Hacking A few idea (plausibility check)

xil

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Let me preface this by saying I am not a programmer (except for a class on Java) but I may just try (and 99% likely fail) to learn by jumping in. Excuse my noobish-ness.
Now for the questions:

1) Waninkoko has a dvd dumper. There are many tools to package ISOs. There is a tool to scrub wii ISOs. Would it be possible to use the source code (where available) from several such applications to create a "one click" wii application that takes the wii game, dumps the files to a temp folder in an external hdd, packs an iso, and scrubs it. After that it would move the ISO into a /games folder or something of the sort, and clean up after itself.

2) Would it be possible to modify a current ISO Loader to read an ISO from an external hdd. This be extremely useful especially if the first tool was implemented. It would allow someone to dump a game to a hdd and play it whenever they chose without having to switch discs or burn ISOs. Does the source of the ISO have to be the wii disc drive, or does the fact that it is using an isoloader mean it can mount the image from anywhere?

3) If the answer to the above two questions are 'yes' how hard do you think (opinion) it would be to make these programs, or possibly integrate them into one useful tool for managing your backups?

grog.gif

djtaz

PM's Full - Wadder Me
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
1. lol ... lazy bastard
2. It is possible , but it hasnt been written as yet , a few are looking into it.
3. Good idea in fairness.

I remember reading about someone trying to get games to play from a HDD and it has been done by the big N so it is possible - they tried USB but its limited to usb1 and is too slow so they were checking out the wireless HDD option - again i think it may have been too slow , but a nas drive may be the solution with a cabled network.

xil

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
i AM a lazy bastard.