A few questions about the CycloDS.

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by CatScam, Jul 4, 2007.

Jul 4, 2007
  1. CatScam
    OP

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    I’ve had a few friends asking me about the CycloDS interface & was hoping someone could clear up a few things.


    1. From the few videos I’ve seen the CycloDS always boots into the DS screen. Can the CycloDS boot directly into the boot screen with the 3 icons? Or do you always have to tap the screen to get to it.

    2. The CycloDS only shows a selection of 4 games at a time. Is there a way to have it show 10 to 15 available games per page like the R4 or SC-Mini?

    3. What kind of save system is the CycloDS using? One like the M3 were it saves first to the battery then SD card, or more like the SC directly to the SD card.



    Thanks for the info. [​IMG]
     


  2. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    1. It can boot directly if you enable auto-boot DS game in the DS firmware.

    2. They are working on a list-based menu as well (so it will resemble the moonshell layout).

    3. Direct to card save, like the R4.

    In other news, my new CDSEVO doesn't work. Gotta get it replaced [​IMG]
     
  3. h8uthemost

    Member h8uthemost GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
    Did you just receive your Evo, or have you had it for a while? And are you getting it replaced through TC or the site you got it from?
     
  4. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    TC is doing it for me. Foolishly, I made him the deal that I would pay shipping registered (required) in exchange for the white shell so I can paint it. I probably shouldn't have seeing as registered parcel from Australia to their factory in Hong Kong is like 13 USD.
     
  5. h8uthemost

    Member h8uthemost GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
    So did it arrive to you defective? And he's sending you back the shell the pcb came in? That's pretty cool.
     
  6. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    It arrived from gp2xstore.com defective, but I'm getting the replacement from the factory itself. I'm not very ticked off at postage times, seeing as the cyclo evolution came from the US in 5 days, which is very surprising for the cheapest shipping there.

    I made him the deal to keep the shell, and send only back the PCB in the tin and foam with the arrangement that they would not need to reimburse shipping fees.

    I'm going to paint it black later, so hopefully this turns out well.
     
  7. h8uthemost

    Member h8uthemost GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, please post after you're done painting it. I'm interested to see how it comes out. There's one cart of mine that I would like to paint.
     
  8. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    My new recommendation - do not paint it.

    [​IMG]

    It hardly fits in my DS without the PCB, let alone with it (don't have it atm). I'm hoping this will be fixed when I've let the paint out for a few days - it feels slightly sticky at the moment, but I think that's the nature of the paint.

    In fact it is only difficult to remove because of the sticky/grippy feel.
     
  9. quartercast

    Member quartercast GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Australia
    What did you paint it with, tar? [​IMG]
     
  10. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Why would you paint the whole cart? When I get my navy blue ds lite, I'm just gonna paint the top side of the cart (the part that shows when it's in a ds).
     
  11. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes I figured I should do this with my next card [​IMG]

    It fits better now though!
     
  12. squall3031

    Member squall3031 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    Australia
    Does this card run Castlevania: PoR flawlessly unlike M3 DS simply? cuz I had m3 and the game constantly froze >
     
  13. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Still depends on the card.
     
  14. linkycat

    Newcomer linkycat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    It's strange all the reports you hear of different people getting different results with this cart. Strange that so much depends on what kind of memory you are using! Does this apply to all flashcarts? I have only ever used internal memory cards.
     
  15. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes it depends on the memory you are using, and it also depends on the card. I've heard the CycloDS Evo doesn't freeze using the Toshiba 2GB, but I can guarantee it does on the R4.

    Internal memory typically has no issues now with game speed/compatibility
     
  16. squall3031

    Member squall3031 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    Australia
    yes it usually depends on the micro sd card you are using.
    This made me sold my M3 DS simply to a friend and I plan to get G6 DS Real when the time comes (When i have enough money, that is)
     
  17. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    It doesn't freeze on the R4... At least thats what the wiki says.
     
  18. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    You mean here?
    http://wiki.scorpei.com/index.php/R4_compatibility_list

    Oh wait. It says it does freeze with the Toshiba/Kingston 2GB
     
  19. h8uthemost

    Member h8uthemost GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
  20. KunioKing

    Newcomer KunioKing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    what's the best slot 2 device for use with the CycloDS? my girlfriend LOST my DS-X so i'm looking to get a new slot-1 that kicks ass AND will work well with a SLOT 2 for emulators and GBA. any ideas? thanks. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page