Hacking 3DS NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

  • Thread starter Cyan
  • Start date
  • Views 3,703,381
  • Replies 52,195
  • Likes 41

DavidLuis198

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 4, 2022
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Rio de Janeiro
XP
12
Country
Brazil
If your concern is to backup your purchased games, it's straightforward, you can do so with. Either as Legit cia (since yours are legit), or as standard cia.
I'd recommend backing up your saves with Checkpoint. Because they're separate, the moment you format the system, even if you have a backup of the encrypted saves, the process is less straightforward in comparison with just backing them up with Checkpoint.

Your backed up legit/or standard cias? Yes. And since you have cfw installed you can install either just fine..

Nope.

You can buy DLCs just fine. But if they'll work with your US (cia) purchased game, or not i'm not sure.

Thank's for the help, I tried the whole night, but unfortunately, when I'm using my original USA account, all the games work fine, when I change the NNID to the Brazilian one (I found out that GodMode allows to unlink a ID without resetting the console) and enter the eShop, all the games disappear, and in the Data Management, they all appear with a little X in them :/

GodMode says that the games are missing their tickets, so I think that when I enter with my Brazilian NNID on the eShop, it deletes all of them, and when I enter with the original one, it downloads them back. I tried dumping the tickets and installing them manually, but as soon as I enter the eShop, they get deleted... I don't know how to let them intact after entering the Brazilian store
 
Last edited by DavidLuis198,

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
3,060
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
9,528
Country
United States
I tried the whole night, but unfortunately, when I'm using my original USA account, all the games work fine, when I change the NNID to the Brazilian one (I found out that GodMode allows to unlink a ID without resetting the console) and enter the eShop, all the games disappear, and in the Data Management, they all appear with a little X in them :/
You shouldn't be doing that constantly, switching between different NNIDs. You're looking for a ban imo.
GodMode says that the games are missing their tickets, so I think that when I enter with my Brazilian NNID on the eShop, it deletes all of them, and when I enter with the original one, it downloads them back.
You need to reinstall the game from the legit cia you have created. The legit ticket should be installed once you switch to the Brazilian eShop.. Though again, not sure if they both use the same version/release or not..
Btw you're changing the location/country in the system settings to Brazil/US? so it'd take you to the eShop of either countries..
I tried dumping the tickets and installing them manually, but as soon as I enter the eShop, they get deleted... I don't know how to let them intact after entering the Brazilian store
*read above
 
  • Like
Reactions: DavidLuis198

Okayermi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2022
Messages
61
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Texas
XP
42
Country
United States
Hello everyone! I got my 3ds same year the switch launched and i jailbroke it. One day something happened and i didn't knoe how to repair it "lacking 1 firm patch(es)", so i stored my nintendo.
I want to use it again but idk what to do because i don't remember the method I used.
Any help is incredibly appreciated
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
3,124
Trophies
2
XP
8,489
Country
Germany
Hello everyone! I got my 3ds same year the switch launched and i jailbroke it. One day something happened and i didn't knoe how to repair it "lacking 1 firm patch(es)", so i stored my nintendo.
I want to use it again but idk what to do because i don't remember the method I used.
Any help is incredibly appreciated
Provide a FAT32 formatted and checked (h2testw or F3) SD card and try:
https://3ds.hacks.guide/restoring-updating-cfw
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
3,124
Trophies
2
XP
8,489
Country
Germany
So i format my card (which means erase all contents), then fat32 then the check and then i follow the link?
You don't need to sacrifice your data!
Try with another SD… or just extract boot.firm and boot.3dsx to your current SD (overwriting existing files).

Freshly FAT32 formatted and checked SD is an additional safety measurement (and rules out possible SD card problems).
 
  • Like
Reactions: CoolMe

Okayermi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2022
Messages
61
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Texas
XP
42
Country
United States
You don't need to sacrifice your data!
Try with another SD… or just extract boot.firm and boot.3dsx to your current SD (overwriting existing files).

Freshly FAT32 formatted and checked SD is an additional safety measurement (and rules out possible SD card problems).
I dont have any files in my root (or any other folders) named boot.firm and boot.3dsx, I only have four folders: nintendo3ds, system, database and dcim.
 

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
3,060
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
9,528
Country
United States
I dont have any files in my root (or any other folders) named boot.firm and boot.3dsx, I only have four folders: nintendo3ds, system, database and dcim.
Then just put the Luma3DS & GodMode9 files from the guide here in your sd card. Along with all the .3dsx & cia files of the Homebrew Loader and fbi etc.
Remember, cia files go to the "cias" folder on the root of your sd card, and 3dsx files go to the "3ds" folder.
It's highly recommended to test the sd card with h2testw (as you were told) if you haven't already, to make sure it's not faulty. But ultimately it's your choice.
 

Okayermi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2022
Messages
61
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Texas
XP
42
Country
United States
Then just put the Luma3DS & GodMode9 files from the guide here in your sd card. Along with all the .3dsx & cia files of the Homebrew Loader and fbi etc.
Remember, cia files go to the "cias" folder on the root of your sd card, and 3dsx files go to the "3ds" folder.
It's highly recommended to test the sd card with h2testw (as you were told) if you haven't already, to make sure it's not faulty. But ultimately it's your choice.
I'm sorry, i only found the boot.firm and3dsx files, where can IK find the guide with the other ones? I'll do the h2test
 

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
3,060
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
9,528
Country
United States
I'm sorry, i only found the boot.firm and3dsx files, where can IK find the guide with the other ones? I'll do the h2test
Then just put the Luma3DS & GodMode9 files from the guide here in your sd card
Literally here⬆️. Download all the zip files on the guide, extract them, and put them in their correct locations.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
31,601
Trophies
2
XP
21,046
Country
United States
if the 3ds is like the wiiu, which I think it is, the tickets are probably being deleted because they belong to a different user. the very beginning of say a wiiu ticket seems to hold the user data, and this may be what Nintendo has done to detect fake tickets. it's just unfortunately doing it for the wrong nnid as well.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DavidLuis198

nicko_dev

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
82
Country
United States
So, as I understand it, NTRBoot can sometimes unbrick a 3DS when nothing else can... but how would someone get into that scenario with modern CFW anyway? Like, if I'm using Luma3DS and I'm not carelessly changing stuff in sysNAND, do I even need to worry about getting a brick that bad?
 

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
875
Trophies
1
Age
20
Location
米国
Website
pk11.us
XP
2,852
Country
United States
So, as I understand it, NTRBoot can sometimes unbrick a 3DS when nothing else can... but how would someone get into that scenario with modern CFW anyway? Like, if I'm using Luma3DS and I'm not carelessly changing stuff in sysNAND, do I even need to worry about getting a brick that bad?
You don't, basically unless you're messing with SysNAND in GodMode9 without knowing what you're doing you shouldn't have anything to worry about. Running sketchy homebrew could potentially brick too, but it's hard to find a bricker even if you're looking for it so I wouldn't worry much. I think one or two have been made but you never see them randomly.
 

AleronIves

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
393
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
California
XP
1,589
Country
United States
I have questions about SD cards that you've probably had to answer a million times already... I know you can use 64, 128, and 256GB SDXC cards with the 3DS if you format them to FAT32, but...

  • I've read that 128 and 256GB cards have problems with GBA games. Is this also true of 64GB cards?
  • I've read conflicting reports of what cluster size to use. Some people recommend always using 32K clusters, while others say that you should use 64K clusters if your SD card is 64GB or above. Is there any consensus on this?
 

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
875
Trophies
1
Age
20
Location
米国
Website
pk11.us
XP
2,852
Country
United States
I have questions about SD cards that you've probably had to answer a million times already... I know you can use 64, 128, and 256GB SDXC cards with the 3DS if you format them to FAT32, but...

  • I've read that 128 and 256GB cards have problems with GBA games. Is this also true of 64GB cards?
  • I've read conflicting reports of what cluster size to use. Some people recommend always using 32K clusters, while others say that you should use 64K clusters if your SD card is 64GB or above. Is there any consensus on this?
What I've heard is that you want to use 64K clusters on above 64 GB (not including 64 GB). And anything above 128 GB will have issues regardless in GBA games, so really just 128 GB where it really helps a lot, but I think it's still best to do 64K on anything higher. This is what 3ds.hacks.guide says to do on the formatting page.
 

AleronIves

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
393
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
California
XP
1,589
Country
United States
Well, I'm glad I asked, since that contradicts other advice I've read. :P

anything above 128 GB will have issues regardless in GBA games
Does this mean only 256GB+ has problems with GBA games? I thought the problems with AGB_FIRM would manifest with 128GB cards, too. IIRC the screen position is not aligned properly, or something?
 

Hayato213

..
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
12,122
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
7,745
Country
United States
I have questions about SD cards that you've probably had to answer a million times already... I know you can use 64, 128, and 256GB SDXC cards with the 3DS if you format them to FAT32, but...

  • I've read that 128 and 256GB cards have problems with GBA games. Is this also true of 64GB cards?
  • I've read conflicting reports of what cluster size to use. Some people recommend always using 32K clusters, while others say that you should use 64K clusters if your SD card is 64GB or above. Is there any consensus on this?

64kb cluster has a faster boot time but it take up more space on the SD card since larger cluster, larger file.
 

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,907
Trophies
1
XP
3,950
Country
Canada
Well, I'm glad I asked, since that contradicts other advice I've read. :P


Does this mean only 256GB+ has problems with GBA games? I thought the problems with AGB_FIRM would manifest with 128GB cards, too. IIRC the screen position is not aligned properly, or something?
its been a hit and miss thing ive seen. sometimes resetting the console can fix the issue, other times a change of cluster size. myself, I got a 128gb 32kbs and havent seen anything yet.
 

AleronIves

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
393
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
California
XP
1,589
Country
United States
Hm, do you have slow startup times with such a large card using 32K clusters? I've read some reports that loading speed increases if you use 64K clusters, and I've also read that in addition to GBA games, some native 3DS games can have weird problems if you use a 64K clusters, so it certainly seems like 64GB + 32K clusters is the maximum "everything just works" threshold? 🤔
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: I grew up with Insomniac Games, they and Naughty Dog are my Nintendo/Sega