3DS won't read on computer; tells me to format

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,871
Trophies
1
XP
2,274
Country
Canada
Ay yai! >_< In cases like this you can try to recover your data using EASUS or Testdisk before you format. But it's much too late for that now.
 

Jaulin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
15
Location
United States
XP
33
Country
United States
Ay yai! >_< In cases like this you can try to recover your data using EASUS or Testdisk before you format. But it's much too late for that now.
I actually tried that. All of them needed payment, and they're too expensive for me (one of them was 100$ a month ._.)
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,624
Trophies
2
XP
5,988
Country
Germany
I actually tried that. All of them needed payment, and they're too expensive for me (one of them was 100$ a month ._.)
Testdisk and Photorec are free software.

So it took all day. But there's a whole bunch of h2w files
As important the full write/read verification with h2testw is for ensuring an SD isn't fake/dying/defective, this is not what to do when considering data recovery. It overwrites everything. That is the purpose of this program. Write known patterns and verify them afterwards.
An effective way to fully erase previous data.
================


For the future: SDs go bad all the time. One-time corruption that is gone after reformatting… or total failure out of nowhere.
Backing up SD:/Nintendo 3DS and SD:/3ds to your computer from time to time is a good idea. The latter one hopefully containing regular decrypted backups of saves created with JKSM/Checkpoint.
 

Jaulin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
15
Location
United States
XP
33
Country
United States
Testdisk and Photorec are free software.


As important the full write/read verification with h2testw is for ensuring an SD isn't fake/dying/defective, this is not what to do when considering data recovery. It overwrites everything. That is the purpose of this program. Write known patterns and verify them afterwards.
An effective way to fully erase previous data.
================


For the future: SDs go bad all the time. One-time corruption that is gone after reformatting… or total failure out of nowhere.
Backing up SD:/Nintendo 3DS and SD:/3ds to your computer from time to time is a good idea. The latter one hopefully containing regular decrypted backups of saves created with JKSM/Checkpoint.
So I'm guessing it's all gone now? It's all h2w files
 

AleronIves

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
165
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
California
XP
1,105
Country
United States
If it's any consolation, there's nothing you could have done. If your SD card suddenly claims that it has no contents and wants to be reformatted, your data is probably already gone. The only protection against that is to back up the data before it happens.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KleinesSinchen

Jaulin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
15
Location
United States
XP
33
Country
United States
If it's any consolation, there's nothing you could have done. If your SD card suddenly claims that it has no contents and wants to be reformatted, your data is probably already gone. The only protection against that is to back up the data before it happens.
Well, at least I learned something from my mistake. I give my thanks to everyone for helping
 
  • Like
Reactions: KleinesSinchen

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,624
Trophies
2
XP
5,988
Country
Germany
Damn. Thanks for the straight answer. At least I didn't play many games on it. I kept the default SD card the 3DS has, which was what I was using for a long time
The default SD? It's 4GB for all models except the very first which had only 2GB. For this small size:
It took around 10 hours to fully write. Sorry about that
10 hours for writing 4GB? That SD is done (or you have a faulty reader/writer in the PC – that is why it is a good idea to try multiple readers if an SD isn't working on a PC)

Well, at least I learned something from my mistake. I give my thanks to everyone for helping
I always feel a bit bad when replying to such topics – because my signature looks cynical in case somebody lost data. Nevertheless it is still the truth. Better you learned that lesson on something not EXTREMELY important. The classic example were some people get a nervous breakdown is losing a ton of photos of their children at very young age or photos of deceased relatives. Digital data can be lost in a second if there is not safety net aka backup.

In any case:

Good luck and have fun!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kwyjor

Jaulin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
15
Location
United States
XP
33
Country
United States
The default SD? It's 4GB for all models except the very first which had only 2GB. For this small size:

10 hours for writing 4GB? That SD is done (or you have a faulty reader/writer in the PC – that is why it is a good idea to try multiple readers if an SD isn't working on a PC)


I always feel a bit bad when replying to such topics – because my signature looks cynical in case somebody lost data. Nevertheless it is still the truth. Better you learned that lesson on something not EXTREMELY important. The classic example were some people get a nervous breakdown is losing a ton of photos of their children at very young age or photos of deceased relatives. Digital data can be lost in a second if there is not safety net aka backup.

In any case:

Good luck and have it wa
No, I recently upgraded to an 128gb SD card. I used Godmode9 to make it so the 3DS could the card. But I can see why you feel bad. Don't worry, stuff like this happens all the time. People just need to understand
 
  • Like
Reactions: KleinesSinchen

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,871
Trophies
1
XP
2,274
Country
Canada
No, I recently upgraded to an 128gb SD card.
This is the sort of thing you might want to mention earlier.

In some cases (not all) with large cards it is better to use 64k clusters, depending on the card. See https://gbatemp.net/threads/do-256gb-cards-even-work-on-3ds.469117/page-2#post-7789084 .

All of them needed payment, and they're too expensive for me (one of them was 100$ a month ._.)
Some people don't let themselves be stopped by something requiring payment, wink wink.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,359
Trophies
1
XP
14,005
Country
United States
yeah, 64KB clusters is probably what you want with a 128GB card. I also have a 128GB card, and I changed it to that, because there's an issue with gba games where part of one of the screen (bottom or top) appears on the other screen with 32KBs. not sure why, but that's the only issue I encountered using 32KB with that size card.
 

Jaulin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
15
Location
United States
XP
33
Country
United States
yeah, 64KB clusters is probably what you want with a 128GB card. I also have a 128GB card, and I changed it to that, because there's an issue with gba games where part of one of the screen (bottom or top) appears on the other screen with 32KBs. not sure why, but that's the only issue I encountered using 32KB with that size card.
Yeah, that's what I just did. I formatted it earlier to FAT32 with the 64kb cluster
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

CoolMe

.. Nani??
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
852
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
772
Country
United States
Still 10 hours for a 128GB is way too long should be around 2~4h with read & write (the adapter could be at fault if you didn't change it?). Anyway, if it reached around 120GB then it's genuine, reformat it again to get rid of those files. After doing that you can put the Luma3DS & GodMode9 files back, and all the other homebrew cias (fbi, hbc.. Etc), including ftpd so you can ftp files to your 3ds. There's also the SMB ftp method with Windows that does the same thing, but i personally never got it to work, they perform the same so no worries.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,359
Trophies
1
XP
14,005
Country
United States
yeah, smb 1.0 will allow you to ftp with micro sd card management. it's under features in windows 10. it's enabled by default in windows 7. smb 1.0 also controls mapping network drives with the ps3 and the 360, but you can map network folders instead with 2.0, which is about the same thing.
 

CoolMe

.. Nani??
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
852
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
772
Country
United States
FWIW, i didn't suggest the option of recovering your files as you seemed somewhat in a rush, and you were having the problem with the adapter, and i didn't want to extend it even further than that. And even if you did it you could only recover some of it, an incomplete 3DS folder or any missing files from it could give you an even more headache than what it's worth anyway,but hey that's just me.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,359
Trophies
1
XP
14,005
Country
United States
btw, you could probably map the micro sd card with smb 1.0 as well and not have to use an ftp app. it's just that if the connection is lost for some reason, you can't resume afaik like you could with say filezilla.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://youtube.com/shorts/mCVK2BkF6MQ?feature=share