1. bpelsom

    OP bpelsom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i brought a 7.0 old switch and had to downgraded to 6.1 i followed the instructions carefully but im greeted with black screen on boot i can get into rcw and hekate 4.6 im new to this so a noobie what could be the problem how can i tell if firmware has worked for 6.1 thanks
     
  2. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,918
    Country:
    United States
    Can you boot CFW on 6.1.0? That should work.

    Because your fuses are probably burnt, you cannot downgrade to anything below 7.0.0. If you do, you will have to use something like Hekate everytime you want to power on your system.

    In other words, because of your burnt fuses, you can only power on your Switch normally if you're on 7.0.0.
     
  3. Nezztor

    Nezztor GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    474
    Country:
    Mexico
    Did you have a backup of the original nand? You can't downgrade if it was from the start on 7.0 so you have a semi brick now
     
  4. bpelsom

    OP bpelsom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes i did make a back up but i read a guide that said i could downgrade
     
  5. Nezztor

    Nezztor GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    474
    Country:
    Mexico
    Just put your nand backup again and wait a few weeks for cfw to come to 7.0 that's your only option
     
  6. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,918
    Country:
    United States
    You can downgrade, but you have to use Hekate everytime you want to power on your system. Can you boot 6.1.0 using Hekate?
     
  7. bpelsom

    OP bpelsom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    il try it now

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    b
    by clicking on reboot normal i still get a black screen on boot thanks
     
  8. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,918
    Country:
    United States
    You can't reboot the system if you have burnt fuses that don't align with your system version. That will cause a black screen. If you downgraded from 7.0.0 to 6.1.0, and you have burnt fuses, then you can only successfully boot your system from Hekate. Can you launch the operating system from Hekate?
     
  9. bpelsom

    OP bpelsom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i click launch then pick atmosphere it loads a purple scren with atmosphere on then gose black screen thanks
     
  10. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,918
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know what files you have on your SD card. Please download Kosmos and delete the folders from your SD card that are being replaced by Kosmos. After that, go into Hekate, click Launch, and go to CFW. What happens?
     
  11. bpelsom

    OP bpelsom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    saying no sigchk not applied in red writing
     
  12. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,918
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like you have conflicting files. If you have nothing important on the SD card, delete everything before putting Kosmos onto the SD card. If you need to, backup the contents of your SD card first.
     
  13. bpelsom

    OP bpelsom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    still saying nosigchk not applied should i try restore

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    got it to launch buy removeing kip1patch=nosigchk but still on black screen
     
  14. PrEtZaL

    PrEtZaL Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you've downgraded from 7 without a prior backup, then you must have used choidujour to do it yet in the same paragraph you say you're a noobie at this, something doesn't sound right there. However if you've flashed the boot0/1 for 6.1 using etcher then you'll need to boot into the cfw using the custom hekate_ipl.ini and FS600-exfat_nocmac_nogc.kip file (presuming it the exfat version) which you'll already have since you've used choidujour to get where you are.

    Go read the tutorial again from rajkosto

    Hope you took a backup of your nand and boot0/1 before you started, since using choidujour is pretty heavy going for a noob
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
  15. bpelsom

    OP bpelsom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. Copy the "FSXXX-exfat_nocmac_nogc.kip1" file to the root of your SD card
    2. Copy the "hekate_ipl.ini" file to the "/bootloader" folder on your SD card
    3. Safely eject your SD card and insert it into your Switch
    4. Enter RCM and send the "hekate-ctcaer-4.6.bin" payload
    5. In Hekate, navigate to Hekate > Tools > Fix archive bit (except Nintendo folder)
    6. Navigate to Hekate > Tools > Fix archive bit (Nintendo folder)
    7. Return to the main menu, then select 'Launch > FS_XXX-exfat_nocmac_nogc' where XXX is the firmware version you downgraded to.
    8. Make sure your system successfully boots
    i cant seem to see fsxxxexfat nomac in hekate where do i place this file and how do i use it thanks
     
  16. PrEtZaL

    PrEtZaL Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How did you downgrade to 6.1? I suggest you go and have a look in the firmware you extracted at a folder called microsd. You'll find both files in there
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
  17. bpelsom

    OP bpelsom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dont think i backed up the boot1 parts im screwed now
     
  18. PrEtZaL

    PrEtZaL Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not if you did it right you're not, but you've taken a risk by not backing them up. Just looking in the microsd folder, rename the hekate_ipl.bin in your bootloader folder on the sd, copy the one from your system to the same location, copy the kip to the root of the sd, launch hekate, launch fw and select the custom kip and pray. Did you use etcher in the process?
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
  19. bpelsom

    OP bpelsom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i try launch hekate-ctcaer-4.6.bin but i get a squire with a bar underneath then the screen gose black
     
  20. PrEtZaL

    PrEtZaL Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Say what you mean, you mean you've run hekate as a payload then gone to launch firmware...….copy the kip to the root of the sd.

    Can't help but think you're trolling right now...…

    A noob that's decided to downgrade from 7 to 6.1 using choidujour who isn't phased by autoRCM extracting the BISKEYS, mounting partitions from the emmc with crypto that can't find the microSD folder from the extracted FW and doesn't know where to put the files.

    If you've really got to the stage you're at the last bit is a nothing
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - downgraded, payload, install