A couple of questions....

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by naglaro00, Jun 12, 2009.

Jun 12, 2009

A couple of questions.... by naglaro00 at 2:17 PM (1,028 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. naglaro00
    OP

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hello there... I'm new to this forum and I have some problems with my N5(don't worry, it's FIXED [​IMG])

    1.My problem is every time I want this game to be "recognized"(showing info and pic while selecting games) it doesn't and I have the reformat the cart's 8GB Sandisk SD card and put that game first so it will "recognize" the game. (I only want games to be "recognized" for cheat support)
    Is there anyway to make the cart recognize the game without reformatting the SD card?

    2.I installed YSMenu using R4YSAuto on the cart as an automatic executing .nds file and rom loading is fine except for "unrecognized" games. Is there a way to make YSMenu load unrecognized roms?

    Other info:
    Fixed N5DS
    1.28 firmware
    8GB Sandisk SD Card


    btw: forgive a noob for not searching the forums [​IMG]
    quick edit: don't tell me to get a better flashcart. I'm fine with my current cart
     
  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are these 'unrecognised' ROMs actually .nds files?
     
  3. naglaro00
    OP

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yes they are.
     
  4. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Obviously not or you wouldn't have made this thread.

    Anyway, is it possible that these ROMs are somehow corrupt? Try re-downloading them. Also are you using the Panasonic SD formatter? It does a better job than the default Windows formatter.
     
  5. naglaro00
    OP

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    OK I think I made my explanation unclear... sorry
    The roms aren't corrupt. They work fine. It's just that they don't have those banner thingies and you can't activate your cheats on them. They show up as 'Untitled'. As for the YSMenu problem... they don't work if they aren't "recognized". And yes I use the Panasonic SD formatter since it does better.
     
  6. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then I guess you found another reason why people shouldn't buy R4 clones. Let this thread be a warning against N5 cards.
     
  7. naglaro00
    OP

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    Oh well [​IMG]
    I just noticed something... 4GB of games can only be recognized D:
    Back to reformatting. [​IMG]
     
  8. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, R4 clones don't recognize games after it's 4gb full. That's why I just switched to a 4gb card with my R4 III.
     
  9. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    hmmm.. interesting facts that you guys have over there [​IMG]
    so is this just N5 and R4 III ?
     
  10. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I can assume so. Direct r4 clones it seems.
     

Share This Page