A couple of PSP questions

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by kristianity77, Apr 2, 2008.

Apr 2, 2008
  1. kristianity77
    OP

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Bewdley, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Having just aquired a slim PSP, which already has some kind of custom firmware on it. Everything so far seems good. I only have a 2 GB card but everything so far ive tried seems to run fine, but obviously this is not big enough.

    I understand the importance of getting a real card as opposed to a fake one, but do i need to look for anything else? If i pick up an official sony pro duo (was looking at the 16GB one) im not going to run the risk of speed issues with ISO's will i? Or is there indeed a card out there that i can buy which is better than the official one (Sandisk??)
     
  2. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't get bigger than a 4gb card ... not worth it, price-wise ... you can get 4 x 4gb cards, for less than the price of a 16gb card.

    No game is larger than about 1.5gb, anyway.
     
  3. kristianity77
    OP

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Bewdley, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i did think that, but then i dont really want to be carting around memory cards with me. But toher than the price, is there any other disadvantage with a 16GB card?
     
  4. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah ... a lot of people can't get their PSPs to read from anything larger than a 4gb ... also, a decent PSP case should have memory stick slots in it ... my clear hard case does, for instance.
     
  5. kristianity77
    OP

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Bewdley, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Really? hmmmm, i didnt know about the PSP's not liking cards over 4GB, ill have to look into that as i didnt realise there was a problem
     
  6. moozxy

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bought a 4gb one from ebay and I'm pretty sure it's fake. That being said everything I've put on there has worked. I think the only thing is the transfer speeds.. It sucks.
     
  7. SaltyDog

    Member SaltyDog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Good ole Phoenix...
    Country:
    United States
    What version is the firmware? DAX really cleaned up a lot of problems with reading larger than 4GB sticks. 8GB should work fine if you have 3.80 CFW or higher. And 8GB are relatively cheap. You can store a lot crap on a stick that size.
     
  8. kristianity77
    OP

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Bewdley, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its 3.80 M33-5 . thats what it was supplied with which i was promised was pretty recent. THe reason im asking about this is because quite a while ago a mate of mine dabbled into the psp scene and when i saw games running off his card they were awful, especially Liberty City. Ran like treacle. Something to do with his memory card so obviosuly if im going to invest in a large card, i dont want to run into the same issues etc
     
  9. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's a fix for 8gig memory sticks.
     
  10. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some cards don't like it when you run CSOs ... the compressed version of an ISO ... get a lot of slowdown ... you need to set your CPU to 333 ... that usually helps a lot.

    I have an 8gb, as well as many smaller cards, and it's okay ... but some folks have troubles ... really wouldn't wanna fork out for a 16gb and have it not work properly.
     
  11. kristianity77
    OP

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Bewdley, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    think i might opt for an 8 gig then for now and wait it out a bit
     
  12. phoood

    Member phoood taking it to a whole new level.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001
    Location:
    Jewgoslavia
    Country:
    United States
    usb 1.1 FTFL
     

Share This Page