3DS XL Painting Concerns/Questions

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Shizno759, Jul 1, 2014.

1. Shizno759
    OP

Shizno759 Newbie

Newcomer
    Jul 1, 2014
    United States
    Hey everyone, I just got a new 3DS XL and I want to paint it over via stencil. Im not a big fan of the colors available and I would love to make my own.I have done some stenciling before on thick paper and cardboard so I have a good grip on what I have to do on the handheld. Its been a while, but I have my old 3ds and some other pieces of junk to practice up on.

But I just have a few questions that my internet search hasnt been giving me on the project. This is my first time stenciling on plastic, and Ive heard that you need to sand it down and give it a special finish to make sure the paint doesnt come off over a long period of time. So I want to make sure I cover all my bases and not regret asking any questions.

First off, what brand of spraypaint should I use for this project? Ive been told Krylon Fusion for Plastic is the way to go and bonds to plastic the best, but should I still sand down the plastic and prime it before I use it to be safe?

Secondly, (This may sound stupid, but I have had times where this made a huge difference on the outcome of my previous stenciling on Paper) should I stand the system up on one of its sides when I leave it to dry, or just lay it flat? Because, its plastic, and I dont know if the paint will roll around and clump up if it lays flat or if it'll streak down on its side.

Lastly, what would I be expected to pay for a three color stencil with finish? I honestly never bought my own spraypaint since I would just bum it from my art teacher back in highschool. I have walmart and Lowes pricing this Krylon Fusion stuff at around $50 while other places like True Value only being six bucks a color.