, though that's not quite as popular, as most other homebrew work just on FAT32.

The thing is: iso's still needed to be converted (unless you were using NTFS). This new partitioning was called .wbfs (note the dot to indicate the extension: it's a file called game.wbfs). WBFS manager remained unchanged, but other programs like wii backup manager did the job just as well.