.3DS ROMs not working on R4i gold pro 2014

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Nellodee, Apr 9, 2014.

1. Nellodee
    OP

Nellodee Newbie

Newcomer
    Apr 9, 2014
    Italy
    Rome
    Hey guys, sorry for being a total noob at this, but I've searched all around and I am at a loss. I need some help.

I've just purchased an R4i gold pro 2014:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The kernel that seems to work with it is the R4i-V3.3b, but while it can play all .NDS games (and also the GBA and SNES emulators), no .3DS ROM I have seems to work.

Here's a screenshot of what's inside the kernel download.

[​IMG]

Also, on the website listed on the card sticker there's no firmware update download available, just the kernel in various languages ( http://www.r4isdhc.com/2014-r4isdhc-gold-pro/) .
    I've tried the kernel at http://www.r4i-gold.me/ : the r4isdhc-yellow1.72 with the _rpg folder and _DS_MENU.dat, but it won't work.
    Every time I've setup/tried a new kernel I formatted the SD card with the Panasonic SDFormatter before doing anything else (as recommended on various websites).
    Am I doing something wrong? Am I supposed to convert the .3DS files somehow? Have I been sold a spoof card?

Thank you!

Akawashi likes this.
  2. Pong20302000

Pong20302000 making notes on everything

Sep 8, 2009
    One's inner self
    thats because its a DS games Flashcard
    not a 3DS games flashcard

there are 2 types of flashcard that work on a 3DS

DS Flashcards, for playing DS games
    3DS Flashcards, for playing 3DS Games

3. Nellodee
    OP

Nellodee Newbie

Newcomer
    Apr 9, 2014
    Italy
    Rome
    What? Really? I am such an idiot! :( It said 3DS on the package and I assumed it would work with 3DS ROMs.

Where can I but a 3DS flashcard?

4. Joe88

Joe88 [λ]

Jan 6, 2008
    United States
    NYC
    before any of that you must have a 3DS or 3DSXL on firmware 4.1-4.5 to use any of the current 3DS flashcards

5. Pong20302000

Pong20302000 making notes on everything

Sep 8, 2009