A few cyclods questions

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by nl255, Jul 4, 2008.

Jul 4, 2008

A few cyclods questions by nl255 at 8:34 PM (1,073 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. nl255
    OP

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    I am looking at upgrading to the CycloDS from my current R4 and I have a few questions. First, has the maximum of 127 codes for a cheat and a maximum of 256 cheats been removed in the latest firmware (see below)? Second, how well does the cheat engine work, does it work as well as the R4 one patched with r4bugfix2? Third, how well does real time saving work. Finally, how is homebrew compatability, is it at least as good as the R4?
     
  2. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    i dont know about the cheats as much, because i dont use them that much
    but Real Time Save works pretty good. sometimes it will be a bit glitchy and gets the game stuck
    but thats only if the game just came out and has some issues with the firmware
    the cyclo team usually fixes them in about 1 week anyway
    im pretty sure all or at least most homebrew is compatible since the cyclo itself has very good compatibility (with all games. its usually one of the carts that actually work when others dont).
     
  3. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheats on cyclods are pretty good! Until yesterday I've never had problems with cheats and homebrew. My micro is possibly damaged due to my own fault so I've started having problems with homebrew but don't let this put you off, just look at how many people have cyclods and are happy with it.

    Our cheat master are updating his cheat database daily, you don't need any patches or whatever for CycloDS.

    I don't use Real Time Save so I can't say any more.
     
  4. nl255
    OP

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    Yes, but I heard the cheat database for cyclods doesn't have as much stuff in it because there are limits on how many cheats there can be. Have you tried using the normal xml file with the cyclods and if so, does everything work?
     
  5. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's a limit? That's a first I heard about.

    XML file? I just download the cheat file from gbatemp (it get updated daily) and put it on the root of the card, then you are all set.
     
  6. nl255
    OP

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    By using the xml file I mean using cheat.xml instead of the special evocheat one.

    As for the limit, this is from the readme of 3-21-08.zip

    NOTE: Problem is there a cap on max codes for a cheat of 127 this cap has been asked to be upped be for. But there one more problem max codes can use is 256 and some cheats are pass this too.

    AFFE 7A99FB3C - Final Fantasy III (U)

    * All Items Maxed

    ADAE 636791C0 - Pokemon Diamond (USA)

    * Box 1 Mods (Start+Select) -> Hoenn Legends
    * Box 1 Mods (Start+Select) -> Invincible Team
    * Box 1 Mods (Start+Select) -> All Starters (Box 4)

    APAE 31D0AFDE - Pokemon Pearl (USA)

    * Box 1 Mods (Start+Select) -> Hoenn Legends
    * Box 1 Mods (Start+Select) -> Invincible Team

    BTW: If you do use this db, updating may miss some cheats as date/time are set to the day the dat was made.

    Thanks goes out to Cyclops for the info. It should help CycloDS users greatly.
     

Share This Page