Hacking A few questions from a Noob

bobafett4ever

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
NC
Website
Visit site
XP
21
Country
United States
Ugh, I hate the term noob. But in this case I'm fairly close to that when it comes to my M3. I've played around with it a lot, but there is a lot I don't know.

I am not sure this is the correct place for these questions, so please forgive me if I am posting this in the wrong place. It seemed appropriate since this has to do with software.

Here are my questions, problems...

I have an M3 with a 4 Gb Kingston chip. I loaded Sakura 1.11 on it and it boots up fine. I can play all my "back up" roms as well as view pics, play mp3s and even watch videos. (Yes, I had to convert the .mpeg files to the .dpg using Super C - but it does work.)

My problems though are that I can't get movies to work. An example is my daughter wanted me to put Aquamarine on the DS for an upcoming trip. I extracted the .VOB files using DVDDecrypter but I can't get the .VOB to convert to .dpg using Super C. It crashes and fails on me every time. I was able to do the first 3 chapters of the Clone Wars cartoon, but after that it too crashes each time. It is weird cause I had no problem from .mpeg to .dng, and I can do some .VOB to .dpg

On a different note, I am unable to play any homebrew games. I've d/l about 10 homebrews and each one hangs up Sakura. Not sure why? Is it possily something with Sakura. I didn't try the games on the prior software I was running (whatever came with the M3 card).

Thanks for any help.
 

daisun

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
69
Country
I'm not familiar with the vob format, but a quick google tells me that its just a mpeg file (from wikipedia). The only thing I can suggest is to make sure you have the correct codecs to view the files you want to convert. If you cant even watch the videos you wont be able to convert them.

Also regarding the games. I too am running Sakura on M3 and I have a quite a few games on my card and they all run just fine. If you dont mind you may want to post the games you've tried so other forum members may be able to check if those specific games are problematic.
 

bobafett4ever

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
NC
Website
Visit site
XP
21
Country
United States
Thanks for the quick response Daisun.
Here's the breakdown of the games:
Acromage, Balance, BlOOps, Tales of Dagur, BreakOutMania, Daemon, Drummer, Geografika, GeoWars, and PairsDS.
When I unzip them, they all seem to have a .ds.gba, .nds, and some even have a .sc.nds file. I've put all of them into the NDS folder and I've tried just the .sc.nds and .nds files, but I either get a blank white screen, or what appears to be some sort of MSDos looking file check (can't remember the exact error or wording atm) and it freezes up.

Also, for the movies, I don't know why, for instance, on the Clone Wars I can get some of the .vob files to convert but not others. Does anyone convert their DVDs to watch on the DS? (Makes it great for the kids for trips!)

Thanks in advance!
 

daisun

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
69
Country
I just tried Geometry Wars Galaxies and it all seems to work fine. Maybe the games are corrupt? You only need the .nds file but having the others on your card shouldn't matter either.

With the video encoding the only other thing i can think of is maybe your computer ran out of memory?

Sorry cant help much hopefully some other people will have some input.
 

krazykirk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2007
Messages
399
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Australia
Website
Visit site
XP
106
Country
When you try to run homebrew, you only need the .nds file, since you are using a slot 1 card. The .ds.gba format is for a slot 2 card, and the sc.nds is for the supercard. (I think..)

You could try converting the dvd/vob file into another format first, such as mpg or avi, and then try to convert it to dpg from there.
 

strata8

Look! A pointless distraction!
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2007
Messages
616
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
over there
Website
Visit site
XP
148
Country
The unofficial hacked version of Sakura doesn't run homebrew properly. Look in the M3 Sakura FAQ and download the triple-boot loader. From there you can boot into the iTouchDS firmware to run homebrew. It's not perfect, but it's all we have until the official release of Sakura comes out.
 

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
4,355
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Georgia
XP
479
Country
United States
krazykirk said:
When you try to run homebrew, you only need the .nds file, since you are using a slot 1 card. The .ds.gba format is for a slot 2 card, and the sc.nds is for the supercard. (I think..)
Right, the *.sc.nds file is actually just a renamed *.ds.gba file. It's renamed because the slot-2 Supercards used to require the *.ds.gba files but needed them to be named *.nds in order to launch in DS mode. The *.sc.nds format was thus created to separate it from regular *.nds files. Mostly deprecated now since they run normal *.nds files anyway.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Not exactly 3D but the colors does pops out more
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    I just want a true dark mode theme
    for OLED Switch
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    yeah honestly i hate how the only two switch theme options are blinding holy light of god or grey
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    Kill eyes OR bore eyes to death
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    switch dark mode is ok i just wish it was a bit darker
    Gift
  • F @ Forseenink3938:
    Can anyone here please help me on how to use TickCrypt 2.0?
    Gift
    F @ Forseenink3938: Can anyone here please help me on how to use TickCrypt 2.0?