480P in Jap Smash Bros?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by paulie_m, Mar 5, 2008.

Mar 5, 2008

480P in Jap Smash Bros? by paulie_m at 3:46 PM (1,747 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. paulie_m
    OP

    Newcomer paulie_m Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it possible to get a 480P picture on the Jap version of smash bros? My TV switches from 480p to 480i when the game starts.
     
  2. limmy

    Newcomer limmy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Cambodia
    Hello,

    I'm running Jap Smash Bros on pal wii at 480p and it seems to work well.
     
  3. theman69

    Member theman69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    dont u need to have special wires for it to work do u have those? is your tv set to 480p and can u chage the setting on your wii system settings to 480p?
     
  4. lombers

    Newcomer lombers Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Australia
    My Wii is set to run 480P, and it seems like it is running in this mode when I launch the game...

    The screen does flicker quickly, is there anyway you can check what mode it's running in? I think the OSD of my LCD is pretty limited....

    @theman69

    Yes you need the component cables to be able to use 480P mode... If you are running composite cables you can't select 480P in the Wii settings menu if I recall correctly.
     
  5. paulie_m
    OP

    Newcomer paulie_m Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have component cables and my Wii is definatley running in 480P. My TV shows on screen whenever the display mode changes.

    When I go into smash it flickers for a moment and then the screen shows 480i, and I can actually see it dosent look as good as it normally does. (Although it still looks very good)
     
  6. slammerjam

    Newcomer slammerjam Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Germany
    It definately runs in 480i, some TVs including mine don't show you that the video mode was changed to 480i. Maybe the new ntsc to pal patcher will solve this problem, 480i looks horrible on my LCD.
     
  7. limmy

    Newcomer limmy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Cambodia
    Hello,
    i guess you were right and SSBB Jap runs at 480i on pal wii.

    To force it to run at 480p, i think you may need to use wii video mode changer.
    Somebody did it to make No more Heroes US run at 480p on an pal wii.
    (here is the link http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=77331&st=75)
    (here's what she/he has done
    1. Open the ISO with Tricha
    2. Extract main.dol from second partition
    3. Drag on the main.dol in the executable of Wii Video Mode Changer
    4. DOS terminal appear and ask you to choose video type you want
    5. For 480p, choose "6" than Enter
    6. Replace the modified main.dol on the iso
    7. Sign in the partition
    8. Burn and enjoy)

    I have not tried it yet.
    Let us know if you succeed to make it work.
     
  8. nilsk123

    Newcomer nilsk123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Netherlands

    I can confirm, on my pal launch day wii:

    SSBB JAP DVD9 will NOT run in 480P but 480I. Shows a weird graphical distortion for a second right after booting too. With some white lines and some green in it.
     
  9. lombers

    Newcomer lombers Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Australia
    The new version of Wii Video Mode Changer has been released (v2.1) which contains a "Smart Patcher". I believe this converts all NTSC resolutions to PAL ones, and it also has SSBB support, as v2 used to crash with an error.

    I will hopefully try this out this afternoon to see if it's possible to get 480P mode to work. Will keep you updated.

    BTW here is the link: http://rapidshare.com/files/97833414/wii-vmc_2.1.zip
     
  10. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a nice TV, turn deflicker off in SSBB's options.
     
  11. lombers

    Newcomer lombers Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks Heran, that does make a difference. The screen still does flicker when you launch the game from the Wii Menu, and I can confirm that it is only displaying in 480i.

    Just patched the ISO, going to reburn and try now to see if Wii Video Mode Changer works...
     
  12. Awdofgum

    Member Awdofgum Wadofgum

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,884
    Country:
    United States
    may i ask, is it a significant change, cause i've got a 32"HDTV LCD but no component cables yet, i want to know if there is a significant change at all? in any game.
     
  13. lombers

    Newcomer lombers Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Australia
    OK, I can confirm that the Wii Video Mode Changer seems to make no difference with Brawl.

    I have my Wii setup in 480P on my 42" LCD, and when launching Brawl from the disc menu it used to flick to 480i mode. This still occurs and the game plays as normal.

    When I set my Wii to 576i mode, Brawl launches, but I get a black screen for a bit, and all of sudden it comes back but there is some weird graphical glitches happening. It also seems to slow the console down, all the menus feel very weird. Jumping back to the Wii Menu, the slowness and graphical glitches are still there. I had to power off my console and power it back up before things went back to normal.

    Set to 480i mode, everything just works, but I'm pretty sure this is the case even without patching.

    For reference, I patched using the Smart Mode and v2.1 of the Wii Video Mode Changer. Here's a quick summary:

    Wii set to 480P --> Game switches to 480i on boot
    Wii set to 480i --> Game plays as per normal
    Wii set to 576i --> Game runs but very weird graphical glitches and slowness.

    Hope this helps. Guess I will have to wait a bit longer for a 480P version...
     
  14. paulie_m
    OP

    Newcomer paulie_m Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I tried patching to 480p the game ran fine but the display was distorted.

    In response to:

    Yes! Moving to component cables makes the picture instantly better and well defined regardless of the video mode. But when running in 480p it just looks so sharp and clear that I find it really reduces eye strain if you are playing for hours at a time and just looks really good. Well worth buying the cables if you have a decent TV.
     

Share This Page