720p anime on 800MHz Intel A110 running Windows 7.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by fgghjjkll, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey.
    I have this UMPC running Windows 7 Ultimate. System Information is attached and can be opened with Windows' System Information.

    I currently have CCCP and CoreAVC installed.
    If subtitles are disabled, my video plays fine. When there are subtitles enabled, that is where things get slow.

    What codecs/filters/codec pack/filter pack/w.e you call it should i use and what are the most optimized settings?

    I honestly don't feel like hard encoding the subtitles to the video stream. It would be less of a hassle to just be able to watch the original video...
     

    Attached Files:



  2. Shiro09

    Member Shiro09 AAI2 Localisation Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    764
    Country:
    Australia
    I used Zoom Player Max and showed the video and subtitles really clearly it also installed codecs, and filters. VLC will also work.
     
  3. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try the mediaplayer that comes with CCCP, MediaPlayer Classic.
    It's pretty lightweight I think. Oh, and VLC probably is too.
     
  4. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    So your CPU can't handle the subtitles, see if your graphics card supports DXVA and if you can offload the video to that.

    http://bluesky23.yu-nagi.com/en/index.html#DXVAChecker

    EDIT:
    Appearnlty not according to your System Info. I would say that CoreAVC is the best you'll get. Mess with the subtitle settings, mostly buffer, texture resolution and animation in MPC. Though I forget if those take effect if you using CCCP's external subtitle.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    VCL is NOT lightweight. Especially when it comes to subtitles, it's one of the slowest players.

    Try SMplayer.
     
  6. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    I always use FFDSHOW for everything, but I have no idea if it's lightweight or not...
    but nobody else seemed to have mentionned it
     
  7. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    I also don't like VLC's way of rendering ASS subtitles. Thatnks for the response guys. I'll try them all out.
    @Costello: That is because CCCP includes FFdshow.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's command-line and the only frontends I know of it are for converters, not players.
     
  9. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you sure you're not confusing ffmpeg with ffdshow?
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I am 100% sure that ffmpeg is a command-line tool.
    http://ffmpeg.org/about.html

    Now there may be a frontend for it that just calls itself ffmpeg instead of some other name (which is stupid), if so I'm not aware of that.
     
  11. enarky

    Member enarky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Country:
    FFmpeg ffdshow

    Ffdshow (that Costello spoke of) isn't command line, FFmpeg is. The first is a direct show filter that plugs into Windows architecture and just uses FFmpeg components to decode.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    PFFFT, whoops. XD
    Okay, he was pointing out that I misread, which I did.

    However isn't FFDshow usually used in conjunction with WMP? I know the CCCP bundles it with MPC, though.
     
  13. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    AFAIK, WMP and MPC-HC uses the filters you install onto your system. FFdshow works fine with both MPC-HC and WMP.
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    From what I've seen MPC's a lot lighter than recent versions of WMP, so give that a go, and consider SMplayer (mplayer frontend) an alternative.
     
  15. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,736
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are not using VSfilter/directvobsub (there will be a green arrow in your system tray during playback) sort that out.

    You say SSA/ASS subs- there have been a few rendering issues/CPU hogging options over the years but even looking at them in general they are pretty heavy subs.
    If you can get away with it then convert them to something easier (you can just extract them, convert, inject them back into the MKV and jump to them at play time). I know a lot of anime uses placement for coverup/on screen translation/background info purposes and the like and other times they are necessary for background conversations/multiple characters so that might not be ideal.
    The other option is use the SSA to hardsub your videos but that is a nasty workaround I would rather avoid.

    There are some things you can do- karaoke intros and the like. Lose them/ignore them as they are a big drain and most videos do not do anything with them after intros (they are a pain to do).

    In the misc properties of the VSfilter you have the option to pre buffer subtitles- check it. It might take a bit longer to load up but we are talking damage control here. Also karaoke subs will probably get broken (usually only a small part will play and then stop).

    In the main tab it is probably disabled anyway but PAR compensation (pixel aspect ratio- your pixels might not be square and this compensates) can be disabled. Much like most video errors it is noticeable when you are trained to look for it but it is not even as bad as a macroblock really.

    In the general tab there might be an option to double the resolution. Disable it or leave it as "double if smaller than" and set the values nice and low.
    On the same tab there is a vertical padding option, it probably will not do anything ("original height")
     
  16. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    I checked with dxva checker..

    [​IMG]
    @Rydian: SMPlayer too slow.
    DXVA and CoreAVC decoders make no difference.. It is still a little choppy. What can i do to improve it? Maybe i should disable some Windows settings to speed things up like Aero?
     
  17. Mazor

    Member Mazor Z80 master arch

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    Sweden
    On 800MHz you are 200MHz under the system requirements for 7, are you running 7 on it for any specific reason?

    Whenever the OS's usage of CPU and RAM matters XP is a much better choice.
     
  18. Devilkid32177

    Member Devilkid32177 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    hiding in my mind, im lost
    Country:
    United States
    umm... im having the same issues but with regular movies that are 720p

    @rydian:
    i don't know if this helps but here is some info from my computer
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    really don't know how to pull the rest right now
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What are you playing them with? I doubt anything 720P is going to play well on those specs.
     
  20. Devilkid32177

    Member Devilkid32177 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    hiding in my mind, im lost
    Country:
    United States
    well, i have been trying to run them through MPC, but i will try out
    the other player you stated earlier, right now im trying to deal with an odd
    issue so i can actually try other players out [​IMG]
     

Share This Page