1. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,821
    Country:
    United States
    Hold the (SELECT) button when turning on the 3DS to access Luma3DS v#.# configuration. If you see Booted from [ SD / CTRNAND ] via B9S, keyword being the boot9strap part, it has sighax.

    Edit 1 - Luma3DS v7.1 is the earliest version that does not state the entry point highlighted in yellow, but that does count as it uses boot9strap v1.0 which falls under sighax.

    Edit 2 - Luma3DS v8.1 and v8.1.1 also do not state their entry point. Only v9.0 and newer does.

    ***

    What are you looking to do to your 3DS, @ASimpleName?
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Feb 18, 2020
  2. ASimpleName

    ASimpleName Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the edits, I have Luma 9.1 so I guess it will work.
    But anyway, I want to update my console without losing my cfw.

    Edit: Yes, seems it has sighax. But why it doesn't have the payload when I try to update it?
     
    Last edited by ASimpleName, Feb 19, 2020
  3. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,865
    Country:
    Canada
    With using this cfw. the only way your going to lose it, is if you ever disable firm protection, which isnt something easily done. or use the actual uninstall process.
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
  4. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,821
    Country:
    United States
    You will not lose or uninstall boot9strap or fastboot3ds custom firmware if you system update to 11.13.

    This would be a different story if you directly installed Luma3DS to FIRM0 and FIRM1 as the sighax. Do not update if you see this under Luma3DS v#.# configuration.
    • Booted from [ SD / CTRNAND ] via [ FIRM0 / FIRM1 ]
    If you do, then you'll need to do Updating B9S.
     
  5. ASimpleName

    ASimpleName Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but I heard it might be quite dangerous to update the actual system if you add the cfw. Isn't that so?

    Edit: by dangerous I mean not able to use it
     
    Last edited by ASimpleName, Feb 19, 2020
  6. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,865
    Country:
    Canada
    Its not dangerous at all. Just when new updates roll out just to wait for a bit to see if updates break anything. If they do, devs get fixes made quite quickly for the cfw.
     
  7. Grimm

    Grimm Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    I have a US 3ds console modded with Luma and b9s.

    I'm interested in buying a Japanese version 3ds so that I can get access to the Japanese eshop and be able to get games I otherwise dont have access to.

    If I buy a Japanese 3ds and mod it with Luma and b9s like my US version will I be able to change the SYSTEM language to English? I would like to do this to make the 3ds menus (internet connections, system memory, etc.) easier to navigate. Will Luma and b9s work on a Japanese version 3ds?

    Note: I am only asking about the 3ds SYSTEM language and not about changing the language in games. I am aware that even if there is a way to change the system language that it will make no difference in-game while playing Japanese games. I am not trying to translate games, just the 3ds system menus.

    Thanks
     
  8. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't think you need to buy a Japanese console to have access to Japanese games - unless maybe the console's firmware doesn't contain the symbols maybe. Try installing a Japanese game on your current console and see what happens.

    To have a Japanese console have English system menus you would have to do a region change, so there would be no point buying one when you already have a US console.
     
    Last edited by Quantumcat, Feb 19, 2020
  9. Grimm

    Grimm Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    I do have some Japanese games on my US 3ds. Dragon Quest XI, for one, works flawlessly.

    My main problem isn't getting access to the majority of Japanese titles. I'm really interested in Dragon Quest X which is an online-only title.

    I have the game installed on my US 3ds but the copy I got was of an older version and since I can't update it via the eshop ( no US 3ds on Japanese eshop) and it must be the current version for online to work, it wont play unless I can get the latest version.

    I was thinking of getting the Japanese 3ds, mod it, download and update the game and then use GM9 to make a .cia from the updated, installed game which I could then install on my US 3ds to play.

    But thats a lot of critical steps to do in a foreign language which is why I asked about changing the system language.
     
  10. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    Ah i see. You'll have to stick with Japanese language as if you try to region change you will probably lose access to the eShop.

    There's apps for your phone you can use to take photos of foreign language text and have them translated in real time, so you should be able to navigate fine, just a little more slowly.
     
  11. Grimm

    Grimm Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    Ok cool thats what I figured, I just thought i'd ask.

    So what do you think of my plan to download, update and create a .cia of the updated game on the JP 3ds and then transfer it and install on my US 3ds? Is it reasonable to assume that will work?
     
  12. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    When you say it is an online-only title, do you mean you can only play it on online multiplayer? I think it probably won't work, but doesn't hurt to give it a try.
     
  13. Grimm

    Grimm Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it is online multi-player only except for a short prologue section that is offline. You must still have an up to date version of the game and an internet connection in order to play the offline mode. There used to be an IP ban for US players but that has been lifted since last year.

    I guess even if I cant transfer the updated version of the game to be played on my US 3ds I can still play it on the JP one.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  14. Chimel

    Chimel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    France
    Hello!I bought an old 2ds and followed a guide to install CFW on the console using Bannerbomb3 (I followed the guide from 3ds.hacks.guide)Everything was working fine yesterday but now when I try to boot Ultra Moon, after the "Nintendo 2ds" splash sceen, I get a lightly lit black screen.When pressing anything, the screen turns completly black (not lit anymore) and I get back to the home menu.Mario Kart 7 works just fine, so I don't see why Ultra Moon would do that.
    I installed everything yesterday so I'm pretty sure that I have the latest version of everything (GM9, Luma, FBI and all that)
    Thank you :)
     
  15. appeltje_eitje

    appeltje_eitje GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello I have a question about my old 3ds with luma The sd cart is getting full and I wonder how to cleanup, but i can't find the answer..
    I don't want to mess up things.. Can i do it inside the 3ds or must i do it on my pc and what can i delete to make some room on the sd (im thinking of buying a bigger one, but i want to have some space now)..
     
  16. LuigiXL

    LuigiXL GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    Is there something that emulates Amiibo figures? Or maybe a suggestion of what is needed? I would like to use them for Switch and 3DS. Thanks!
     
  17. TrialHacker3ds

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    PLZ help, my 3ds won’t start up properly it only flashes a blue light then turns back off, it works just fine if the sd card is out. My 3ds wont plate well without a card but if I plug the sd back in it, then it can’t read it
     
  18. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,514
    Country:
    Germany
    Your answer is within your own post. The SD is corrupted and/or faulty and/or fake.
    In the best case it is "just" file system corruption.
    1. Copy all your data from the SD to a computer. Reformat the SD to FAT32, 32kb cluster size, if bigger than 32GB and using Windows with guiformat.
    2. Check your SD Windows, Linux, OS X.
      • If you get any errors replace the SD.
      • If you get no errors copy your files back on the SD and try again.
    Another possible reason is bad contact or bad SD reader.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  19. tosti

    tosti Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello all, first-timer here. The forum and guides have been helpful in setting op my 2DS XL with cfw. However, I encountered a little problem and wanted to try and fix it myself. That turned into a bigger problem that I cannot fix myself, I'll try to keep this post clean and clear.


    Pokemon Ultra Sun not booting (small problem)

    Yesterday I followed the 3DS guide and used FBI to play some titles. While cias for Pokemon Ultra Moon (including a separate cia for the 1.2 update), Fire Emblem Awakening, Bravely Default and Bravely Second worked, the cia for Pokemon Ultra Sun (including a separate 1.2 update) kept crashing. I got different cias from different sources, but the error remained. That was the small problem I tried to resolve.

    Starting Pokemon Ultra Sun, I got the following error message:

    An error occurred (ErrDisp)

    Error type: generic
    Process ID: 67115840
    Adress: 0x00000d1a
    Error code: 0x00000d1

    Press any button to reboot.


    So, I searched for the error message, and I found that the Luma 10.X error messages are sometimes nonsensical. Therefore, I got and used another boot firm file from Luma 9. That did not resolve the issue but gave me another, maybe a more insightful (not to me) error message:

    An error occurred (ErrDisp)

    Error type: generic
    Process ID: 39
    Process name: momiji
    Process title ID: 0x00040000001b5000
    Adress: 0x00346e74
    Error code: 0xd900458b

    Press any button to reboot.


    Internal SD card not accessible (big problem)

    Not wanting to come across like the total beginner I actually am, I figured I would check the basics. I started with my SD card, since that's the first thing I usually saw veteran users recommend people with issues.

    Today I followed the first five steps from TurdPooCharger's post (cannot link to it, but from today, in thread called "
    I got errdisp error... maybe changed region caused problem??"). The SD card was backed up, quadruple reformatted, checked with H2testw (no errors detected), emptied and refitted with the backup I made this morning.


    And that's when the small problem I had (i.e., Pokemon Ultra Sun not booting while the other games worked fine) turned into a bigger problem:

    Cannot display the software on the microSD card. The microSD card could not be accessed.


    My question for help

    It seems like I did something to my internal microSD card and now my 2DS XL cannot read it any more. The System Settings still mention that firmware is the Sys variant, so I assume it has something to do with me reformatting the card.


    Sorry for the long post. If anyone can help me with either (i) getting my internal SD card recognised by my 2DS XL again, or (ii) what I could do about Pokemon Ultra Sun not working when the internal SD card did function, I would be really grateful.


    Some closing information: I am from Europe and have made sure to get EU/PAL or region-free versions of the cias.
     
    Last edited by tosti, Feb 28, 2020
    FavoredSarah likes this.
  20. emc28285

    emc28285 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Does a 3ds Flashcart like sky3ds++ play out of region games?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    If not how do I get my 3ds to do so without modding firmware. The system I have is a kiosk demo unit don’t want to compromise it
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE,