8gb sd card in m3 lite....

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by aphexpusher, Dec 1, 2006.

Dec 1, 2006

8gb sd card in m3 lite.... by aphexpusher at 6:32 AM (1,760 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16820208088


    I have heard that they got these types of cards working somewhat in the GP2X without new firmware but there are bugs like slow read write. has anybody tried sticking any kind of sdhc card in a m3? it says it is sd 2.0 compatible. Im sure it would just take a new firmware update to get the thing running.


    EDIT: Sorry the title is a bit misleading. I dont mean the m3 lite. sorry about that. I meant the sd slim version of the m3 adapter.
     
  2. oteck

    Newcomer oteck Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    that won't work on an m3 lite, it uses mirco sd which is 4x smaller than a standard sd card
     
  3. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    OOPS I edited my post... I meant the sd slim
     
  4. Kouta

    Newcomer Kouta Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    The M3 Lite supports microSD cards only.
     
  5. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    yeah I posted a correction to that.... :shrugs:
     
  6. kristianity77

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Bewdley, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    an 8GB SD card works in the M3 Perfect so....i dunno :S
     
  7. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    oh cool you have seen an 8gb working in the m3 perfect?
     
  8. jon_jon

    Member jon_jon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    FAT32 (which the M3 adapters use) technically has a 4GB limit. So I don't know if it will recognize the full 8GB size.
     
  9. yee

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    573
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    FAT32 has a 4GB limit?

    Then how come my old Quantum Fireball (amazing quality, haha) was formatted with FAT32 and it was like 15GB and recognized? Unless it's like comparing apples to oranges.
     
  10. Firon

    Member Firon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    That's FAT16. FAT32 can go up to a very large amount. Now, the real limitation of 4GB is the fact that current SD flashcarts are not SDHC compliant, to my knowledge, so they cannot use SD cards greater than 4GB (in fact, they can't even use some 4GB cards, since there's a few SDHC 4GB cards).
     
  11. jon_jon

    Member jon_jon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Format capacity of flash cards and hard drives are not the same.

    Do a google search about the FAT32 limits and there are plenty of websites that explain the 4GB limitation of FAT32.

    FAT16 cards like SC are limited to 2GB where as the M3 uses FAT32 and can access upto 4GB.
     
  12. Altezza_lex

    Newcomer Altezza_lex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
  13. kazumi213

    Member kazumi213 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    Spain
    I'm not sure if this is going to be a bit off-topic, and I don't know if this is true, but here's a guy claiming he's using a 16 GB CF on a M3 device:

    http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/portable-media/...316.php#c414386
     
  14. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
  15. Firon

    Member Firon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that's precisely why I could format my 4GB SD card with FAT16 and have it WORK.

    FAT32 does not have a 4GB limitation. It's EIGHT terabytes. The 4GB limitation is for a SINGLE file. Not the partition size (which is what we are talking about).
     

Share This Page