1. Lotoonlink

    OP Lotoonlink Probably doesn't know what he's talking about
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    My 3rd party Gamecube to WiiU adapter works perfectly with smash bros but it isn't detected by HID to VPAD.

    HID test lists the PID as the same as an official adapter but no pins change when a button is pressed...

    what should I do to get it to work?
     
  2. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,027
    Country:
    Italy
    Have you tried other sockets for the controller? What controller is it? Is it the official controller?
     
    Lotoonlink likes this.
  3. Lotoonlink

    OP Lotoonlink Probably doesn't know what he's talking about
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, so I'm using an official GameCube controller with it. When the adapter is in "Wii U mode" the correct PID shows up but pressing buttons doesn't do anything (and neither does switching the controller port), and when I switch the adapter to "PC Mode" the PID switches and the pins start flickering between numbers very quickly. In PC mode the pins seem to react to button presses but the flickering numbers make it so I can't actually make a config for it. When I'm playing Smash Bros, the "Wii U mode" on the adapter works perfectly.
     
  4. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,027
    Country:
    Italy
    Hmm that's weird. It does sound like your adapter has some differences from the normal adapter though we'll try to see if we can get it to work. Could you try to see if the test app normally used for nintendont works with it? Might even be able to use that to make your config.
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/nintendont.349258/#ControllersUSB
    Look for hid test v6
     
    Lotoonlink likes this.
  5. Lotoonlink

    OP Lotoonlink Probably doesn't know what he's talking about
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    The thing is, I've been using "hid test v6" this whole time to tell you what's been going on. In the first post, I mentioned, "HID test lists the PID as the same as an official adapter but no pins change when a button is pressed...", and actually trying to use the controller in Nintendont doesn't work
     
    Zense likes this.
  6. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,027
    Country:
    Italy
    So both "hid test" for Wii U and "hid test v6" for vwii give you no change in input?
    These are two different apps and I wanted you to test both to see if they gave the same result. From your postI thought you'd only used the one you boot from the wii u menu.

    As a last resort you could try to plug it into your pc and use a hid test program there. I'm not familiar with any but a google search gave me anyhid. The point is that if your controller has this problem through all the tests then the problem is likely to be with the adapter since the controller itself is genuine.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
    Lotoonlink likes this.
  7. Lotoonlink

    OP Lotoonlink Probably doesn't know what he's talking about
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for your support so far, and I need to apologize because I wasn't actually aware that the application you mentioned was a vWii application. So I've gone ahead and modded my vWii to use the homebrew you mentioned and... I didn't really get any different results...
    I've uploaded a video to YouTube that shows me testing it so you can have a look at the results yourself:

    • First thing I do is a test in Wii U mode on the adapter, no feedback
    • Next, I try the PC mode which gives me a VID and PID of 0000. The buttons don't change any values and "InterruptMessage()-4 failed" shows up at the bottom of the screen (which I suspect caused an exception in the application which prevented it from further updating)
    • Lastly, I changed the controller port to the player-two port but the application didn't update any further from there
    • Off-Screen I tried opening the application with and without the controller plugged in but it didn't make a difference
    As for the application you mentioned, anyHID, it's a paid application above 40$ so unfortunately, I would rather just get an official adapter.
    Thanks again for all your help thus far!
     
  8. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,027
    Country:
    Italy
    Ah, I didn't know it was a paid application though there should be others. It was just an example. ALso, good job in modding your vWii, I don't know why I assumed you had done that.

    1. Did you try to run hidtestv6 with the controller set to pc mode before starting it? Controller should just be plugged in and ready when you start the app.
    2. Changing the mode might have been what caused the interruptmessage.
    3. Heres a pic of what the application should look like in a working environment.
    20191113_201935.jpg

    When you get to that point, that's when you'll wanna start pressing buttons and moving the sticks.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Also, could you provide the name or brand of your adapter?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Make sure not to have any other controllers and peripherals connected, 'cept for hdd's/flash drives etc.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    So it seems others have had your exact problem with probably the same adapter and they didn't have any luck with it in the end. https://gbatemp.net/threads/nintendont-and-third-party-gc-adapter.530901/

    If you're not able to get any feedback from any of the hid tests, then you're stuck with connecting your adapter to your PC and then transmitting the inputs over wifi using hidtovpad to play your games. Look over at the hidtovpad thread to see how that works.

    If you decide to get a new adapter I suggest you get one that is either official nintendo or has the exact same appearance, unlike what the guy in that thread linked to above did. I have the mayflash adapter myself and I barely ever use it since it's a bit clunky and a hassle having to have batteries for my wiimote to use it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Gamecube, adapter, party