1. lamende

    lamende GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    So will my 3DS XL work with gateway and have all of the games that I already have downloaded to my SD card??
     
  2. 2Hack

    2Hack HYPiavelli
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,251
    Country:
    Canada
    if your 3DS is below 9.3, than yes. just wait for the update from GW
     
  3. ScarletCrystals

    ScarletCrystals Useless Bunny of Paradise
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    Canada
    Use emunand tool.
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/emunand-tool-release-and-support-thread.359239/

    You could change the region setting yes...
    But if it doesn't match your NNID settings it won't let you enter eshop.
    Not particularly sure about the leaderboards though.
    Nevertheless, you could always change it back with no ill effects if it doesn't work.
     
  4. X_Frost

    X_Frost GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    To anybody in the US who imported an AUS or JPN New 3ds: Have you been able to play smash and pokemon locally? (I don't care for online)
     
  5. Jao Chu

    Jao Chu GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,933
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey guys,

    I'm getting tired of playing a US alpha sapphire cart on my EU 3DS via gateway classic mode. It's such an effort to start playing it (insert red card, boot gateway mode, enter classic mode, put alpha sapphire in etc.) Oh and i don't like leaving it in sleep mode (I'm pedantic with my electronics)

    I just made a personal dump of the cart, If i start playing it in emuNAND and progress through the game, is there a way to inject the save from the ROM back into my physical cart for when Powersaves begins to support OR/AS.

    The main reason i want to do this is because physical carts give me more sense of security over a ROM image being stored on removable media and being played via a hack....

    My pokemon diamond cart is still going strong after 7 years.....
     
  6. Aglae Pheryl

    Aglae Pheryl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    402
    Country:
    France
    Hi folks,

    I was wondering what exactly you could do with a Pal 3DS running Gateway besides the obvious running of 3ds & 3dz roms and eshop titles.

    Cia files can be easily installed but does it matter if they're US/Jpn or Eur ? Can we install/play cia files from other regions ?
    Can we only install/play cia from one's region ?
    What about FS (firmware spoofed) cia files, can we play USA FS titles on EU 3DS running Gateway ?

    BTW, just received my New 3DS from Australia (Pal) and it's running 9.0.0-20E. Has anyone access to the Gateway software since I have a spare Gateway set of cards that I could use on this one ?

    Many thanks,
     
  7. jochemdu

    jochemdu Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    I just got the New 3DS imported for my GF. I want to buy a flashcard that is able to play 3DS games. I'm new into the 3ds backup scene so i have a few questions.

    Facts:
    - It has to be compatible with pokemon (so bigger savegames).
    - Preferably region-free
    - Current FW version is: 9.0.xxxx
    - She's not really interested in Homebrew. (Fixed in 9.3?)

    I've been looking around and Gateway 3DS seems to do the job? Is there anything i have to worry about except updating to the latest FW a.t.m.
    I'v read they patched exploit things on version 4.5+. Does this have a negative impact on her new New 3DS? Or is it just the specific exploit they are using that is patched.. (and others using a different mechanism will work ok.)

    Also a friend of ours has a 3ds and an R4 card, she was always able to play 3d games she said, this confuses me..

    Thanks for any answers.
     
  8. jochemdu

    jochemdu Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Friend had the new original pokemon, we tried if it boots up and it does on the New 3DS AUS/PAL (didnt continue because of her savegame..)
     
  9. RedHunter

    RedHunter GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    Italy
    Do you guys trim games?If yes, did you have any problems?
    I know that Gateway team have said that is not recommended.
     
  10. piratesephiroth

    piratesephiroth I wish I could read
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,446
    Country:
    Brazil
    It's only a problem for Card2 games (Pokemon, Animal Crossing, Tomodachi Life). All the rest works fine.
     
    RedHunter likes this.
  11. RedHunter

    RedHunter GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    Italy
    Ok then i will trim all the roms i have and hope for the best.

    Now i want to play some online games, Mario Kart for example, can you guys confirm me that the 3ds doesn't download any update itself unless i put it in sleep mode?
    Because i remember one time my 3ds have downloaded the update itself and every time i was playing it it says if i want to update, very annoying.
     
  12. piratesephiroth

    piratesephiroth I wish I could read
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,446
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yes. You just need to remember to switch off wireless communications before entering sleep mode and you're fine. You simply have to pay attention the the spotpass light (blue). It lights up whenever it's looking for/downloading updates.
     
    RedHunter likes this.
  13. phanteon

    phanteon GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    United States
    any known way to edit smash bros save in order to have all customs unlocked?
    (hate to unlock those on wiiu)
     
  14. X_Frost

    X_Frost GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Pokemon works, so that's not an issue. My other question is if I can use a USA backup on a European 3ds to play against other American Players.
     
  15. Versa

    Versa Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Is it possible to update a JP 3DS's FW with a US/EU game cart?
     
  16. X_Frost

    X_Frost GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Related to my previous question: Can a European game play with an American game locally?
     
  17. Thomas12345

    Thomas12345 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    551
    Country:
    Canada
    If my emunand is 4.5, can i update it to 9.0 by downloading the scene's NES remix theme, and holding up arrow as i do ds exploit?

    My 3DS is US one. Should i update with the Smash demo instead?

    The NES theme is 9.0.0E but the smash demo is 8.2.0U
     
  18. piratesephiroth

    piratesephiroth I wish I could read
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,446
    Country:
    Brazil
    Uh? Themes are just DLC. They don't contain any update data.
     
  19. Thomas12345

    Thomas12345 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    551
    Country:
    Canada
    so will it work if i use the smash demo?
     
  20. N00b Smasher
    This message by N00b Smasher has been removed from public view by BORTZ, Jan 12, 2015, Reason: Unhelpful and spiteful.
    Dec 13, 2014
  21. Queno138

    Queno138 Ravens
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,424
    Country:
    Senegal
    I forgot how to update gateway using retail cart .
    Any takers?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE,