A-Data or Kingston(Japan)

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by xCuteBunnyx, Mar 16, 2008.

Mar 16, 2008

A-Data or Kingston(Japan) by xCuteBunnyx at 2:23 AM (2,012 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. xCuteBunnyx
    OP

    Member xCuteBunnyx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    196
    Country:
    United States
    Is A-Data(4GB) or Kingston(2GB) better for the CycloDS?
    Thanks
     
  2. Jdbye

    Suspended Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    They're the same thing as far as I know, A-Data just uses Kingston's microSD's (like many others also do)
     
  3. amemoryoncelost

    Member amemoryoncelost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    whichever is cheaper??? [​IMG]
    did you decide on a cart yet?
     
  4. MystikEkoez

    Member MystikEkoez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    If both are true capacity, I would get the A-Data.
     
  5. xCuteBunnyx
    OP

    Member xCuteBunnyx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    196
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, thanks!
    I got a CycloDS : )!
     
  6. amemoryoncelost

    Member amemoryoncelost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    congrats! I've been enjoying mine, I think you'll like it. I would suggest picking up a rom organizer of some sort. I use rominator myself since it's the best one out for the mac right now, though there are other options, it's a nice piece of software! That way, keep track of everything, see box covers, easy transferring, even though I don't think it can get any easier in general.

    good luck
     
  7. xCuteBunnyx
    OP

    Member xCuteBunnyx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    196
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, but its still shipping : (.
    Hm..what would it be like if without a "rom organizer." Lol. I'm "technology challenged" so I have no idea what that is haha.
    How much would it cost ? o.O

    Hows your Cyclo going?
     
  8. amemoryoncelost

    Member amemoryoncelost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    oh and real quick, if you haven't ordered the memory card yet, here is a link to the a-data card at newegg for pretty cheap: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820211196

    the rom organizer is just that. It's a free(rominator is free) program you use to keep track of your games.
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=44909
    there is the link, take a look. It's like itunes for nds games. Once you get your games by whichever means, you add them to the program and it keeps track of them for you. I mean, obviously you could just keep all your games in a folder and just add as you please, but I like it this way. Just a suggestion.

    My cyclo, love it, much better than the ds-x I had. I'm about to fly out to montana for a week and got my foot tattooed, arrived just in time, should give me something to do since I can't have shoes on all day. [​IMG]
     
  9. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    In all my tests between the two, A-Data is faster. Actually the 2GB MiJ Kingston is pretty slow and does not hold up to the speed capabilities of 1GB and 512MB MiJ Kingston cards.
     
  10. sk3tch

    Member sk3tch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    lol so wrong it isn't even funny. Most Japan-made microSDs that are 2GB or smaller are TOSHIBA made. Not Kingston.

    As for the A-Data, look at my sig. That should answer your question. It's fast as hell and cheap. Even beats my Made in Japan 2GB Kingston handily.
     
  11. ExDee

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States
    A-DATA for me! it's fast and cheap
     
  12. cutterjohn

    Member cutterjohn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    648
    Country:
    United States
    A-Data now has an 8GB class 6 uSD SDHC card for $54.99 @ newegg. Their 4GB uSD SDHC card was $22.99 when I checked this morning, almost what I paid in November for my 3 2GB Kingston Japan uSDs... (I'd go with 2 4GB uSDs myself as they are slightly cheaper for 8GB...)

    uSD SDHC prices are dropping like a rock.
     
  13. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Picture of the card in the box says class4. Yesterday the item page listed it as class 4. Seems like they can't make up their mind.
     
  14. ndsloser

    Newcomer ndsloser Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 1GB Kingston but am quickly running out of space. [​IMG] Can anyone reccomend any international sellers for an A-data 4gb card? I know newegg is good but they don't ship to UK [​IMG]
     
  15. Seeker108

    Member Seeker108 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    Are 2gb Adata cards conformed to work properly with Castlevania POR? Were the tests Thorough?
     
  16. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have Kingston JAPAN version, IT works perfect with Castlevania
     

Share This Page