a christmas disaster! random brick.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by vegeta4ss, Dec 24, 2009.

Dec 24, 2009
  1. vegeta4ss
    OP

    Member vegeta4ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Yesterday I was playing wii fit plus for about an hour (on usbloaderGX) and when I was done and returned to the system menu I was met with a "system files corrupted" message. I had not installed anything in a couple of days so I am not sure what the exact cause of the brick is. Last week I installed some wiiware titles and two of TroytheAnimatedZombie's emulator forwarder channels, but I moved all of that stuff to the sdcard except for the NES and SNES forwarder, and the USBloadergx forwarder. I have played the wii a lot since I installed that stuff with no problems so I am not sure if that is the cause of this message.

    I am on system menu 4.1U and I have a backup with bootmii as boot2. Preloader 0.29 is installed.

    I can access bootmii and preloader, but when I try to jump to homebrew channel I get nothing but a black screen. I would guess this means that the only way I can install any wads is to either do the smashstack by autobooting or by using preloader. I am not sure how preloader does with installing/uninstalling wads though. Most ppl say to use wad manager for recovery but I dont know how I can get to it if the autoboot thing does not work.

    I would like some input from others as to how I should proceed. I do not want to take inappropriate steps and make my situation worse.

    So, should I just recover with bootmii OR should I reinstall the system menu wad for 4.1U and hope for the best? Thanks to anyone who can help, I was going to take my wii to my parents house tomorrow so the whole family could play. So I hope I get this fixed. I dont have money to buy another today and hack it, lol.
     
  2. vegeta4ss
    OP

    Member vegeta4ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I was just able to access maintenance mode if that info helps any.
     
  3. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    since you got preloader installed and can't access HBC, put a wadmanger dol on the root of your sd card, install it in preloader and then load it, re-install your system menu wad...remember though, reinstalling a system menu will overwrite your preloader installation, so you will have to reinstall preloader afterwards
     
  4. vegeta4ss
    OP

    Member vegeta4ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I am in hombrew channel now that I accessed maintenance mode. Wad manager works too.

    what is the exact name of the 4.1u system menu wad that I need to look for? I know I need to use the NUSdownloader to make one. I just dont know what I am looking for. I have a 4.2U system menu wad file that is part of a package I was about to run on this thing.
     
  5. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I don't know if your Wii is connected to the Internet...if it is, simply use DOP-IOS MOD, and install/reinstall/update all your IOS, Channels and your Systemmenu (4.1 is the best one btw, I would recommend that one). Your Wii will then be like new, and if the problems still happen, it's caused by an installed Channel.

    Oh, and don't forget to install Priiloader (notice the two "ii". It's better than Preloader, and has fixed many bugs) after you installed the Systemmenu. It will be gone after that.
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    download nusdownloader, and on the top right click the database button, then go to system-->system menu, and find your firmware version, make sure pack wad and check and click start nus download

    if u have more Q's (not only on NUSD), check out this site

    also, if ur reinstalling preloader, u may as well upgrade to priiloader here
     
  7. vegeta4ss
    OP

    Member vegeta4ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so this is just getting weird.

    I booted up and uninstalled my newest wiiware and all my forwarders except for usbloader. Then I turned the system off and booted in normally to the system menu by surprise. Everything was fine. So I loaded up wii fit plus again and just went to the character select screen and exited the game. Same corrupted system menu message.

    shitty. i'm doing the drop IOS thing. Thanks for the help everybody i'll report back.
     
  8. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    if u are installing pirated wiiware, ur system menu IOS should also be 'dopped' to have the trucha bug... I'm not sure what happens when u skip this step, so it could account for the weird behaviour u described
     
  9. vegeta4ss
    OP

    Member vegeta4ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    with drop IOS is there any specific order I should drop them to avoid bricking? or can I do the system menu first then all the other ios'es in any order?
     
  10. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Do the IOS60 v6174 before the 4.1 system menu for safety. If the IOS60 fails to install correctly, do not install the system menu.

    Other than that, it won't matter what order they're installed in.
     
  11. Pete666

    Member Pete666 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    Canada
    it happened to me with nhl2k10 but my wii reboot after 5-6 attemp (on-off-on-off...)

    some game are doing this.. I don't know why.. try unplugging your wii and plut it and turn it on 5-6 times..
     
  12. vegeta4ss
    OP

    Member vegeta4ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    For now all is well with the wii. I did a 4.2U update that involved individually installing 36+ IOS files. Then I installed a patched sys menu after I did the trucha bug. I'm kinda scared to try to play wii fit plus again, lol. I will downgrade later to 4.1 if the regionfree stuff dictates that I do so. I still might fire up dop-ios and see what I didn't get to upgrade in that massive bunch of ios wads I installed.

    Thanks for the help guys.

    Merry Xmas GBAtemp'ers!
     
  13. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    If you're playing from USB then you really don't need any regionfree stuff. just install your imports via USB Loader and they will play fine with the proper settings.
     

Share This Page