Hacking 3DS NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

  • Thread starter Cyan
  • Start date
  • Views 3,575,993
  • Replies 51,396
  • Likes 41

CptMono

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Location
Planet Popstar
XP
21
Country
United States
I know I already made a thread about this like a dummy, but whatever. Might as well post it here, where it should be.

So, I was going to go ahead and play Kirby: Planet Robobot, but it crashed...
You see, whenever I enter the first area transition pipe in 1-1, I get the following error:

Error type: generic

Process ID: 41
Process name: Kirby3DS
Process title ID: 0x0004000000183600

Address: 0x003e5cb8
Error code: 0xd900458b

I tried playing the same cartridge on my sister's 3DS, which doesn't have CFW, and it worked like a charm!
So... what's going on? I've got the latest version of Luma running, I've tried dumping the game to a .cia and installing it, and I've tried resetting my save data, but nothing works! The game's also from the same region as my 3DS, so that's not the problem. If there's any other information that I need to give out, then please let me know.
 

AriaNights

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 22, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
25
Country
Canada
While it's conceivable that two files might have the same CRC32 but a different MD5 or SHA1, it's really so completely improbable as to not be worth considering.


If you want to compare dumps, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_hex_editors suggests numerous suitable programs. (I keep coming back to Frhed, but I keep suspecting there's something better out there that's still free.)
Great news! As you mentioned, the CRC and whatnot really didn't matter.

Evidently, it seems my cartridge slot kinda just shat itself during the dump and gave me a bad copy. When I dumped it again, it worked like a charm! In hindsight, I really should have done that first, lol.

Still, thank you for helping me with hashing as well! Despite being a mild lurker here, I'm preeetty new to all that, so the pointers really helped! ^^

Hope you have a good day.
 

CptMono

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Location
Planet Popstar
XP
21
Country
United States

disengage_0

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 28, 2013
Messages
49
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Winnipeg
XP
270
Country
Canada
So I've been dealing with this problem this week. randomly had this error message pop up. everyone says to update Luma and replace the boot.firm file, but I'm still getting the same error message. they even go as far as to say the error can only be Luma related.

what can I do? has this happened to anyone else? can I erase my SD card and start from scratch somehow? can I install a 3DS SD card image transferred from someone else's 3ds, and if so, where can I get one? please, any help would be appreciated!

Edit: I fixed it! For anyone experiencing this issue, or a black screen, here's what I did.

I got a new SD card and followed this tutorial. Then when everything was good, I took that SD card out and put in my original SD card (with all my games and everything) and just like magic, it worked. Hopes this helps anyone in the future who may run into this problem.
 
Last edited by disengage_0,

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,528
Trophies
1
XP
3,568
Country
Canada
So I've been dealing with this problem this week. randomly had this error message pop up. everyone says to update Luma and replace the boot.firm file, but I'm still getting the same error message. they even go as far as to say the error can only be Luma related.

what can I do? has this happened to anyone else? can I erase my SD card and start from scratch somehow? can I install a 3DS SD card image transferred from someone else's 3ds, and if so, where can I get one? please, any help would be appreciated!
Have you reformatted your sd card after backing up the data? Have you tested the card to make sure its a good one?
 

disengage_0

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 28, 2013
Messages
49
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Winnipeg
XP
270
Country
Canada
Have you reformatted your sd card after backing up the data? Have you tested the card to make sure its a good one?
yep done both. all my stuff is backed up and I've analyzed the card size; everything still works fine. it's just the weirdest thing. one day it was fine, the next day I get the error message. literally did nothing to it.

Edit: I fixed it! See original post
 
Last edited by disengage_0,

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,964
Trophies
1
XP
2,431
Country
Canada
can I erase my SD card and start from scratch somehow? can I install a 3DS SD card image transferred from someone else's 3ds, and if so, where can I get one? please, any help would be appreciated!
Has no one provided you with a link to http://3ds.guide/restoring-updating-cfw yet?

Often problems like this crop up when the 3DS can no longer read the SD card for some reason and is instead trying to boot from the copy of Luma in the NAND – and if the copy of the Luma in the NAND is outdated, you can get a message like this. And you will keep getting a message like this until you insert a readable SD card with an updated version of Luma (boot.firm). And if your SD card reader happens to be irreperably damaged and incapable of reading any SD cards anymore, you have a real problem.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

disengage_0

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 28, 2013
Messages
49
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Winnipeg
XP
270
Country
Canada
Has no one provided you with a link to http://3ds.guide/restoring-updating-cfw yet?

Often problems like this crop up when the 3DS can no longer read the SD card for some reason and is instead trying to boot from the copy of Luma in the NAND – and if the copy of the Luma in the NAND is outdated, you can get a message like this. And you will keep getting a message like this until you insert a readable SD card with an updated version of Luma (boot.firm). And if your SD card reader happens to be irreperably damaged and incapable of reading any SD cards anymore, you have a real problem.
No, haven't seen that link. So you're saying I can get a new SD card and start fresh with everything from that link?

Edit: I fixed it! See original post
 
Last edited by disengage_0,

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,964
Trophies
1
XP
2,431
Country
Canada
Following video tutorials is very ill-advised and I would suggest you avoid doing so in the future to continue problem-free operation.

I hope that included instructions on updating the version of Luma in the NAND, as per the page I linked to.
 

disengage_0

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 28, 2013
Messages
49
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Winnipeg
XP
270
Country
Canada
Following video tutorials is very ill-advised and I would suggest you avoid doing so in the future to continue problem-free operation.

I hope that included instructions on updating the version of Luma in the NAND, as per the page I linked to.
Why do you say that? I'm not as well informed as some of you guys.
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,964
Trophies
1
XP
2,431
Country
Canada
Why do you say that?
Many video tutorials are incomplete and incorrect, or at least out of date, and the creators have little motivation to take them down and upload something with appropriate corrections. Also, if you ask for help later, then someone else is going to have to sit around watching the whole wretched thing to figure out what went wrong.

I'm not as well informed as some of you guys.
You don't have to be well-informed to follow something that's not a video guide.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

disengage_0

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 28, 2013
Messages
49
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Winnipeg
XP
270
Country
Canada
Many video tutorials are incomplete and incorrect, or at least out of date, and the creators have little motivation to take them down and upload something with appropriate corrections. Also, if you ask for help later, then someone else is going to have to sit around watching the whole wretched thing to figure out what went wrong.

You don't have to be well-informed to follow something that's not a video guide.
Gotcha, will be cautious in the future.
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,964
Trophies
1
XP
2,431
Country
Canada
Is it possible to speed up DS games ? I guess only with retroarch ?
You can use TWiLight Menu to run DS games at TWL clock speed. Reportedly this gives a nice boost to the Gen IV Pokemon games. But if you're talking about fast-forward, then no. (I expect any DS emulator should be capable of that – but nothing you could run on a 3DS.)
 

Okage

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 13, 2021
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
36
Country
United States
I have a new 3ds xl I would like to mod, will doing that have any negative impact on my NNID afterwards?
Like will I be banned by Nintendo if I go on the eshop afterwards?
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,964
Trophies
1
XP
2,431
Country
Canada
I have a new 3ds xl I would like to mod, will doing that have any negative impact on my NNID afterwards?
Like will I be banned by Nintendo if I go on the eshop afterwards?
If that was the case, there would be flashing warning signs everywhere and echoing screams of anguish from all the people who failed to see the flashing warning signs.

Bans are rare and are typically only associated with cheating online or outright credit card fraud.
 

Okage

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 13, 2021
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
36
Country
United States
If that was the case, there would be flashing warning signs everywhere and echoing screams of anguish from all the people who failed to see the flashing warning signs.

Bans are rare and are typically only associated with cheating online or outright credit card fraud.
Thank you kindly sir, I figured as much
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: oh, i don't agree with them