Hacking 3DS NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

  • Thread starter Cyan
  • Start date
  • Views 3,683,223
  • Replies 51,971
  • Likes 41

Captshiro

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
81
Country
Canada
Ok. Again, how much space do you have left on it?
If you want to check the sdcard and make sure it's not defective, copy and paste all its contents to your pc, format it as FAT32 32KB, then start the test with h2testw using the write & read setting.
If it fails the test, you need to get a new sd card.
If it passes, then copy everything back and we'll see about what's causing it..
alright I did it and it didnt detect anything although I did get a warning that say Warning: Only 29537 of 29538 other then that everything is fine
 

SAORIxMEGUMIN

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
117
Country
United States
Does anyone have a file texture psd or xcf for making 3DS themes?

Also does anyone know how to make certain parts of a 3DS theme BG 3D to give depth at different places?
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
XP
2,768
Country
Canada
Is there a way to get to use the Homebrew Channel without using CFW? Used Ninjhax a long time ago, but looks like support stopped.
If you were using Ninjhax on 11.7U, then it will still work normally on 11.15U without any further changes. But you really should be using Pichaxx instead; Pichaxx does everything Ninjhax can do. (You can install it using the instructions in https://3ds.guide and then use it with the old otherapp exploits instead of installing b9s with universal-otherapp.)
 
Last edited by Kwyjor,

HelpTheWretched

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
275
Trophies
0
XP
1,142
Country
Canada
Is there any way to delete entries from the Notifications menu? I've been getting repeat SpotPasses over the years and have probably a dozen identical notifications about the Tomodachi Life demo and the YouTube app.
 

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
822
Trophies
1
Age
20
Location
米国
Website
pk11.us
XP
2,742
Country
United States
Is there any way to delete entries from the Notifications menu? I've been getting repeat SpotPasses over the years and have probably a dozen identical notifications about the Tomodachi Life demo and the YouTube app.
I think NotifyMii is supposed to be able to do that, but it doesn't seem to be working correctly for me...
 
  • Like
Reactions: HelpTheWretched

binarycat

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 24, 2022
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
18
Location
Earth
XP
8
Country
United States
is there a good place to start with writing homebrew stuff? i've heard of libnds, but not much else. i have a lot of experience with general programming stuff (even low level stuff), but i don't know what the toolchain used for 3ds stuff is, or where i would find the documentation.

anyone mind helping me out here?
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,051
Trophies
2
XP
19,710
Country
United States
is there a good place to start with writing homebrew stuff? i've heard of libnds, but not much else. i have a lot of experience with general programming stuff (even low level stuff), but i don't know what the toolchain used for 3ds stuff is, or where i would find the documentation.

anyone mind helping me out here?
I think the needed tools are part of devkitpro. It handles nds, 3ds, Gamecube, wii, wiiu, and switch.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Pk11

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
822
Trophies
1
Age
20
Location
米国
Website
pk11.us
XP
2,742
Country
United States
is there a good place to start with writing homebrew stuff? i've heard of libnds, but not much else. i have a lot of experience with general programming stuff (even low level stuff), but i don't know what the toolchain used for 3ds stuff is, or where i would find the documentation.

anyone mind helping me out here?
To install the toolchain, see: https://devkitpro.org/wiki/Getting_Started

Some other useful pages are:
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

Bean_BR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
279
Trophies
0
XP
872
Country
Brazil
So, I've updated Luma3DS, godmode9 and boot9strap in one go through Universal-Updater. Powered off, powered on and I don't see an difference. I mean, should something come up asking for confirmation or anything like that? It's the first time that I updated, how can I check if it indeed updated everything?
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,051
Trophies
2
XP
19,710
Country
United States
Hold select for Luma, see what version it says, press start for godmode, should be the anniversary edition. B9s, not sure. SafeB9SInstaller might be able to tell you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Pk11

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
822
Trophies
1
Age
20
Location
米国
Website
pk11.us
XP
2,742
Country
United States
So, I've updated Luma3DS, godmode9 and boot9strap in one go through Universal-Updater. Powered off, powered on and I don't see an difference. I mean, should something come up asking for confirmation or anything like that? It's the first I updated, how can I check if it indeed updated everything?
For B9S you can hold START + SELECT + X on boot and it should make your notification LED be a color if it's updated. If you just installed "boot9strap" from Universal-Updater that won't actually update it, it just downloads the update files, to install you need to use SafeB9SInstaller or EzB9SUpdater. Either can be downloaded from Universal-Updater and are pretty simple but I'd recommend EzB9SUpdater as it explains everything you need to and makes sure everything's downloaded and such automatically.

I should probably exclude the plain boot9strap entry from UU since it doesn't actually do anything on its own... you actually want EzB9SUpdater...
 

Bean_BR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
279
Trophies
0
XP
872
Country
Brazil
For B9S you can hold START + SELECT + X on boot and it should make your notification LED be a color if it's updated. If you just installed "boot9strap" from Universal-Updater that won't actually update it, it just downloads the update files, to install you need to use SafeB9SInstaller or EzB9SUpdater. Either can be downloaded from Universal-Updater and are pretty simple but I'd recommend EzB9SUpdater as it explains everything you need to and makes sure everything's downloaded and such automatically.

I should probably exclude the plain boot9strap entry from UU since it doesn't actually do anything on its own... you actually want EzB9SUpdater...
I've downloaded safeB9Sinstaller just now through Universal-Updater (even though there was already one from the beginning) and then it showed up when I rebooted then updated it; checked Luma, godmode9 and boot9strap and it's all updated now!
Only now I saw your reply, but thanks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

Captshiro

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
81
Country
Canada
So I still am having the same issue after checking my sdcard for errors no cia are installing (wondering if I did something something wrong in my initial install of luma)
 

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
2,389
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
7,022
Country
United States
So I still am having the same issue after checking my sdcard for errors no cia are installing (wondering if I did something something wrong in my initial install of luma)
What did you do exactly? Did you format the sd card first then testing with h2testw? And what was the result?
Nope, it has no correlation to Luma, since you ARE using fbi to install said cias means you have cfw, otherwise that wouldn't work.
It's either the sd card or the cias you are using. you could updating fbi, or installing cias directly from pc (report back if it works).
You're not encountering any Arm11 errors or system errors on the 3DS, right? Because if you have, now it's a good time to tell us.
 
Last edited by CoolMe,

Captshiro

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
81
Country
Canada
What did you do exactly? Did you format the sd card first then testing with h2testw? And what was the result?
Nope, it has no correlation to Luma, since you ARE using fbi to install said cias means you have cfw, otherwise that wouldn't work.
It's either the sd card or the cias you are using. you could updating fbi, or installing cias directly from pc (report back if it works).
You're not encountering any Arm11 errors or system errors on the 3DS, right? Because if you have, now it's a good time to tell us.
I formatted and used h2testw (I could try and use another sdcard I have here. and yes i'm using FBI, you can see in the picture I posted before. How do I update from pc just copy files over? I used the Direct links from the 3DS hacks guide. don't know what a Arm11 error would look like the only error i've received is this one
 

Attachments

  • 20220520_162407.jpg
    20220520_162407.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 5

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
2,389
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
7,022
Country
United States
I formatted and used h2testw (I could try and use another sdcard I have here.
Ok. Yes, you can use another sd card if you like to, but you need to test it out as well with h2testw.
and yes i'm using FBI, you can see in the picture I posted before.
I know. I said you could update fbi either within fbi or with Universal Updater, if fbi is outdated. Or use this tool to install cias directly from your pc.
How do I update from pc just copy files over?
Read above.
I used the Direct links from the 3DS hacks guide. don't know what a Arm11 error would look like the only error i've received is this one
Ok good.
Did you copy all the stuff back to the sd card after doing the test? Did you try installing a cia file? Was the result the same as before doing the test?
And again, i would suggest getting cias from another source or re-dump your carts if that's what you're using..
 

Captshiro

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
81
Country
Canada
Ok good.
Did you copy all the stuff back to the sd card after doing the test? Did you try installing a cia file? Was the result the same as before doing the test?
And again, i would suggest getting cias from another source or re-dump your carts if that's what you're using..
I did try installing another cia file unrelated to the ones before and received the very same error. I'll try updating FBI as you stated
 

Captshiro

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
81
Country
Canada
I know. I said you could update fbi either within fbi or with Universal Updater, if fbi is outdated. Or use this tool to install cias directly from your pc.
I tried using the custom installer (followed a video to be sure how to properly use it) Then I received this error" an error occurred while trying to run save3ds_fuse Either title.db doesnt exist or save3ds_fuse couldnt be run
 

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
2,389
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
7,022
Country
United States
I tried using the custom installer (followed a video to be sure how to properly use it) Then I received this error" an error occurred while trying to run save3ds_fuse Either title.db doesnt exist or save3ds_fuse couldnt be run
Hmm.. Do you have other games installed on your 3ds? Do they appear & work? If not, your title.db file might be missing (or you did delete it accidentally?), and that's why it won't install any cias for you..
You should search for "save3ds_fuse" file in the custom-install folder and see if it's there or not.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    NeoGaming @ NeoGaming: shut up