1. draftrabbit

    draftrabbit Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    it just gives me a red line down the left of the top screen, i have been a bit hasty with my resets.

    https://i.imgur.com/1N6gnKJ.jpg this is what i see
     
    Last edited by draftrabbit, Feb 2, 2016
  2. YyAoMmIi

    YyAoMmIi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
    Keep trying. took me about 30-45 min to get it working.
    There a difference between checking, deleting the files/installing the files, and restart.
    Once it starts to delete files, you are good to go.
     
    Last edited by YyAoMmIi, Feb 2, 2016
  3. draftrabbit

    draftrabbit Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited by draftrabbit, Feb 2, 2016
  4. thedude28

    thedude28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Canada
    I think you're still being impatient. Once you start downgrading you need to wait for it to say "Getting CIA info" before drinking lots of water.
     
  5. draftrabbit

    draftrabbit Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Well I left it on the little red dot screen for 15 minutes and it didnt do anything, so I tried sysupdater which says title exception, but safesysupdater can see the files so I am even more confused.
     
  6. Feluco

    Feluco Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Brazil
    Ok guys, i have two questions here.
    1 - What are the diferences between ReiNand and RXTools? Wich one is better?
    2 - If ReiNand is better, is there a way to change my 2DS with RxTools to ReiNand?
     
  7. thedude28

    thedude28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Canada
    ReiNand is a minimalist CFW that just patches signatures. RxTools also patches signatures, but also has region free built in along with a bunch of tools used for decryptting stuff.
     
  8. Typhin

    Typhin GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so I've already messed up with two 3DSes, so I'm trying not to mess up a third.

    I have an Old 3DS running 10.3.0-28U. The browser seems to be blocked on it, so I obtained a copy of Cubic Ninja and have successfully used Ninjhax to access the HBL. I have successfully installed Menuhax to autoboot into the HBL. However, anything I try to load from here seems to fail.

    I've been following the guide at https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-installing-rxtools-custom-firmware-3ds-and-2ds.390867/ , as well as trying to follow the instructions from Gateway's manual, but nothing is working.

    EmuNAND9 flashes the bottom screen red, then black, then red again, and then returns to the HBL. Pasta freezes. Gateway Launcher freezes. RxTools freezes. No error codes, no error messages, just red bottom screen, then black screens, and frozen.

    I don't seem to be able to find any information on where to go from here, but with the sheer volume of posts, it's very difficult to keep up with everything. Can someone please point me in the right direction?
     
  9. thedude28

    thedude28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Canada
    Apparently Sysupdater doesn't work 100% of the time, just keep going at it.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    You can't install CFW on 10.3 Sysnand. You need to downgrade first.
     
  10. matt!

    matt! GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Country:
    I have some DSiWare games I'd rather keep.

    What do I need to do to get them back on my sysNAND after I format it with Tiny Format?

    Clone them from emuNAND somehow?
     
  11. draftrabbit

    draftrabbit Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    turns out it was my sd card setup went and got a new 32 gb card and it is now working flawlessly thanks ~Thedude28~ and the other dude you guys rock
     
  12. PixelBurst

    PixelBurst Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    I've got a 3DS which I downgraded and everything runs great.

    Buying a N3DS tomorrow, wanted to check what the whole deal was with CFW, CIA's, Downgrading, etc.

    Presumably as long as it's on <10.4 I can just use browserhax, install menu hax then CFW? I've heard that there are problems with RXtools and updating past 9.5 on a N3DS, is this still true? Is there an alternative? I'd much rather not miss with finding updates all the time.

    I've also noticed there are problems with accessing the browser from 9.9 onwards, making browserhax harder to use. Safe to say the workaround for N3DS of doing it quickly will work regardless of fw version?

    Is there anything else I should know?
     
    Last edited by PixelBurst, Feb 2, 2016
  13. BobDoleOwndU

    BobDoleOwndU GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Yup, you should be able to use Browserhax, Menuhax and install CFW.

    Yes, rxTools only supports up to 9.5.0-23 emuNAND on the N3DS. ReiNAND or CakesFW both support the latest emuNAND on the N3DS.
     
    PixelBurst likes this.
  14. PixelBurst

    PixelBurst Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    Obviously with the downgrade in between right, I missed that bit? I'm not wrong about downgrading being required am I?

    Wow, thanks for the speedy reply, you were too quick for my my sneaky edit - clearly it wasn't ninja enough.

    " I've also noticed there are problems with accessing the browser from 9.9 onwards, making browserhax harder to use as it asks for an update. Safe to say the workaround for N3DS of doing it quickly will work regardless of fw version?" To expand on that, if not I can use OOT hax I believe by borrowing it from a friend and setting the save up on my O3DS.

    To expand on your answer about CFW, is there any major differences between the 3? For example can you still install CIA files on ReiNAND or cakesFW? Such noob, sorry for the bombardment, just want to make sure I don't spend my trade in money unwisely.

    Cheers again for your help!
     
    Last edited by PixelBurst, Feb 2, 2016
  15. blm

    blm Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Mexico
    Ok, so how would I do that? Dunno how to get rid of the popup, exactly.
     
  16. BobDoleOwndU

    BobDoleOwndU GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    If the firmware is above 9.2, yes, you will need to downgrade.

    I've never tried the "quick" workaround for Browserhax, but if others are still reporting that it's working, then you should be good to go. If not, then yes, OoThax will work.

    There are some differences between rxTools, ReiNAND, and Cakes. RxTools has a lot of extra features like game decryption and devmode that ReiNAND and Cakes do not. To most users, these features won't really matter. ReiNAND and Cakes both support playing unsigned cias, cia installation, emuNAND and all of the "essential" CFW features. I'd recommend going with ReiNAND, it's a stable N3DS-only CFW that can do what most users want.

    No problem!
     
    PixelBurst likes this.
  17. DarknessMonk

    DarknessMonk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Ok guys, need some advice here. I followed up the https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutoria...luding-emunand-coldboot-cia-installer.405589/ tutorial for setting up everything on 9.2 on a 16Gb Card. Unfortunately, i lost that card and i will have to get another one soon. I have a copy of the SD content just before installing RxTools and after the NAND Unlinking. Well, here's the thing: if i set up a new Emunand using Emunand9 tool and copy all my content, everything will be as it were? For example, the FBI that i installed in the sysnand will appear again? Or i have to setup all from the scratch (re-creating NNIDs and all)? Thanks for the help.
     
  18. thedude28

    thedude28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't think so, you'd need a Nand.bin backup as well as the files.
     
  19. DarknessMonk

    DarknessMonk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    I have that too, it's my Sysnand backup that i made just after creating the Emunand.
     
  20. thedude28

    thedude28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Canada
    I think you need to paste all the files onto the SD card first to confirm that FBI is working on Sysnand once more, then you can format Emunand.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE,