Homebrew A few n00bish questions

~Russ~

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I have a few questions concerning SNES emulation on the DS. I'm sure they've been asked countless times before, but I'm pretty new to emulation on the DS, so give me some slack.

Anyways, as I understand it, there are certain SNES games (like Kirby Superstar, Yoshi's Island, Star Fox, etc.) that have a special chip that DS emulators can't run currently. Is this a problem that is expected to be resolved, or will the DS just never be able to emulate them?

My second question pertains to rom hacks, specifically, Super Mario World rom hacks. One or two of them will play on my DS (but with minor problems), while the rest either won't load, or break at the title screen. Is there something I'm doing wrong, or are SMW hacks just incompatible with the DS?

And lastly, EarthBound. It's one of my favorite games, but it has been showing some problems on my DS, mainly that layers appear wrong (any that are supposed to be above the player appear under him) and the bosses are horribly convoluted (the background appears on top of the screen). Once again, is there something I can do to fix this, or is it just an incompatible game?

Edit: Forgot to mention, I'm using an M3 with the GBA expansion, if it matters.

Flameburst

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Eh, for the 1st question, I have no idea, but I also have a M3 and the gba expansion and earthbound works great! You probably didn't set it to auto patch the game, the slower setting. When you start up, youll be at the loading screen for a while before it starts. Btw what firmware?

~Russ~

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I just had to auto patch it? Well, that could solve my other problem too. Thanks!