1. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,527
    Country:
    Germany
    There are plenty of games for the 3DS. How about having some fun by doing something extraordinary like playing video games?


    Jokes aside, I know you don't want to listen to any warnings and – admittedly – experiments can be fun; but stay safe:
    • Keep a backup image of your NAND on your computer – not only the console SD
    • Make sure you can boot without SD and start GodMode9 without SD
    • If GodMode9 turns the touchscreen into red color… better read the text carefully
      • Lv3 permissions can bring the console into a state where only ntrboot will help!
      • This is not even hard to do.
    That said, the 3DS homebrew/CFW stuff is very well engineered and pretty safe. You have to do stupid things on purpose to brick a 2|3DS.

    ===============
    Okay, I don't know if the MSET exploit is going to work while Luma3DS is loaded (and yes, it has to be loaded unless you do something really stupid – like fully downgrading your SysNAND or even making a "Frankenfirm").
    • Switching back and forth between 4.x EmuNAND and 11.13 SysNAND will make Home Menu go nuts (randomly wrapping all software, scattering the symbols randomly). Yes, I already had to try this.
    • Luma v10.0.1 does not work with 4.x – neither on SysNAND nor on EmuNAND.
     
  2. sc39

    OP sc39 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    I just found out something that (might) work!
    1. create EmuNand with emunand9
    2. load EmuNand
    3. downgrade emunand to 4.2

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Just to be safe, I also backed up my SysNand.
     
  3. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Concubus™ The Moody Enby
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,662
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Why would you do any of that? First, emuNAND9 is outdated, use GM9 to make an emuNAND
    Second, you are going to create a lot more problems with this method.
    Third, please just stop if you don't know what you are doing. You playing with fire and you are going to get burned.
     
  4. sc39

    OP sc39 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    GM9 to create an EmuNand? How do I do that?
     
  5. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Concubus™ The Moody Enby
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,662
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's really concerning that you are considering doing these kinds of projects and not even knowing the basics of GM9. At best you are risking your B9S install, at worst you are risking bricking your system. Do you even have a method of fixing your system if you do brick it or cause your B9S install to be removed?
    https://3ds.hacks.guide/godmode9-usage.html
     
  6. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,527
    Country:
    Germany
    Did you follow his first thread? Answer to my question: "What is wrong with getting a $5 flashcart for ntrboot?"
    We tried our best two weeks ago to explain him some things → it didn't work.
    ============



    I did something like this (EmuNAND created with GodMode9, downgrade to 4.5.0-10E) some hours ago. Yes, this works – with Luma v9.1. It does not make any sense. It messed up Home Menu and all the icons on the test console. Many exploits do not works while Luma3DS is active. No idea if the MSET Exploit would work… and it is really pointless. Having B9S and having loaded an EmuNAND essentially means you are already "root" on the console.
    • Without the possibility of ntrboot you should never do any modification in GodMode9 with Lv3 permissions.
    • Backup your SD… and best use a spare SD.
      • Home Menu WILL go nuts.
      • EmuNAND requires repartitioning and this obviously deletes everything.
    • First boot into 4.x may take long.
    • Again: Luma 10 is incompatible to 4.x
    ↑↑↑↑
    There is your answer.

    :!: Do what you want, but don't hold me or anybody else but yourself responsible for any damage.
     
  7. sc39

    OP sc39 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    I also tried the GW.3dsx method on luma3ds but that would just send me back to the home menu with no gateway dragon menu. (Gateway ultra)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Why doesn't gw.3dsx work?
     
  8. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,872
    Country:
    Canada
    Thats quite easy. You need the red or blue gateway card to make that work. But as said you dont wanna get any sort of flashcard. So no, its not ever gonna work.
     
    TurdPooCharger and alexander1970 like this.
  9. sc39

    OP sc39 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    What?? I KNOW that on ultra you would boot into the dragon menu thing. Not DIRECTLY to the homescreen like the older gateway firmware.

    So, why doesn't it work?
     
  10. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    You should ask on the using Gateway with B9S tutorial.

    And why are you obsessed with having a 4.x emuNAND? EmuNAND is what you boot into *after* launching Gateway. It isn't going to help you use MSET.
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
  11. sc39

    OP sc39 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    No, I'm talking about GW.3dsx
     
  12. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    You can't use homebrew launch points from CFW. You'd have to have a stock system on 11.2 or less.
     
  13. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Concubus™ The Moody Enby
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,662
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Why are you trying to use such an outdated setup? There’s no reason to use the Gateway launcher without the cart
     
    TurdPooCharger and Quantumcat like this.
  14. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    Does he not even have the cart?? Why is he bothering. You can't even get onto Gateway mode without the cart?
     
  15. sc39

    OP sc39 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    What?
     
  16. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    You're trying to launch Gateway through the browser, or SoundHax, or some other homebrew entry point right?
     
  17. sc39

    OP sc39 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    No! I'm using luma3ds and the homebrew launcher.
     
  18. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,872
    Country:
    Canada
    Im going to ask this out of gunuine curiosity of you. Do you have any sort of mental illnesses or learning disabilities?
     
  19. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Concubus™ The Moody Enby
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,662
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I am actually not sure, I think I just misread a post. :unsure: that being said, I am still wondering what’s going with this user.
    Then why not use the method that has already been proven to work? I am confused by what you are trying to accomplish and I am going to state that you are on the road to bricking your 3DS.
     
  20. sc39

    OP sc39 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    No. I just do idiotic things out of curiosity.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I use 11.13
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - settings, gateway,